We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcome and good value for the money”
Review of Discovery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Hotel
Ranked #57 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Lille
1 review
“Nice welcome and good value for the money”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Discovery Hotel 3 nights in october 2012.

We had a nice welcome from Mr and Mrs Do.

The rooms are clean and with Wifi, AC, TV and a bathroom.

However, we had no window in our room.

The hotel is in a good location in the old quarter of Hanoi.

Mr and Mrs Do can help you to buy bus tickets and to make reservation for excursion.

Room Tip: The room in the last floor seems to have more space for the same price....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent_Mace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doducthuong, Owner at Discovery Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Mace,

I already sent you email to say thank you for your kind to stay in my hotel as well as your so nice review about my hotel.

Once again, thank you so much for your kind and hope to see you next time if you come back Hanoi.

Have a good day!

Best regards

Do (Mr.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
50
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a really good stay in this hotel, Mr and Mrs Do are really nice and helpful. The rooms are confortable. They propose tours in Halong, Sapa and many other places with better prices and good quality. They are honest and the price is cheap for the service they give.
I strongly recommand it, do not hesitate !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel (2 nights)!I
Hosts are very helpful and welcoming.
Good breakfast, clean bedrooms, and hotel well located in the old center of Hanoi.
Nice atmosphere.
Not so expansive for the location.
Definitively I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliedrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel on a quiet spot but right down the old quarter. Rooms are basic and bathrooms are small but the hotel is owned by a lovely family. The women is very helpful and good with organizing tours and transport. Definitely book the 3 day/2 night Halong Bay tour there. It was great and based on stories of other travellers our tour was nicer and for a better price! She also booked the sleeper bus from Ninh Binh to Vientiane (Laos) for us. Everything was good and she even called to check if we were picked up properly! Thanks for the pleasant stay and the great help!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I really enjoyed my 3 nights in discovery hotel. nice and clean room with a small balcony. room was cleaned every morning and staff was very helpful. We also booked 2 tours. The 1st one in Sapa was absolutely unforgettable and beautiful, the 2nd one on Halong bay was a bit misorganized but we did everything was planed so it is ok...

I recommand it to budget travellers: quiet, in a very good area of hanoi and clean

Room Tip: ask a room with a window and if possible a blacony because few rooms do not have a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My parents highly recommended the place. The arrangements were very well done. The staff was friendly. And the place had a simple family feeling. Very comfortable. The external tours were also well arranged. We had a nice first trip to Vietnam. Thanks to Mr Do. and family for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei Yuet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked Hanoi discovery Hotel because of highly recommended by my colleague and she stayed there before and she also recommended by friend too.
During I reach Hanoi Airport. The driver waiting me with the signing of my name and ready to pick me up to their hotel. So that I wouldn't lost at the airport and worry about the taxi arrangement. when first time step in to Hanoi Discovery Hotel, Warm Welcome given by Hotel Owner Mr. Do and his wife. and helping me to buy phone SIM card so that i can keep contact with my family and friends.
Hanoi Discovery Hotel equipped with high speed WIFI, TV, Air Conditioner, small fridge and hot water for shower.
Hanoi Discovery Hotel located at very strategy location. In the middle of the Old Quarter-the Heart of Hanoi, just 5 minutes for walking to Hoan Kiem Lake and surrounded by many shops, historical places, banks, commercial centers. So that you can found a lot famous Vietnam food nearby hotel.
Mr. Do- Hanoi Discovery Hotel Owner, I very happy with the tour arrangement by him. Since I just one week holiday at Hanoi, I wish to go as many places as possible at Hanoi. So he arranged very comprehensive tour with very reasonable price.
After finished my tour, before leave the hotel. Mr. Do's wife also helping me to buy some souvenir to my family and friend. the souvenir price is cheap then Hanoi Airport shop.
At Last. Thanks Mr. Do and his wife serving me during I stay at Hanoi Discovery Hotel. and I will COME AGAIN.

Room Tip: Room at front can see the street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet_Ho_3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#28 of 586 in Hanoi
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.0 mi away
Camel City Hotel
Camel City Hotel
#24 of 601 in Hanoi
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#15 of 367 in Hanoi
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery II Hotel
Discovery II Hotel
#88 of 601 in Hanoi
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Blues Hostel
Hanoi Blues Hostel
#43 of 367 in Hanoi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hotel

Property: Discovery Hotel
Address: 22 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 04, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Luong Ngoc Quyen Street, in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, Vietnam. Discovery hotel was built in 2004 and started running in the year 2005. Being a budget hotel in the middle of the Old Quarter, surrounded by many restaurants, cafes, bars, shops and ATM, we are perfect for your backpacker budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing