We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Old Town" Experience”
Review of Gia Thinh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gia Thinh Hotel
Ranked #139 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great "Old Town" Experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked three rooms in the Gia Thinh for ourselves and two sons as a sort of family get together as one lives in Hong Kong and the other in Thailand - we are from the UK. Paul arrived first and was assigned a room in the middle of the hotel with no window which he hated. No problem, the staff were very helpful and upgraded him to s front room with a balcony - a bit noisy but he loved it - what else would you expect in old town Hanoi?

Pete was happy with the room with no windows - a comfortable place to "crash" with a good internet connection. We got the room at the back which was quiet and light with a big window. Our three rooms meant that we occupied the whole floor.

This hotel is really friendly and ideally situated if you want to explore the old town.

One tip - use their excellent taxi service from the airport. It is competitively priced and avoids the hassle at the airport which has to be seen to be believed!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room go to the back - if you want a nice big airy room with a balcony go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    69
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
24
65
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Gia Tinh. It's in a great spot. The staff are really friendly and look after you well. We arranged some trips from the hotel via train and were literally taken to our carriage and picked up from the platform too. The rooms are lovely - rose petals on the bed each day - lovely touch! Clean and the bathrooms are nice and clean too. Breakfast seemed similar in all the places we stayed (eggs and omelettes - tasty though). I loved the banana pancakes at Gia Tinh though - I actually miss them!!! Gia Tinh will rent a room if you;re inbetween trips too and need a shower. I think it was 10 Dong but the second time they gave us a room for the morning for free which was really appreciated after the long sleeper train and getting in at 5am!
The only thing that I wasn't impressed with (though I think all the hotels do this?) is that they charged us extra for train ticket and stuck a tourist label over the top. If you're able to, it might be better to get train tickets direct or ask how much extra they're charging you as a tourist - but they do sort it all out for you so it might be worth the extra cost if you don't want the hassle.
I'd definitely go back there - it was great! Oh - and they have umbrellas to borrow in the downpours heehee.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice if you want a view of the hustle and bustle. We stayed in two or three differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank ZoeB773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is such a nice, cozy lovely hotel centrally located in the old quarter. Super convenient location, walking distance to HOAN KIEM lake, to explore the OLD QUARTER, great shopping and restaurants. We did not have a chance to eat breakfast since we are vegetarian. Perhaps in the future, please provide vegetarian breakfast when needed.

Staff are friendly, reliable and professional. They were helpful in organizing Sapa tour for us.
Definitely we will stay here again if we go back to Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thuan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at Gia thinh hotel was very nice.
Poeple were very helpful, kind and smily !
The situation is very nice, in the center of the old town, everything you want to see is around...it's very easy to walk from the hotel, and at night you can easily go outside..
the plus : the people, the room (very clean), the situation, the price, and the hôtel propose you for a very good price to pick you up at the airport !!! don't hesitate to ask when you book !
The minus : the breakfast..if you want a continental breakfast, there are some places just around, and if you want to eat a vietnamese breakfast, go and eat on the street !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank delph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location in the centre of Hanoi's old district, near the hot spots for tourists. The staff was very helpful and friendly. the breakfast ist delicous and a good example for Viatnamesian cuisine.they offer an airport service which is o.k.

Room Tip: inside the building because at the front there is so much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank herbertsupper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with friendly Personal.Wer is not too much claims is right here.
Centrally located in the beautiful Old Town. This is the ideal place for short trips. There are several bars and other hotel nearby. By appointment you will be picked up from the airport free of charge. Important bus connections are nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank klaus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I arrived to a very hot Hanoi and was greeted by the lovely staff ,who made me feel instantly welcome.My room was spacious ,clean and everything worked perfectly even the internet which is amazing in the pouring rain. Great breakfast and really good that you can have a Vietnamese option.Perfect location to explore the old city.Staff in all area's are professional ,friendly and informative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#132 of 591 in Hanoi
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#200 of 591 in Hanoi
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#142 of 591 in Hanoi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Wings II Hotel
Golden Wings II Hotel
#488 of 591 in Hanoi
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#150 of 591 in Hanoi
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#161 of 591 in Hanoi
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gia Thinh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gia Thinh Hotel

Property: Gia Thinh Hotel
Address: 19 Hang Bac Street, Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
#54 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gia Thinh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gia Thinh hotel is 2,5 star modern hotel, favorable location in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, brings you complete experience and feelings about Hanoi, especially Old Quarter life. Gia thinh Hotel is splendidly located on one of the renowned 36 ancient streets, within a minute walking to the center of Old Quarter, and very walking short distance to all the main attractions such as Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theatre, Hanoi Opera House, restaurants, bars, shopping & business centers and entertainments. It is also very convenient to visit all historical tourism spots around Hanoi such as Temple of Literature, One Pillar Pagoda, and The Museum of Vietnamese Art. The hotel offers the best convenience to explore the beauty of boutique Hanoi. With 21 rooms, fully decorated with oriental style and equipped with every modern convenience, Gia Thinh Hotel provides the best accommodation. An antique beauty and stunning city life give you memorable experience when staying in Gia Thinh Hotel. We bring you the best satisfaction with the honesty, hospitality, friendliness and professional services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gia Thinh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gia Thinh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing