We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value & helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rising Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rising Dragon Hotel
Ranked #110 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value & helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stay 2nights at Rising Dragon Hotel, It was fantastic and the best we did in Vietnam for our 2weeks travel.

The clean room, wonderful bathroom with Rose perfumer, breakfast was beautiful with continental and fleck.

Instate of the cancellation from Buffalo tour, Miss Moon help us to enjoy the Mai Chau tour in the Hill of Tribe people without any problem. I would like to recommend this hotel and say thank to every helpful staffs and the Girl at the reception deck who arranged the safe transfer to the airport to go home.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lashiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    273
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
115
281
96
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

Friendly, honest staff who didn't hassle us for tours. Clean, comfortable if uninspiring room. We stayed in a triple standard (although the third bed was just a mattress) on the top floor . Quiet and good exercise especially with 2 young children. Hotel is located on noisy street so best to ask for high floor at back or bring earplugs. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Good location for Hoan Kiem Lake and Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Uninspiring room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank the_wibblywobblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

This hotel is not fancy but it is a great combination of location, comfort and economical price. I paid $30 a night for a spacious, clean room with air conditioning. The room had no windows, but then again I don't travel to stay at my bedroom looking through the window. The only problem I had during the two nights I stayed there was that there were a few power cuts the first night I stayed there, affecting the whole block of houses -- they said if that were to happen the dat after again, they would get a generator -- indeed we had no more power cuts.

Breakfast was OK with mostly either a choice of continental breakfast or pho. The location is great right in the middle of the old town, and in general I found the hotel very decent for the price.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarcelonaBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

I stayed in Rising Dragon for three nights with a friend and we had a good experience. We paid 30dollars a night for a deluxe double room, included breakfast and wifi. Our room was spotless and everything seemed new, but ours was small – bed took up most of the space in the room. Bath was medium-size. The travel desk and reception people were very good. This hotel is run by a Vietnamese man and his western wife. She gave me a great rec for a local spa run by a charity for the blind called Just Massage.
Neighborhood is safe, so you can go out at night without any problems. I really enjoyed the shopping and just walking around the Old Quarter and talking to people. The fruit is remarkable! If you want to buy something, just bargain with the hawkers and be sure to taste-test the fruit first. I took motorcycle taxis everywhere – usually only a dollar or two and the most efficient means of getting around. Hanoi was a fun and laidback city – our best memories of the whole trip!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tropicaltrip80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

After reading positive reviews online and viewing the rooms on the hotel's website i had high expectations of this hotel but was disappointed with the room we were given. I booked the 30 USD standard twin room which looks quite spacious on the website however the room we were given was tiny, much smaller than the one we paid 20 USD for at a small guesthouse in HCMC. It was also on the first floor next to what looked like a laundry with children playing in and around it and had a useless window above the internet/dining area so it was pretty noisy - ear plugs required! The setup of the room was awkward so we couldn't watch the tv comfortably from bed, there is no room for luggage or walking around, i tripped over the beds numerous times trying to get to the bathroom. When i asked to be moved to a bigger and quieter room on our return from Halong Bay the following day, i was told that the room we were in was actually a deluxe room and we were upgraded which was just total lie as we'd seen into the room next to ours which was a deluxe and it was huge compared to ours. I wasn't in the mood to argue to settled for the same room one floor up which was exactly the same and next to an even noisier laundry/staff room! The room was clean and the bathroom new and one of the best that we had in this price range. A number of the other staff were however very helpful and provided us with maps and recommendations on safety and where to go/eat etc and let me use their pc for printing, breakfast was fine but not as good as those that we had at other budgets. The hotel is in a great location close to the lake, water puppets and handspan travel which has quality Halong Bay tours. The transfers the hotel provided us with for 14 each way (was quoted 12 USD when booking) were good also - new clean cars and safe drivers.

  • Liked — The location and some helpful staff
  • Disliked — The tiny rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

Family of 4, Two Daughters 22 and 14, Used The Rising Dragon as our base while travelling to Sapa, Halong bay,Hoi An,Left luggage their, Miss Moon Was Wonderfull,helped with train,Plane,and Cruise nothing to much trouble, Front Desk and Porter were great, a real home away from home Rooms are ok Clean and no noise, could have some free water in room, any problems were fixed straight away,great loaction, Loved Hanoi,loved the Dragon, Thanks Everyone.

  • Liked — loction and STAFF
  • Disliked — NO ELEVATOR
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barnesybrisBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

We've been travelling for 2 months: India, Nepal, Bhutan, and now the last 3 weeks in Vietnam and this is the WORST hotel we've stayed in to date. I don't usually get on to write reviews while travelling, but feel so passionately about warning others! While this hotel was not selected for any of the guidebooks, we went for it anyway, owing to low availability in general at this time of year.

Our room has no window, broken aircon, and is dirty, without soap, above the kitchen, which is NOISY!!! Worst of all, they did not empty the trash in the batjroom, which had used condoms and sanitary towels peeping out. Unsanitary to say the least. A total ripoff, by Vietname standards. The Ritz Hotel was an awful lot cleaner at $25 a night, and we heard of plenty other hotels tonight from fellow travellers for as little as $8-$12 a night that sounded a whole lot better. In short, we're being ripped off, after staying in a gorgeous 4 star boutique hotel in Hoi An for $32. Can't wait to check out tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank travelhappy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
#120 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#112 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#116 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#38 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.0 mi away
Classic Street Hotel
Classic Street Hotel
#144 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#101 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Hotel
Address: 61 Hang Be St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Rooms/Suites: Our hotel boasts large smoking and non-smoking rooms, some of which have beautiful balconies overlooking the Old Quarter and large bathrooms with bathtubs. Each deluxe and standard room in our safe and quiet building has air conditioning and hot water.Amenities: The on-site restaurant has a wide menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests are provided with a free continental breakfast as part of their stay. Wireless internet is available, as are computers in our hotel lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rising Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Hanoi
Hotel Rising Dragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing