We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet and Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Hotel - 9 Hang Mam
Ranked #158 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Ottawa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Wonderful”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sunrise for a week. Jonny and Michael did EVERYTHING they could to ensure our stay and travels inside Vietnam were wonderful- they arranged trips to Sapa, Halang Bay and the Mekong Delta. They had people pick us up at airports and hotels for transfers and everything always worked out fine!
I would go back to the Sunrise any time. It is on a quiet part of the street (well - quiet is a bit of a relative term in Hanoi).
The rooms were large with excellent air conditioning and the whole hotel was painted during our visit without interfering with us in any way.
The computers in every room are a big bonus. So is the fresh fruit every day and the water bottles!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margueriteOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    38
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
25
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed 10 days at Johny and Michael's hotel. They did so much for us with organising trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. They organised trips to the Ceramic and Silk Villages. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Water Puppet Theatre and Hoa Kiem Lake. The hotel room was very clean and very large, had in room internet and the lovely breakfast catered for European or Asian tastes. The rest of the staff were exceedingly helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. All this for under $40 a night. This hotel is at 24 Quan Su, Hoa Kiem and should not be confused with another hotel of the same name. We are going back again next year and will definitely be staying at the Sunrise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MuzzaMagneticIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3nights with my wife and 2 of my friends.We paid USD35 for the superior room through AGODA just for a night and later wanted to negotiate with the htl directly.AGODA paid the hotel USD23 and made a profit of USD12 for itself-the details were revealed by the htl.!!The management charged USD30 a night with breakfast and the room was comfortable.Bfast was simple and nothing to crow about!!!They charged USD17 for a 7seater taxi ride from the airport.We paid USD15 for the return trip to the airport using a Toyota Vios taxi.Watch out for a staff named HONG-friendly but not as honest as he potrays himself to be.He charged us USD25 for a day trip to the boat ride through lime stone hills,temples and buffet lunch.But we found out through another travel agent that we could hv done it with only USD17 with lunch.Later he charged us USD20 for a city tour promising a private car but he got us a cab instead and we had to wait for a new cab everytime we finished visiting a new place-but the tour guide was good and he indicated that the actual price was very much lower!!!We had a scrumptious set lunch at the Blue Butterfly Cafe-reasonably priced.The htl is located right in the centre of the lively city and near to many restaurants.We had good coffee,tea and beers at Cafe de Paris-worth visiting.

Naidu and Jason

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tambusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiSunrisehotel, Manager at Sunrise Hotel - 9 Hang Mam, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor,

Please check for us this review please, it is completely wrong Sunrise hotel . i can send you all our booking from AGODA , and we dont have any guest come from Malaysia and have name like this , we are online with AGODA from May 2010 , and up to now we just have some booking from them.
This review influence to much for our reputaion . Please make it correct for us please .

Best regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My friend and I recently stayed at the Sunrise Hotel in Hanoi. The Hotel is situated in the old quarter within walking distance of everything. The staff and management couldn't do enough to make our stay a memorable one. It really did feel like "Home Sweet Home".
Regards,
Neil
Australia

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

this hotel in photo's looks very nice but the rooms are not very clean. The bathroom was very dirty along with the plugs in bath being broken and bath filthy. We had a deluxe room so I would hate to see the standard rooms. The hotel is situated in a very good location and the staff other than Jonny spoke very little english so if jonny was not there you could not get any help. We personally would never go back to this hotel there are a lot more better and same price in this area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john_mayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel was an excellent find, well located in central Hanoi. We initially chose it based on price, description and excellent reviews (100% recommendation) in TripAdvisor. We booked the first two nights of our trip not knowing what to expect, to give ourselves flexibility in case we wanted to change, but happily extended our stay for the full week of our visit. After a few days, it really did feel like "home".
This is a very appealing, clean hotel with large spacious, well-appointed rooms (including good airconditioning, PC computer and internet access - there is wi-fi in reception). The hotel is family run by very helpful, friendly staff (some whom speak excellent English). who couldn't do enough for us. They arranged tours, changed money, facilitated laundry, provided good travel tips and advice, recommended places to eat, arranged free airport transfers, etc. There were no surprises or unexpected add-ons. Breakfast was included in the room rate, and was excellent.
The hotel is on a relatively quiet (by Hanoi standards), and attractive street (24 Quan Su). It is only a few blocks easy walking distance from Hoan Kiem Lake, and very close to the Old Quarter and many other tourist attractions. There are plenty of restaurants, watering holes and shops all around.
At the risk of making it harder to book ourselves next time we go back, we highly recommend this hotel. Ideal for singles, couples and families wanting good quality, exceptional service and convenience at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenfromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Hague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My girlfriend and I have stayed in the hotel for 6 nights in total in three different rooms (we went to Halong Bay and Sapa in between). All rooms were spacious and clean. Each room had a computer, really good aircon and beautiful beds. Rooms on the front are well isolated, but you can hear some street noise. But your in the middle of a Vietnamese city, so that's the way it should be. Our room at the back of the hotel was really quiet. All the nights we slept really well.

All the staff were extremely friendly and customer service was their main concern. And it was al genuine. Most of the staff speak English pretty good, which makes it easy to conversate with them. The tours they booked for us where very well priced and of a good quality. When we were in Saigon we booked 2 tours ourselves and they were horrible. We also let them buy us plain- and train tickets, even after we've left the hotel, and it all worked out very good.

Michael and the rest: thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 77Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel - 9 Hang Mam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel - 9 Hang Mam

Property: Sunrise Hotel - 9 Hang Mam
Address: 24 Quan Su Str | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Hotel - 9 Hang Mam 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Hotel Hanoi is an excellent mid-range hotel with top- quality services. It is centrally located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter. It is the first choice to stay, to celebrate, to meet, dine, enjoy, relax and do business. Safe, clean, and fun, the Sunrise Hotel is surrounded by neon lights, chapels, and the fabulous wonders of nature! So prepare your list of 'sins to commit' and start down the road to excitement and fulfillment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunrise Hotel - 9 Hang Mam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunrise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing