We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something good needs to be said about this little place!!”

Victory  Hanoi Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victory Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #488 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
County Down, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something good needs to be said about this little place!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed here for almost a week in March and absolutely loved it. I can't believe the negative reviews on here! we stayed in 2 rooms over the course of the week (we did te halong bay cruise, which we didn't book through the hotel), and both rooms were immaculate. The cleaners and staff were extremely pleasant and very attentive. Furthermore, we were not bullied into booking any tours with them, and when they found out we had booked elsewhere, there was no change intheir attitude. For 15 usd, we also got a great room with ac, bathroom with high pressure shower, cable tv, clean towels daily, free wifi and Internet access in the lobby and a basic breakfast of eggs, baguette, tea/coffee/juice and fruit' we were very satisfied with our stay and would definitely recommend. The location in the eart of the old quarter is brilliant, and we didn't have to compromise on a good night sleep!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    6
    11
See reviews for
5
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Good location however foam mattresses, hair on the sheets from last person that stayed there, stains on the sheets, bath stained, shower head broken, no shower curtain so the toilet and bathroom floor gets soaked while you manouver a hand held shower around your body to wash yourself. No lift but staff friendly and helpful. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Cigarette pack three butts under bed no free wi fi horrible manager. Only stayed here as part of tour expensive . Avoid

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed here as part of a tour at the begiining of a Vietnam trip.

The location is the best thing about this hotel - everything is within walking distance and the train station is literally a 5 minute walk away. There is also free Wi-Fi.

Our room (205 I think) was dark and small (you could only get out of one side of the double bed), the TV didnt work, the bed sheets had little bugs in them, and the floor was very dirty (hairs and grit). The bathroom was very poor - the shower had poor pressure and there was no shower curtain so it soaked the bathroom, it also was tatty looking. The room was also noisy as the stairway was echoey and voices (and smoke) carried well.

We entrusted them with our laundry and it appeared they must ahve washed our white items with the others as they came back so badly stained that they were unwearable and we since binned them. We did get the cost of the laundry back but thats no compensationw hen you loose 2 tops on a 5 month backpacking trip.

We didnt eat breakfast at this hotel as we had read previous bad reviews.

Dont stay here. There must be better. We stayed in 2* rated hotels for the following 3 weeks and this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Ums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Spent 5 days at the Victory Booked single room told I had to share "twin share only" they said. Then when I said OK they still wouldn`t give the keys "Check-in not till 6pm". Now after a 26 hour ordeal just to get to motel in Hanoi arhhhhhhh
They even made five of us share a two bed room.
My advice is to skip this hotel, the management are only out to make as much money out of every traveler as they can. It`s to far from the old quater and the US$5 breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legendnotmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed here for one night as a starting hotel for a group trip. Was highly disappointed. Room had only internal window. Shower was part of toilet. The Aircon didn't work so there was a pedestal fan instead. Decor was old.

Went to get into bed and linen was ripped and had hair on it so slept in a sleeping bag.

Location is far from the Old quarter but close to Hanoi Railway station and the street that this hotel is in is not the best.

On the plus side the man who runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

For not much more (under 10 USD more) you can get a much better hotel with clean rooms, better location.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WynChil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This is a two star establishment. Great location if you want to be close to the train station. 20ish minute walk to the old quarter.
You get what you pay for here. Rooms are clean, basic and adequate, good aircon and TV. Breakfast is a good choice of hot/cold choices. Reception staff are friendly and happy to answer questions. No luxury at all.
A little noisy in our room as there is a karaoke bar open till all hours somewhere close by, but then again Hanoi is typical of Vietnamese cities....traffic noise non stop.....
We stayed as a meeting point for a tour, convenient.

  • Liked — Basic, clean, good value for money.
  • Disliked — Not very close to the old quarter, a little noisy.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sleepingfusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hanoi Hotel

Property: Victory Hanoi Hotel
Address: 15 Nguyen Nhu Do Street, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #488 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Victory Hanoi Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Also Known As:
Victory Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing