We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHECK YOU GET THE ROOM YOU PAY FOR - THEY WILL TRY TO DOWN GRADE YOU!”
Review of Royal 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal 2 Hotel
Ranked #403 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“CHECK YOU GET THE ROOM YOU PAY FOR - THEY WILL TRY TO DOWN GRADE YOU!”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The problem with this hotel is the staff. We booked our first night through Agoda and paid $12, the following morning we tried to book a second night over the counter and the girl said that we would have to pay $18. When we asked why, we were told that the previous night we had been put in the wrong room, a better room than we should of been in but this was not true so we just rebooked via agoda as it seemed the easiest option. This did not please the girl on reception and she said that we would have to move rooms but after a few slightly heated words she said that we could stay in the same room but it left a bad feeling. The breakfast was also not great. We had a choice of pinapple with flies on, melon with flies on, bread with flies on and a cooked egg YUM! The second day I skipped breakfast altogether. The problem is that this hotel could be great, the room are quite nice and spacious ( we were in room 304 ) and they could probably charge more if they gave the rooms a facelift but the staff let the whole establishment down with their total lack of regard for their customers. There are two computers that are free to use in reception but they are never available as the staff are always on them and are happy to leave you to sit there waiting for over an hour at a time whilst they play solitare! Overall there are so many other options in this area please do yourself a favour and look elsewhere!

Room Tip: 304 is a nice room but don't pay more than $12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisherwoman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    8
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
14
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Provided the booking reference # upon arrival. Was mislead about hotel by hotelscombined.com.au who said that the hotel had a pool and lift as well as many other services. It didn't.

We wanted to finalise the bill the night before because we had to get a taxi early, again had to provide booking # (you'd think they'd write it down this time). Then in the morning when we left, was asked again for the booking ref # to confirm that we had paid... The door was locked, so had no choice but to go hunting for it again.

Then because they had rung a taxi for us, they kept US$9 while the taxi driver got US$7. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We booked 4 nights Deluxe double room in internet. The first night we arrived around mid-night. It is rainning and cold weather. When we get into the room, it is twin room. We told the staff they say no double room now. But they can change back to us tomorrow. So we go to take a shower and sleep. But we found no hot water so we call the receptionist but he just told us to turn left and right of the water-tap but it is not work finally. When we call again they haven't pick up the phone anymore.
The next morning we asked the staff to change back our room. But the new room also definitely NOT same as the picture we saw in internet but Staff only said this is same price... The night my partner fell down in the bathroom and get hurt of his foot. We ask for first-aid kit but they say they have NO and it is night to buy and told us to wait until tomorrow. At last we went to the hospital which they introduce. When we came back from hospital, we found there's a store which located opposite of hostel and still open. and they have medicine inside....
Next day, they say we broken the bath tap. It is not ceramics, just a fiberboard. They say we should pay USD500. We refuse and say we haven't got enough money. And the bathroom is not safety because there's no shower curtain and floor towel but they say this is our careless. They say they can reduce to USD260 and it is big discount.
Next day , We request to call police and they say the policeman cannot speak English. We went to the police station ourselves, and the police phone them to arrive. The staff of Royal Hotel 2 request us to go back hostel to have a talk but we refuse. And finally they accept USD100. Although we think it is not make sense but we paid so that we can get back our luggage. We check out immediately although there's still 1 night we paid already.
Maybe this is a special case, but the hotel is not safety we think. They have a key and open the door without knock. Luckily we are in the room and sleeping. The street is very noise and we always awake very early. Some staff is very odd and they do not change the towel everyday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBstupidrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndoch, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed 4 nights to attend a wedding in Ha Noi. While the 4th floor front room is one of the best in this establishment the first couple of climbs up the starirs showed us how unfit we were. But after a couple of days walking around Ha Noi we had no trouble climbing stairs! The staff were on the whole polite and had a good understanding of English. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The mini-bar prices are the same as street prices - no rip off. Fast internet and wi-fi available.
Staff were very helpful with directions, organising taxis and even following up with a taxi company when one of their drivers overcharged us (thankyou)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danang, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The Duc Huy Hotel (also known as the Royal Hotel as per sign on the front entrance to hotel) in Hanoi is the dirtiest smelling place that we have ever stayed in. We arrived there and the main entrance stank like urine and had the same smell leading up the stairs to all rooms. The bed sheets had not been changed (they had pubic hairs and soiled/stained sheets and the towels in the bathroom were filthy. We left and went across the road to another hotel, and would like our money back. I will be leaving feedback on as many sites that have feedback about this hotel as I can it is a disgrace.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djakkj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We booked this hotel originally for 2 nights of a 5 night stay in Hanoi, but ended up extending for all 5 days at this hotel. Nice, comfortable rooms, good bathroom and pretty quiet. The location is excellent, walking distance to everything.

The staff was a little odd. The owner was not happy that we extended our stay through Agoda and not in cash, since this costs the hotel a few bucks, and let me know about it, making for an awkward final 3 days. On our second to last night, we were unexpectedly downgraded to make room for "other guests," even though we had paid for the highest quality room. Our new room was fairly similar, just smaller and with twin beds, but I did not appreciate being told to move at 7pm mid-stay.

Breakfast was fine, but there is not enough room for more than 6 people to sit at once in the crowded kitchen.

Besides the staff, I would definitely recommend this as a good budget choice in Hanoi. Great price for the superior rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Was a very low cost hotel...counter staff were very friendly and helpful, not always guaranteed in Vietnam I assure you! The rooms are quite spartan but clean. The only downside is if they put you on the 4th or 5th floor, there is no lift so you definitely improve your fitness when staying here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kummzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#142 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Moon Suite Hotel & travel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#106 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Royal Palace Hotel 2
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal 2 Hotel

Property: Royal 2 Hotel
Address: 11 Hang Manh Street, Hanoi 84, Vietnam (Formerly Duc Huy)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal 2 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal 2 Hotel (formerly Duc Huy Hotel) is situated in downtown Hanoi, near major office buildings, popular shopping areas and ancient sites. Along with its spacious rooms, elegant furnishings and sophisticated facilities Duc Huy hotel is a place where you can feel relaxed, comfortable and well-looked after. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal 2
Royal 2 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing