We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed to Moon View Hotel now!”
Review of Moon View 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon View 2 Hotel
Ranked #251 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Changed to Moon View Hotel now!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel has changed the owners (?) and has become Moon View Hotel now. We stayed here for two nights in a deluxe room upon our arrival to Vietnam. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we were surprised to see a portier in such a small hotel which seemed a bit over the top. The room was OK, the bed was large and rather comfortable. There were even some flowers in the room. Two small bottles of water were provided free of charge daily. There were also a TV (60+ channels) and a safety box. The main drawback was the bathroom - it was rather small and cramped, and many things did not make any logical sense. For example, the washbasin was too far away from the tap, so the water would spill all over and drip on the floor. Our room also had unexpected surprise automatic wake-up call that was probably programmed by the previous inhabitants and would set off at 6:50 two mornings in a row. The breakfast was rather good. They had fresh fruits and vegetables, some local and western fare + an opportunity to order omelette and noodle soup to be prepared. The dining room also had an outside terrace with some interesting views of the neighbourhood. We could hear some street sounds in our room, but they did not disturb us too much. Location was within a walking distance to the main sights, at least for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expotition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    74
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
25
42
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our family stayed in Viet Hotel - Hanoi for 3 nights in January and found that this was a great choice. The staff was wonderful, enthusiasm with smile always on their face. The family suite room was spacios, clean with fully equipment. Breakfast at Hotel included both vietnamese traditional food and also American breakfast. Viet Hotel is located in Hang Than Street where you can see many things prepared for wedding are sold. It's near Hanoi lod quarter and just few minutes walking to Dong Xuan market & night marke on weekend. We were able to walk to most of the places we wanted to visit in Hanoi, convenietly exploring from the hotel. Overall I had great days here and will denfinitely stay agian next time. Highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2011

has just stayed here only one day before come back home. The first feeling when we came Hanoi Viet hotel is the atmosphere of christmas very cozy. The hotel has been decorated so wonderful from the main door, reception, elevator and to each room of customer.
We can feel the atmosphere of christmas like our country.
The staff is helpful, friendly, cheerful and pleasant. We got the amazing Chrismas time in here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lampen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We wouldn't stay in the old quarter again. It is just too noisy.
This is a 3 star hotel with very friendly, helpful, courteous reception staff. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and we cannot criticise the hotel's customer service. We made a mistake with the choice of location, and if we go to Hanoi again we'll go for a 4 star hotel near Hoan Kiem lake which we would prefer in hindsight.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealand-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed there a few nights, hotel needs a spruce up but hey it's a 3 star, Staff are friendly and it's in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the Viet Hotel for one night on our way to Halong Bay. Unfortunately after being accommodated in several great hotels from Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City) through to Hanoi we were extremely disappointed. The staff were friendly but our room looked very sad and in need of a makeover. The bathroom, especially deserved some TLC. The shower over the bath was too high and consequently hit the back wall and hence down onto the floor despite curtain over bath being pulled. The carpet in the public areas was in need of a good clean or replacement and the dining room not too good. Fresh fruit in the room was a plus (the only one). We left our luggage there for one night while at Halong Bay and finished our holiday back at the Viet Hotel for one more night (previously booked by our tour operator). Not a good place to finish an otherwise wonderful experience holiday. The hotel is in the old quarter with plenty of hussle and bussle for those who want it. We did not. There is no restaurant service for dinner except by prior order which we did on our last night and it was delivered to the room. The dirty plates were left outside our room and were still there when we left at 7.30 a.m. next day. We were disturbed both nights at around 11.00 p.m. by the reception desk asking if we wanted an early call "hello", we had been in bed the last night for over 2 hours when the call came through!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed there just one night on route to Halong Bay and since we got in late we decided on a 3-star that wasn't too expensive. It does live up to being a 3-star, rather aged and the fluorescent lights don't do much for the ambiance but they more than made up for it with the service. The staff was eager to help and spent quite some time figuring out how to direct us to a street where our friends were staying that wasn't so easy to find on the map. The manager was also there to make sure they were alert should guests need help. The room was quite clean, beds comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised by the welcome fruit basket. They provided a robe, toiletries and disposable bedroom slippers.

It's situated on a quaint street that almost exclusively sells Vietnamese wedding cakes, and like most parts of Hanoi, very quaint and colourful. It's a short walk to the night market too and a park where people rehearse martial arts in the morning. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, there's a fast-food joint down the street and lots of noodle outlets in the area.

The downside was that the lift does take quite a while to come, and the breakfast spread is a little blah, and we saw a cockroach under the egg station (dead though), but that won't be the last time we encountered a cockroach in a food establishment in Vietnam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Moon View Hotel
Moon View Hotel
#218 of 588 in Hanoi
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#361 of 588 in Hanoi
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anise Hotel
Anise Hotel
#167 of 588 in Hanoi
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
First Eden Hotel
First Eden Hotel
#214 of 588 in Hanoi
84 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#210 of 588 in Hanoi
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon View 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon View 2 Hotel

Property: Moon View 2 Hotel
Address: 61 59, Hang Than, Ba Dinh, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Viet Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon View 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Old Quarter of Hanoi capital city, just minutes walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake- an entertainment, attractions and convention business hub, as well as Dong Xuan market – the longest-live market since ancient time in Capital and a shopping paradise, Hanoi Viet hotel is the ideal choice for both travelers and businessmen who visit Hanoi. Hanoi Viet hotel will satisfy travelers with friendly and helpful service crew who have experienced in meeting and anticipating customer needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Moon View 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viet Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing