We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Corner - new owners, refurbished, new attitude”
Review of Hanoi Corner Hotel

Hanoi Corner Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Corner Hotel
Ranked #326 of 636 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I spent my last night in Hanoi at the Hanoi Corner Hotel on Hang Manh Street in the old quarter. The hotel has been recently remodeled and has new owners. The room was spotless, and the new owners were just installing new linens. The room had modern wifi and satellite television. Its hard to believe that this is the same hotel that received so many negative reviews, but I was quite impressed and am already booking another stay here next December.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pejackson94606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2010

I've read some of the reviews here, and a number of them do not clearly identify WHICH Rose Hotel they are referring to. I've just spent a month at the Rose Hotel at 59 Duong Thanh Street in the Old Quarter. I couldn't have been happier. Their rates were good (and negotiable for a longer stay),the rooms were excellent and the service was as good as I've had in any Western hotel.

To those looking for quiet - this is dowtown Hanoi, for goodness.sake! And also remember that Vietnam is still a 3rd-world country. If you want a Western experience, this isn't the place for you.

But for those who got ripped off by the travel-oriented Rose Hotel (definitely not the one I stayed at), there is no excuse for dishonesty. I know that from time to time I paid a premium for things in Vietnam, but generally this was an odd $1 here or there. Some of these people earn so little that I expected and accepted a little padding here or there, or I did not negotiate particularly hard.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 54-11-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The room we had for $20 was ok, but VERY LOUD. Every morning we were awakened at 6am when the scooters start honking in the streets. The bathroom had a big triangular hole for a window...no glass.. and no screen. When the mosquitoes started coming in around dusk, we asked them to cover it. They did nothing. I ended up covering it myself with some athletic tape from our first aid kit.

They said $20 included breakfast, but the first day when we inquired, we had to go to their sister hotel, Liberty Hotel (also not recommended) down the street, where they didn't have power at the time. They served us breakfast they bought from a nearby pho stand, as we sat in darkness, next to the open door to the alley where someone was painting.

We constantly had to refuse pressure to book trips with the Rose Hotel every time we came and went from our room, and they gave us attitude once they realized we were not booking anything with them. Upon check-out they turned off the internet in the lobby so I could not check my email while my fiance paid the bill. They tried to nickle and dime us for everything. The night attendant told us one rate for a phone call, then when we checked out the lady running the place tried to charge us double.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabarjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We only just left the place and it was OK.
Location: This hotel is a pretty convenient location, right in the city centre. Some shops around and within a 10 minute walk to the lake, water puppet show etc.
Room: The rooms were huge but very basic, clean, the bed comfortable ( we had a standard room). Overall the room was quite good but here comes a small minus: Right in front of the hotel there's a pretty busy street... I wouldn't recomment the hotel for people who are very sensitive to noise. Anyway... me and my friend always slept very well.
Staff: The staffs were extremely friendly. 02 or 03 girl only but they were professional, always efficient, and always greeted us whenever we left of returned to the hotel. They were also helping us for travel information.
Breakfast: They didn't have restaurant so Breakfast was server in other place. Basic and not much thing to say.
Overall: We had a good time in here. Even though we didn't like their breakfast, we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We spent 7 nights and we had an excellent location to central, shopping in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and even in basic room, I have a Flatscreen TV and shower.
Lee, the new owner (she bought this hotel from friend) and the other staff were lovely- from the second walking into the hotel, they were all very friendly and accommodating. Our room did not become available to us until an hour after the normal check in period and the front desk apologized porofusely as well as provided us with a complimentary bottle of coffee and tea.

The general impression is good and we truly recommend the place because it means great value for money.

PS: Exactly, the hotel lobby looks like travel agency and they arranged a wonderful trip for us to the Sapa for low cost (We shopped around)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeGSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We were staying around the corner at a far nicer hotel but this hotel looks like a travel agency so we stopped and booked our Halong Bay trip and train through them. The night before our Halong Bay cruise was booked, we received a call from the Rose Hotel telling us our cruise was cancelled due to the tropical storm. As the hotel we were booked in was booked, we couldn't extend our stay. My husband arranged to stay at the Rose Hotel the next night to await news on whether we could go to Halong the following Day.
The hotel charged us 10% to change our train tickets as they had to be pushed ahead a day.
The hotel was AWFUL. No elevator and dark circular stairs. The bedding was dirty and the bathroom had a window that was essentially just a hole to the outside with no screen. The balcony faced a noisy street so not much sleep to be had.
The next morning, we were to be downstairs to be picked up for our trip to Halong. We were told 5 minutes before it left that it was again cancelled. At this point, we decided to cancel the Halong tour as we didn't wish to spend more time in Hanoi (had been there a week already) and asked for our money back and to change our train tickets back to the original date & time. It was a nightmare getting our money back. We were told to get it at noon when we checked out. From 9 am till about noon, the girl at the travel desk was doing her best to convince us that heading south to Hue was "not safe" as it was flooding (this wasn't true - they had experienced flooding 2 weeks prior but not at that time)
At noon when we went to check out, we were told that our $140 USD refund would not be there till 3 or 4 when the manager came back as they were too busy. Oh - and also - we owed them ANOTHER 10% of the train fare for them to change it back. We managed to convince them to let us stay till the funds came as we felt the funds should have been available at checkout.
Now, We paid for the top class train ticket available (SE class train). Then were charged another 20% because of the changes needing to be made. We got to the train station and boarded the train to discover we were on an HN train which aren't as clean or as nice and cost less to take.
This hotel is only interested in your money and not at all in keeping people happy!! DO NOT BOOK A ROOM WITH THEM OR BOOK A TOUR!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Really con artist the lady working there.....told me taxi ride free to airport for flight to Danang that i booked with Rose Hotel (Han Manh street) but then charged me for it. Also flight was only USD 42 + USD 14 tax but charged USD 80 for it.

Really dirty tactic they pull and gives bad impression of Vietnam tourist agents...

Avoid this place at all cost if you dont want to part with ur hard earned $$$

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosesucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#97 of 599 in Hanoi
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Corner Hotel

Address: 12b Hang Manh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Rose)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 636 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $16 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Corner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose hotel is a charming family run 7 room balcony establishment in the heart of HaNoi Old quarter. The rooms come with all the amenities you would expect and some you wouldn't such as in room computer with internet access (ADSL) and balconies. They are tastefully furnished, full of light and fresh roses add warmth to the rooms. Local fruit, complimentary breakfast, and helpful service set this hotel apart from the rest. We also provide an alternative to the large tour companies and can arrange a variety of local experiences you won't forget. A short 2 minute walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake takes you past many colorful silk shops and local arts and crafts. We are also located across the street from one of Hanoi's most famous Bun Cha restaurants. You won't be disappointed. Let our family be a part of your Hanoi experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing