We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13 days,and all was great.”
Review of Somerset West Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerset West Lake
Ranked #183 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed in April 2008. Great accommodations. Everyone seemed polite and willing to be helpful. American cuisine at the restaurant didnt quite meet the USA standard but it was ok.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Mr. Mark

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip advisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your apartment. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that since June 1st 2012, we have a new Restaurant at Somerset West Lake. The new restaurant offers continental Plus breakfast with more choices of food items than before. The lunch and dinner menu have been reviewed and include a more diverse choice of both Western and Asian dishes. I hope you will give it a trial during your next stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset West Lake, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Lekeume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 125 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here a week. Excellent accommodation with a superb pool and fully equipted gym. Important to have some calm in a city as frenetic as Hanoi and this place certainly provides this.
Word of warning though, the kettle doesn't boil properly so use bottled water and don't have high expectations of the restaurant.
When using taxis we found it helpful to have the address written down don't rely on the doorman to verbally give instructions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank curror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your post here on Trip Advisor

It is pleasing to learn that you had an overall enjoyable experience during your stay with us, from the comfort of your apartment to the leisure facilities we offer. Ensuring the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is very important to us.

I am sorry for the difficulties you encountered using the kettle. Your remark was conveyed to the relevant department and the kettle has since been replaced.

Your comment about the restaurant is well taken. It gives us the opportunity to identify areas within our operations that need to be improved. I am pleased to share that we are implementing new changes aimed at improving the dining experience at the restaurant.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back, should you return to Hanoi in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Lekeume
Residence manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Again, the Somerset West Lake proved a great place for business travel; clean, good service, relaxing, few tourists and great value. I almost always stay here when visiting Hanoi, and if you don't like the mad-house that is the Old Quarter (and I don't), SWL offers peace and quiet. Food on first day was poor, but this seemed to be just that day.

Room Tip: Unit 129 over looks West Lake but gets some street noise. Some rooms have garden view balconies, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saigondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Dear Saigondave,

Thank you for staying with us again and for being a regular guest at Somerset Westlake Hanoi. It is great to note that your stays with us continue to meet your expectations

We very much appreciate your insights on the conveniences that Somerset Westlake offers to business travellers like you. We are delighted that you enjoyed a quiet and peaceful environment while staying with us.

Thank you once again for your continuous patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back at Somerset Westlake on your next business trip to Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Kevin Lekeume
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I spent nearly 2 months in October and November here whilst working on a technical assistance project. The weather was great which made the Westlake even more attractive with its pool and recreation area plus you can walk around the lake in either direction and enjoy the sights as much as you can in Hanoi.

The rooms are more than passable for what you pay. A long-term stay cost about $US 70 per night. Just remember it doesn't include anything except internet - so you need to buy your own soap, shampoo etc but that's no hassle.

There are few shops nearby to get basics but not much else other fruit etc are well served right on your door step.

IT's 20 minutes by taxi to the centre of the city on a good day. Hanoi is strangling etc with mopeds so the good days are getting fewer. The hotel is amazingly quiet for the traffic there is outside.

Room Tip: most rooms give you a view of westlake - the very best views are in the middle on each floor but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GregMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The property is located along the West Lake with excellent lake view. Stayed in the 1-Bedroom Deluxe apartment. Generally spacious with decent in-house amenities. Well equiped in the apartment! It is pretty near to the Old Quarters, Hoan Kiem Lake, HCM Mausoleum, Flag Tower, Temple of Literature and other attractions. All rides are usually less than 15 mins for sure. CP taxi is their supported taxi company. Transportation out to various detination with the taxi is not a problem and certainly, the fare is extremely affordable. Breakfast choice wasn't that fantastic, do not expect much. In-Room dining is pretty okay but ensure that you won't feel hungry after 10pm as they do not serve anymore food and there are no convenience stores or decent restaurants within foot walking. Only a small roadside tentage store opposite the Residence selling "Pho". The Air Heater in all rooms function well in Winter / Bathroom water heater reacts very well too. My Apartment is clean and well housekept thruout. The view was fantastic. The overall Apartment was well maintained. The area is peaceful at night as well. Wifi is great and well covered within the entire property. No problem encountered while surfing. The staffs within the property are very approachable, friendly and helpful despite of Vietnamese culture. Check in / out was done very quickly. Front desk staffs provided me with lots of good and accurate local atrraction / food / etc information. I will consider to stay with them again if I ever visit Hanoi again.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a definite better West Lake View but generally the properties is situated righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayeZhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed Here nearly 2 weeks completing the adoption of our daughter in Dec 2008. We flew to Ha Noi and took a pre-arranged shuttle to the hotel. Drive was about 25 minutes.

Check-in was fast and they took all the bags to our first room, ground floor near the back of the hotel. The street noise was bad and we could hear staff going in and out of the back door, which in some cases remained unlocked or ajar.

The next morning I went to the front desk and they move us to the third floor without hesitation. Even packed ALL our stuff and moved the bags.

We had a 2 bedroom unit that has a full kitchen with all the tools, plates etc. Two baths was nice. The master has a shower/tub combo while the other is a shower only.

I can say that the washer and dryer are a little poor. Super small capacity and it takes about 5 cycles to dry the clothes. There is a drying rack to assist.

Apartments are really pretty and housekeeping is great! Stocked the water and soda in the ice box daily.

All the employees went above and beyond during our stay and gave us some great tips and even settled an issue with a crooked cabbie.

Didn't get to use the pool since it was not warm enough, but the courtyard has a kids playground area and a gym as well.

Food in the restaurant is adequate for a quick meal but get out to other places. Normally we just ate breakfast there which was pretty good.

I know some people complain about the location, but a cheap cab ride is nothing to complain about to get to an attraction. There is a daily shuttle to the Big K like a HUUUGE department store/grocery in one.

Walk out of the hotel and you can get anything you need though on the street to the left or straight in front. We went to the local open market often for fresh cooking ingredients and similar items.

Would go back here in a heartbeat, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor apartments that butt up against the street between the West Lake. Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I use the Ascott Group (Ascott, Somerset, Citadenes) for all my business travel. This is by far their worst property in Asia and well below their normal standards.

I stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe which was good and had all the standard facilities that their other properties have. Great views over West Lake. The pool area is nice. The gym was adequate, however many of the equipment was broken. The air-conditioning in all the lifts and communal hallways is turned off, so your sweaty by the time you make it to the air-conditioned reception. There were motorbikes parked inside the reception area (which is very Vietnamese), but not exactly 4-star.

The restaurant is a restaurant in name only. The breakfast was at the same level of the most basic hotel. The service is even below the low standards you expect in Hanoi. I was instantly put off eating after watching the service staff wiping their noses on their hand then handling the food. The staff then proceeded to help themselves to the buffet and disappear for the next 30mins.

This property is not central and is only suitable for people that enjoy long taxi trips in traffic to get anywhere. There is limited shops and restaurants nearby that cater for non-Vietnamese.

Having lived in Vietnam for 8 years, I have stayed in much better properties for comparable prices. This does not deserve the Somerset name or a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gee_Erm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.5 mi away
Somerset Hoa Binh
Somerset Hoa Binh
#134 of 600 in Hanoi
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#85 of 600 in Hanoi
731 reviews
1.6 mi away
Somerset West Point Hanoi
Somerset West Point Hanoi
#230 of 600 in Hanoi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences
1.5 mi away
Diamond Westlake Suites
Diamond Westlake Suites
#123 of 600 in Hanoi
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#95 of 600 in Hanoi
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset West Lake

Address: No 254D Thuy Khue Road, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $67 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset West Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and a quiet open-air environment, you can experience high standards of Hanoi’s serviced accommodation in these spacious apartments. The ideal corporate housing for the international executive and family on project assignment or relocation. The residences are convenient for business while also being close to international schools, shopping and entertainment. The landscaped gardens and spacious apartments with a scenic view of the West Lake provide the security and comfort of private accommodations with the extensive services and facilities desired while on international assignment in Hanoi.With a lush greenery and picturesque view of the West Lake from a private balcony, terrace or compound private garden, each of the spacious apartments is elegantly decorated and fully furnished. The 90 studio, one, two and three-bedroom residences are designed with a variety of layout options so that you can choose the apartment that suits your individual needs. The slate tile and/or wooden floors in the livingareas and carpeted bedrooms, and fully-equipped kitchens provide comfortable and luxurious accommodations for international executives and familiesITailored to meet the individual need of the international executive and family while on business travel or relocation, the services and facilities are extensive and innovative. With shuttle bus services to destinations in the city, quarterly social events and residents' programmes, you can experience and enjoy the culture of Vietnam while living and enjoying Hanoi’s serviced accommodation at its best.24-hour security & receptionDaily breakfastIn-house cafeFully-equipped gymnasiumBusiness centre servicesWireless Internet (WiFi) accessOutdoor swimming pool and children's poolTelephone with IDD & voicemail facilitiesChildren's playgroundChildren's indoor playroomLaundry & dry cleaning servicesBabysitting serviceGrocery delivery serviceDoctor on-callDaily housekeeping service (except Sundays)Room serviceQuarterly social events / residents' programmesFully-equipped kitchenTelevision with satellite & cable channelsWater filtration systemMulti-split air-conditioning & heatingShuttle bus services within the city on fixed scheduleCarpark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset West Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset West Lake Hanoi
Somerset West Lake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing