We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little wow”

Red Bean Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 3,157 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Vietnamese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Red Bean our vision is to become one of Vietnam's leading restaurant brands serving modern Vietnamese cuisine with high quality and innovative ideas but never forgetting the roots and value of true and authentic Vietnamese cooking. Our aim is to build a great reputation in the hospitality and restaurant trade. To help lead the way in creating inspirational dishes which keep true to Vietnamese
Reviewed February 22, 2015

I had a couple of meals at Red Bean. they were both excellent and crowned with top service by the staff, especially Mr Viet. As for the food, I particularly enjoyed the smoked salmon with dill dressing - delicious.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarcosdoESanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Dear MarcosdoESanto

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I have passed on your comments to the whole team including Mr Viet. We really do appreciate your encouraging feedback which is especially important for a new establishment in a very competitive Hanoian market.
We know we are onto a good thing. We have hundreds of satisfied customers like you and we are delighted you enjoyed the experience.
You are welcome back any time you are in Hanoi.

Kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,627 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2015

We enjoyed our meal at the Red Bean. Found the service excellent. The food was good but over priced. Had a large tax and service fee attached to our bill. In a city and country with such good food everywhere, how do you justify paying this amount?

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Jkmcm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Dear Jkmcm2014

Thank you for sharing your dining experience at our Red Bean restaurant with us and other food-lovers. We are extremely pleased to learn that you have liked the food and the excellent service provided by our dedicated team of staff. Meanwhile, we are quite concerned about your observation on the pricing and add-on tax.

As per our concept, we aimed to set up the Red Bean restaurant as a fine dining restaurant in town which introduces Vietnamese cuisine to travelers. In line with that, we have invested greatly finance in facility and quality. A team of professional chefs who have many years of experience in five star restaurants has also been recruited. Till now, we are delightful that our efforts have been recognized by many of travelers. In term of pricing concept, we have done several researches and comparison between ours and other similar standard restaurants in town. And, many of travelers have found our pricing very reasonable - you may consult the previous reviews on this travel site for your further reference.

There is a saying “all comparisons are lame”. If you choose to eat on the street where Vietnamese food is no doubt more authentic and cheaper than in a restaurant, you will find it lack of attentive service and atmosphere as well as the concern of hygiene. At our Hanoi Red Bean restaurant, the team of staff always strive to provide the best food with warmest and most attentive service.

Now days, the term “tax and service charge” exists in most businesses, especially in hospitality industry. Please, be confirmed that we must bear the tax as well to the local government. And, we feel reasonable that tax and service charge should be attach to the bill.

Anyway, we are sorry for having not entirely satisfied you. Please, rest assured that our management and staff always work harder to create comfortable and enjoyable experience for every single visit to our Red Bean restaurant. Look forward to having an opportunity to host your meal again in the upcoming future.

Best regards,

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2015

If you stay at La Siesta, this is where you eat breakfast. The buffet there for breakfast features puddings, mousse, cheese, cold cuts, salads, pastries, fruits, spring rolls, sushi, and much, much more. You can also order any type of eggs, oatmeal, French toast, etc. This, along with excellent tea and coffee and juice, is your breakfast. Seriously, my wife took pictures of the buffet because it was so beautiful. We also enjoyed a drink at the bar (about $5-$6 per drink, but happy hour makes this an even better deal. Dinner there is also good. The menu is varied, the foods are creative and both Vietnamese and Western. We had Viet Nguyen, an especially good waiter who took the time to talk with us for a minute or two. This hotel and restaurant is right in the Old Quarter. Prices are more than fair and the atmosphere is top rate.

Date of visit: February 2015
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Dear William M
Thank you so much for your wonderful and informative review. I have passed on your comments especially those regarding Mr Viet. It is lovely when staff get individually recognised. The work and try hard because they are passionate at giving a good service and about Vietnamese food. We are trying hard to give a memorable dining in experience in terms of food, quality, and atmosphere and set up and are very much appreciate your encouraging feedback.
Please come back any time you are in Hanoi and dine again at Red Bean

Kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2015

Had a wonderful meal, would recommend the Hanoi fish dish. Brilliant start to our honeymoon, with good service.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank zmac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Dear zmac64

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are equally as happy that you are on your honeymoon and that we were able to give you a memorable experience of Vietnamese cuisine.
We are really delighted and proud that you enjoyed dining at Red Bean. And we are so pleased that, apart from the food, you thought the customer service was good. This is just as good as the food.
Congratulations on your wedding we hope that you have an enjoyable honey moon and have a happy life ahead.
You are welcome back any time to Hanoi and thank you again.

Kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2015

I really enjoyed the meals, excellent dishes,nicely decorated, very tasty.
The cook is an excellent chef, friendly and nice. It s one of the best food I ever had in ASIA.
the witers and the waitresses very friendly,helpful and joyful.
Ireally appreciate them.
I am a demanding person so you can trust my experience.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hedia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbean2014, Manager at Red Bean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Dear HediaR,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and feedback about Red Bean. We are really delighted by your comments, and to say that the food was one of the best you have had in Asia. Plus that you may be quite demanding and were very happy with the experience are amazing things to hear. Thank you so much. And it shows we are doing something right. Are try really hard to give diners a good experience of Vietnamese cuisine I a relaxed environment.
Thank you so much again and please visit us again when you are next in Hanoi.

Kind regards

Management of Red Bean Restaurant
A member of Elegance Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Bean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing