We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the spot!”

Red Bean Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 2,755 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Vietnamese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Red Bean our vision is to become one of Vietnam's leading restaurant brands serving modern Vietnamese cuisine with high quality and innovative ideas but never forgetting the roots and value of true and authentic Vietnamese cooking. Our aim is to build a great reputation in the hospitality and restaurant trade. To help lead the way in creating inspirational dishes which keep true to Vietnamese
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

After 12 days in Vietnam I really needed some western food. After reading the reviews this restaurant appeared to have the perfect mix. Arrive into the restaurant staff were lovely and the ambience was amazing. Once seated you’re provided a cool face washer and a friendly smile.

As we wanted simple food we ordered the pasta and we were not disappointed. Beautifully presented and certainly filling.

Thank you to the staff, you are beyond amazing and it was lovely seeing the chefs cleaning everything meticulously.

Thank Mara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Dear Mara J,
Thank you for your detailed comments and I am pleased that you had a good time overall. Please don't hesitate to let us know if you're visiting again soon. Our staffs are always ready to help you with anything. Thank you and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 199 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

Amazing cocktails. If you sit at the bar area you can watch how much care they put into every drink... even a basic gin and tonic. We tried some local craft beers, Singapore sling, whiskey sour and even a Long Island iced tea.
Foodwise we tried the coconut beef (actually served in a whole coconut with mushroom and chilli - not crazy spicy if you are not a chilli fan.., I personally would like it spicier)
We also went for the fish of the day which turned out to be seabass with scallops, prawns, clams, vegetables and a potato hashbrown. It was buttery and a touch of pepper (kept separate as I think it's really designed for westerners)
Service was quite good and for some reason they gave us a discount because we are at the bar. The restaurant was full and we hadn't reserved.
Actually I preferred to sit at the bar to watch the bar tenders work

Highly recommended and great value. They had so many options and it was a cool space. Maybe book on a Friday night if you want to sit at a table or if you have a group

Thank mishfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Dear mishfraser,
Thank you very much for sharing your dining experience and lovely 5 rating stars. It's definitely a boost for us every time we read positive reviews such as yours. We hope to welcome you back to our restaurant soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

After reading so many wonderful reviews we were very excited to visit the restaurant. Ambience was amazing, service was amazing, but unfortunately the food fell short. Main courses were very mediocre. I had a seafood main course, fish and prawns didnt taste so fresh or taste like anything. Visiting a fine dining restaurant we had expectations of interesting and refreshing flavors but the taste as well as the cook of the food was not much.. desserts were disappointing too. again amazing amazing service, but for the food I wouldnt come back

1  Thank Pham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

Great food. Great service. Very good value for money. Throughly enjoyed evening being served by Anne

Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

We ended up in the Red Bean Restaurant almost by accident following a long day walking in the sunshine!

The food and service was excellent. It was by far the best meal I had during our two week holiday to Vietnam.

We both had three courses. Salads to start, pork and chicken mains and chocolate deserts. All three were lovely and I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Hanoi!

Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Dear G J,
We so happy that you had enjoyed all the courses from appetizer to desert. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our restaurant to other travelers. If you’re traveling to the area again, please don’t hesitate to call us. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Bean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing