We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lake view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Morning Hotel
Ranked #180 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here with our two kids, 11 and 13 years old. The location is perfect, the staff very friendly and helpfull and the room is clean and although in the city centre not too noisy. And the lakeview from our room and especially from our breakfast table is superb!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Liesbeth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, Manager at Hanoi Morning Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam

Thank you very much for your choosing Morning Star hotel.

Besides you have spend time to write a feedback about our hotel! It is highly appreciated.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoy our room and send your beautiful words to all hotel staffs.

We do hope to welcome you again to our hotel as the most important guests.

Please send the best wishes to your family

Thank you again and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had previous been staying in another near by hotel and while out and about one day we discovered how much further our money can go in Hanoi.

The Morning Star is a nice family run hotel. We requested two rooms on the same floor, 1 double and 1 twin. They were able to give us the two rooms on the top floor. The twin room has the lake view at the front of the hotel.

Each room is large and clean.

The lift was quite quick.

The staff at reception were very helpful. Even before we had checked in, they booked us on our tour and saved us 10% off the lowest price we had received anywhere else.

While away on our Halong tour they continued to look after our baggage.

The breakfast is prepared and served on the top floor over looking the lake. Pleasant and quiet surroundings. The menu is a choice of west and east. What is served each day does vary even for the same item. The juices were fresh prepared each day.

Internet access is via the two PCs in the foyer. Free wifi is available on each floor.

I was impressed with the honesty of the operators. One of the western guests was seeking permission to illegally invite a VN citizen to spend the night in his room. The owner sorted this situation out and the law was not broken. With this level of honesty by the operators I believe that this hotel will prosper and be the type of place families can stay without being exposed to seedy Hanoi.

The hotel isn't perfect but it is inline with expectations for USD40 per night inc breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YingYang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My son and I stayed in this welcoming hotel. It has a great location, near the lake but turn the corner and you are in the madness of the old quarter. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The breakfast room has a beautiful view of the lake and it is a delicious way to start the day.
My son and I felt we had a temporary home /retreat in Hanoi. It really is a great hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed at the Morning Star Hotel for almost 3 months. The staff are warm and fun and helpful. Manh who is there daily at the desk is a wonderful person who can not do enough for you. Chien and Lan-anh are the 2 house keepers and they keep the rooms spotless and are a delight. It's in a wonderful location, in a small and charming alley and less than a minute from the lake and in the Old Quarter. There's great coffee lakeside and there are turtles. The best rooms are the front ones with balconies. Breakfasts serve a great ga pho and fresh fruit. It has a comfortable and relaxed feel and you can be friendly back or keep to yourself. I'd go back and stay any time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Staff is perfect but less choice of menu for breakfast

Room Tip: Staff are excellence but the breakfast is less choice of menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napasorn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed already 3 times at this Hotel (for business purposes) and found it quite excellent (for its price; my business is about education and our budgets are tight; so do not compare this to any of the posh hotels you will also find in Hanoi but at high cost). The hotel is very central and next door to the old quarter, the central lake, and the Water Puppet theater. Rooms are large, with all the necessary amenities, and Internet is free (wifi) and works ! Breakfast is on the top floor, with a nice view, and with an interesting mix of Vietnamese dishes. People are very friendly and efficient. I'll certainly stay there next time I come to Hanoi for similar business.
Just one word of caution: as the lake is nearby, be prepared to we awakened by 6:30 am with music and shouts of Hanoi youth making early Taishi exercises. Get down and go along with them is you can !

Room Tip: There is no real business center, but free access to computers and printers at the reception, and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptulkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have just returned from a three week holiday visiting a friend who is working in Hanoi. We spent a lot of time at The Morning Star Hotel and felt very comfortable there. We used it as our base and returned twice after exploring other parts of Vietnam.The second time we returned was at 4am in the morning after getting off the train from Danang. We hadn't realised we'd get in so early. Our first thought when the taxi driver asked us where did we want to go, was the Morning Star.The night porter was very kind and let us in even though we had booked for the following night, not that morning. Manh and Tu were very helpful on the reception desk and both speak English well. They were able to solve all of our problems and organised a trip to Halong Bay and taxi rides to the airport. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are cleaned very well. I would stay there again when I return to Vietnam.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Lakeside Palace Hotel
Lakeside Palace Hotel
#209 of 607 in Hanoi
20 reviews
0 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#164 of 607 in Hanoi
138 reviews
0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#121 of 607 in Hanoi
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
#78 of 607 in Hanoi
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#188 of 607 in Hanoi
220 reviews
0 mi away
Gondola Hotel
Gondola Hotel
#116 of 607 in Hanoi
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Morning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Morning Hotel

Address: No. 10 Hang Hanh Street, Hoan Kiem District | No. 10 Hang Hanh Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 0844, Vietnam (Formerly Morning Star Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $31 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Morning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Morning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morning Star Hanoi
Hotel Morning Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing