We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking Nightmare”
Review of Hanoi Corner Hotel

Hanoi Corner Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Corner Hotel
Ranked #319 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booking Nightmare”
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Rose Hotel (12b Hang Manh St.) fleeced us shamelessly, booking us hard seats on the train to sapa and charging us the equivalent of a sleeper car. The train was packed, overbooked, people sleeping under the seats, everyone knee to knee, smokey, and stopped about 12 times on the way up, adding hours to our already overnight trip. It was single handedly the most uncomfortable experience I have had in Vietnam. The worst part was coming back to have them not even bat at eye at our concerns. Such experiences should be chosen and the trade off is cheap for less comfort, not 600 % inflation for the worst possible option there is.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LALADY84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    1
    0
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
6
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

I stayed here for 5 nights split by a trip to Halong Bay. The Manager was Mr Tu so I assume it’s the same place as reviewed earlier.

My experience was different. I’d chosen the Gold Star Hotel (reviewed separately) for my first two nights, and that was fine. But I sometimes check out other places that look interesting while I’m wandering around, and that’s how I found the Rose. I saw two rooms - both huge and full of light. (The hotel is on a corner). I chose a twin bedded room on the second floor as it had a balcony and lots of windows that opened. There was also a large TV (which I never turned on!), a fridge, double wardrobe, table and easy chairs, and a bedside light. And a/c - though you really don't need it in late November. The bathroom was fully tiled, though small. The shower was one of those without a proper cubicle which may be an issue for some folk - but I find if drainage is good, and the loo seat is completely covered when the top is down, then it’s not a problem. Water pressure was terrific and hot water was in constant supply.

I had to pay a 25% deposit to book a room for the next day which seemed fair enough. I was also asked to pay in full in advance to keep the room for my return from Halong Bay. I suspect people sometimes reserve and then don’t come back.

It’s a family business and everyone was friendly and welcoming. I needed a taxi one evening and they called one for me, and Mr Tu also arranged transport to the airport. This was $12 which seemed a lot until you realise the airport is 34km from town. I wasn’t hassled to book tours at all, and as it happened booked both my trips elsewhere. There's free internet in the small reception area.

The location on the fringe of the old town is excellent. Hang Manh is a (short) street, not a lane ,so there is traffic but it’s low key, and quiet by 11.00pm. I paid $25 for the room. There is probably cheaper to be had but this place was perfect for me. I even got used to the rose pink walls after a while. Recommended.

I'll post photos later.

  • Liked — light, air, location, price
  • Disliked — nothing I can think of.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nitarudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

First of all, there are many hotels with the name "Rose Hotel" in Hanoi, not related to each other. This one is at 56 Ngo Huyen street, which is two narrow streets north of the Cathedral, in the Hoan Kiem district.

My room cost US $15, and included private bathroom, fan, air conditioning, and a TV. It is on a very quiet narrow little street; quiet is a rarity in Hanoi, where motorcycles are honking their horns every second of every day, so this alone is a big bonus. My room was large and clean as well. And the hotel is very well-located - near to everything, including the Old Town and the central lake. I moved from two other budget hotels (both too noisy from the traffic) before finding this one.

I highly recommend the Rose Hotel for a budget hotel in Hanoi.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Disliked — Front staff didn't speak English very well
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Booked a cruise on Halong bay with the Rose Hotel as I was walking in Hanoi. In order not to have to hunt for a place when I came back, I also booked a room with them, agreed on price, room,... When I came back from the cruise, Mr. Tu, the owner, told me the room was not available. This, in itself, is unnacceptable as we had arranged everything just 3 days before. He told me he would have another room in the hotel next door, for the same price. The room he showed me was smaller, dark, VERY noisy and had 2 single, uncomfortable beds. Nothing like the room we had agreed upon. As I was tired and it was getting late and didn't feel like walking around to find another place with my luggage in the heat, I decided to stay the night anyway. I DID have to push to get a discount though!

Next morning, as I checked out, Mr Tu prepared the bill for different services (cruise, room, laundry,...) and gave me a total price. By then, he had fibbed me a few times, plus the room swap, so I was weary of him. I recalculated the amounts myself based on what we had agreed and found out he was trying to charge me more. When confronted, he giggled like a boy caught doing a bad deed and apologized.

A pity as he seemed like a nice man and the room we had seen was quite nice. However, he tried to screw me every which way possible from the start. The amount of money in play was not big, but it's more for the principal of not being taken advantage of.

There are many other hotels in town. Avoid this one like the plague if you can, are you'll have to fight them every step of the way.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dishonest staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodie_errant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Corner Hotel

Property: Hanoi Corner Hotel
Address: 12b Hang Manh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Rose)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Corner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose hotel is a charming family run 7 room balcony establishment in the heart of HaNoi Old quarter. The rooms come with all the amenities you would expect and some you wouldn't such as in room computer with internet access (ADSL) and balconies. They are tastefully furnished, full of light and fresh roses add warmth to the rooms. Local fruit, complimentary breakfast, and helpful service set this hotel apart from the rest. We also provide an alternative to the large tour companies and can arrange a variety of local experiences you won't forget. A short 2 minute walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake takes you past many colorful silk shops and local arts and crafts. We are also located across the street from one of Hanoi's most famous Bun Cha restaurants. You won't be disappointed. Let our family be a part of your Hanoi experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing