We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap disaster with free computers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bach Tung Diep Hotel
Ranked #499 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Warwick, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cheap disaster with free computers”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The front desk staff
were yelling at one another, the bathroom had water pouring out the bottom of the sink, they had no spare key for a neighbor who got locked put, the lobby and restaurant are dirty. The room was large and clean. It is totally inconsistent and a bit crazy. They sent a car to pick me up but did not know I was coming (?) The car took me somewhere else first (?). The name and ownership has changed to LUX (I think). I checked out at 7.30 and found lots of more expensive but better chpices within 2 blocks

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We have attached the picture of the hotel from their website and also from a photo taken from an in-room brochure. We have also attached the reality taken after we checked out. We don't only book a hotel due to the photos - but felt deceived, particularly as the rooms (bathrooms) are also of a very poor standard.

The first room we were given was on the first floor and the bathroom was absolutely disgusting. The lights didn't work and there was a plug-in lightbulb located at waist height not far from the basin - very dangerous. The toilet seat was not attached to the toilet and the to use the shower without any way of holding it up was very difficult. The bathroom was also not clean. The sheets appeared to be clean on the bed but that was the only positive thing we could say about the first night there.

The second night we were in a different room. This was an improvement over the first night because more worked than in the first room. We found a trigger spray in the corridor which enabled us to clean the dirt from the bath. The basin was not properly attached to the wall (nor was the shelf above). We were due to stay a third night after a trip to Halong Bay but couldn't bear the thought of going back so checked out and settled the bill after the second night, although the receptionist didn't understand what we were telling him - definitely the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. We found a great hotel - Sunshine Palace on Christmas Eve - fantastic for only just a little more money than Bach Tung Diep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j18_jdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

stayed here 1 night with my sister and thankfully managed to shift to another hotel. when we arrived at 11pm i tink,the shutters to the front of the hotel door were closed to our shock. because the door was spoilt. receptionist had very poor command of english, but thats ok. and then he kinda insisted w pay for all our nights stay. (which i stupidly did).

our room was on 2nd floor, had to climb a dark staircase to our room. we were the only ppl in the WHOLE hotel. door could not be locked to our horror. toilet sliding door didnot work. aircon was terrible and did not really work despite us informing the guy. it was so damn stuffy. bed looked clean but we felt itchy the whole night. can u imgaine sweating and sleeping in a stuffy rm? n we paid 21USD per night for this. (got a much better deal at hotel rendezvous for 18USD). also, we wanted to go out to buy dinner, n the reception guy insisted we comeback within 20min because he had to close the shutter of the hotel. how ridiculous is that? since when are u given a curfew at a hotel.-__-

the worse thing was, when we demanded to get back the money we paid to move to anothe hotel, the receptionist (a lady) had so much trouble understanding us and then she got angry. she actually wanted us to PAY her when we have already PAID and are trying to get back our refund. wth. it was so annoying i tell u i was on the verge of losing my temper. in the end, I gave away 2USD to her because i was too tired to explain to her. its not just about the english, we cld communicate with other hotel staff elsewhere who didnt speak much english. and plus her maths was so bad. argh. it was an utterly horrible experience. entirely horrible i tell u. so glad we only stayed here one night. feel free to ask me for my review on hotel rendezvous which we moved to the nxt day.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alesiakoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laivanphong86, Manager at Bach Tung Diep Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
this is not true from my hotel. you can see the next review. this is actually the anonymous who want to compare with us in business. we would like to notice to all people that this is the bad review and unlucky reviews of my hotel. i do not think you try to tell my hotel like that
i will investigate for this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hochiminh
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I have read many reviews about This Hotel before checking in and settling a booking with it.
i book a room from Asiaroom.com , check in July 6.2010 . i stayed in the third floor. the room is not really big but comfortable and acceptable. there no welcome drinks as they mentioned but the staffs such as receptionist, waiters, they served professionally , the boss also helpful . when i need to buy new one saver , He take me to the Dong Xuan Market, and i got the cheap one 70.000vnd = 3$. in the evening we also had party with them. I felt in my heart. that was the biggest and excellent night i stayed in Vietnam. small country but full of culture specially. i made friend with Mr PhongLouis alisa when i stayed there. he introduced me a Tour of Halong Bay 01 full day cost 25$. but i though acceptable and of course . i read a reviews also in www.laterooms.com for this hotel to recommend people . i have taken a look on the Reviews others on the Tripadvisors...some not good . but with me . i claim that , Each person has own opinion and we should do the right thing,
Fletcher poor !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletcherpoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

After arriving in Hanoi I was greeted at the airport by the driver from the Bach Tung Diep Hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel I was made to feel at home by the staff. The hotel is very nice with the classic French/Vietnamese feel. My room was private clean and kept up every day clean linens, toilet paper, water... This hotel is in a great location in Old Hanoi close to all the major sites. As a solo female traveler I felt safe and secure there. Also a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soliceatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semporna, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

We stayed one night in November 2007 at 20US$ net with breakfast.

After passing the Reception, a nice open area with 2 staircases leading to 2 opposite sides will be seen. The hotel was not wide but deep. The entrance and public area looked new and pleasant. They have not done with the restaurant yet so tables and chairs were covered in dust.

There was a bathtub and very strong water pressure. The furniture were nice. New door curtain. The balcony was a plus. Big water bottle and soft drink at 10,000 VND each. The air-con worked well. The bed was about 1.4m x 2m, good to sleep on but I felt itchy at late night. No tea and coffee making facilities in room which was available for the 30US$ room type. Seeing no big difference in these 2 types, we chose the cheaper room.

I don’t know if they will renovate the rooms any further. Our bathroom had a cheap old aluminum sliding door. The hard dark blue carpet in bedroom having many waves badly needs someone to straight it up. It was cool in Hanoi early Nov. The 2 western ladies opposite our room let their door open the whole night.

We used their free internet at one of the staff’s working tables. The hotel was very quiet at night.

Took Viet Thanh Taxi, booked and paid to the hotel at 150,000VND, for hotel-airport transfer and didn’t need to pay any extra to the driver. He came earlier than the appointment time to wait for us and checked the car to make sure we didn’t forget anything. Good work.

A budget place to stay if you just need a bath and a bed.

  • Liked — A nice open area with 2 staircases leading to 2 opposite sides near Reception. The entrance and public area looked new and pleasant. Room had a bathtub and balcony.
  • Disliked — I felt itchy sleeping in their bed late in the night.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank land_premier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanhTung, Owner at Bach Tung Diep Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
Hi, there
Thank you for your stay with us. We found your review such a helpful thing for our business. Carpet removed and the a.m room upgraded.
Hope you enjoy your time in Hanoi again.
Thank you.
Tung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bach Tung Diep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bach Tung Diep Hotel

Property: Bach Tung Diep Hotel
Address: 25 Hang Thiec St, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bach Tung Diep Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Hoan Kiem Lake, Ho Chi Minh Museum, One Pillar pagoda, water puppet theater, museum, near the shopping street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing