We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rising Dragon Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveler rating
468
277
54
18
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
277
54
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterhoan kiem lakeother hotelsdeluxe roomsister hotellocation is excellentbreakfast was includedwould highly recommend this hotelphotripssapavietnamtaxistreetheartmap
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 836 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for several nights in November and were impressed by the quality of the service. We booked a day trip to the Perfume Pagoda, 2 nights on the Santa Maria cruiseship to Ha Long Bay and even a last minute trip to Siem Reap in Cambodia and they organized everything very efficiently.

The only thing is the deluxe double room we had the first night - it was very noisy due to traffic and the water pump making strange noises. We then moved to a standard room which was very decent.

No luxury, no frills but very nice atmosphere and great location at a good price.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We had an excellent stay at this hotel in Nov. They picked us up at the airport without problem.The location in the old city is excellent for exploring the old city ( if you can withstand the constant honking. Honking is apparently the national song of Viet Nam). The rooms were clean with a nice bathroom. Others have commented on the lack of an elevator so no surprises there. They booked a trip to Halong Bay without problems.They even did two laundries for us at about a dollar a kilo.Overall a pleasant experience

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank shlepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

This was our first stop in Vietnam and we really liked it. It is nothing fancy, so don't expect 5* luxury. If you want a charming atmosphere with wonderful personal service, this is the place.
When asking them whether we could leave our bags there passing through Hanoi a few days later, they even offered us to use their private shower.

We stayed in a de luxe room on the top floor. No lift as has been pointed out, and by the time you got to the top it was a relief to get that air con running! The bed was big and super comfy. The room was nicely decorated.

We did not use the onsite travel services, though did not at all find them pushy, as some have suggested here. The breakfast was basic, but still very nice.

If you arrange for them to collect you at the airport, you should confirm shortly before. We didn't, and due to a misunderstanding they didn't turn up. But they seemed truly sorry and offered to pay for our cab instead.

Travellers who are sensitive to noise should be warned that the hotel is on a busy market street. So be prepared to wake up to endless honking and long trading regulations being read out through loud speakers. We, however, found this to be a charming part of our amazing Vietnam adventure!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Lilja016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

A lovely place that oozes with the family's hospitality and charm. There must be something to say for being given a room on the 6th floor in a hotel with no lift and feeling none the worse for it. It's the warmth that floats around! Lovely rooms, great loos and people who really take care of you. They went further - when my booking done through them on the Santa Maria cruise fell through as the cruise operator tried to bump me off the last minute, the hotel fought tooth and nail to ensure I got my booking back on the Santa Maria. As the owner told me, he had his reputation to protect and was not going to stake it for anything - this demonstrates the time and trouble they take to look after their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank bangalorewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Comper with enother hotels, it was worst (but no cheapest). Breakfast was terrible, room is small, not clean and service is absence. If you don't like ado - stay in french area. If you like it - try to find more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nata25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews