We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the longer the better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Morning Hotel
Ranked #207 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“the longer the better”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed at the Morning Star Hotel for almost 3 months. The staff are warm and fun and helpful. Manh who is there daily at the desk is a wonderful person who can not do enough for you. Chien and Lan-anh are the 2 house keepers and they keep the rooms spotless and are a delight. It's in a wonderful location, in a small and charming alley and less than a minute from the lake and in the Old Quarter. There's great coffee lakeside and there are turtles. The best rooms are the front ones with balconies. Breakfasts serve a great ga pho and fresh fruit. It has a comfortable and relaxed feel and you can be friendly back or keep to yourself. I'd go back and stay any time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    35
    16
    14
    6
See reviews for
18
51
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Staff is perfect but less choice of menu for breakfast

Room Tip: Staff are excellence but the breakfast is less choice of menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napasorn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed already 3 times at this Hotel (for business purposes) and found it quite excellent (for its price; my business is about education and our budgets are tight; so do not compare this to any of the posh hotels you will also find in Hanoi but at high cost). The hotel is very central and next door to the old quarter, the central lake, and the Water Puppet theater. Rooms are large, with all the necessary amenities, and Internet is free (wifi) and works ! Breakfast is on the top floor, with a nice view, and with an interesting mix of Vietnamese dishes. People are very friendly and efficient. I'll certainly stay there next time I come to Hanoi for similar business.
Just one word of caution: as the lake is nearby, be prepared to we awakened by 6:30 am with music and shouts of Hanoi youth making early Taishi exercises. Get down and go along with them is you can !

Room Tip: There is no real business center, but free access to computers and printers at the reception, and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptulkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have just returned from a three week holiday visiting a friend who is working in Hanoi. We spent a lot of time at The Morning Star Hotel and felt very comfortable there. We used it as our base and returned twice after exploring other parts of Vietnam.The second time we returned was at 4am in the morning after getting off the train from Danang. We hadn't realised we'd get in so early. Our first thought when the taxi driver asked us where did we want to go, was the Morning Star.The night porter was very kind and let us in even though we had booked for the following night, not that morning. Manh and Tu were very helpful on the reception desk and both speak English well. They were able to solve all of our problems and organised a trip to Halong Bay and taxi rides to the airport. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are cleaned very well. I would stay there again when I return to Vietnam.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The staffs especially Phong and Huyen are very friendly and they accommodated us very warmly. The hotel is near the Sword Lake and is accessible to all shopping and eating spots. The rooms are very clean and we didn't have any problem at all. We would like to back to this wonderful place in Hanoi and stay again in Morning Star Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maridann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Typically good service and helpful family hotel. Location on Hang Hanh is very good, but can be noisy. Construction in the street and area can be noisy at night, but that is the case anywhere in Hanoi. Breakfast area is standard but with nice lake view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Subbuteo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We arrived at this hotel around 6am without a booking. That was no problem to the manager Manh who checked us in and the porter Binh who showed us to a room. We initially booked for one night but on experiencing the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff, extended to four nights. I should also compliment the hotel receptionist who greeted us at breakfast each morning and helped with general tour information during our stay. The staff arranged for local transport and directed us to nearby restaurants that demonstrated not only a good knowledge of the district but also a level of care for the guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mallynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Lakeside Hotel
Golden Lakeside Hotel
#294 of 588 in Hanoi
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#453 of 588 in Hanoi
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#109 of 588 in Hanoi
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gondola Hotel
Gondola Hotel
#95 of 588 in Hanoi
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#139 of 588 in Hanoi
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#148 of 588 in Hanoi
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Morning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Morning Hotel

Property: Hanoi Morning Hotel
Address: No. 10 Hang Hanh Street, Hoan Kiem District | No. 10 Hang Hanh Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 0844, Vietnam (Formerly Morning Star Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Morning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hanoi Morning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morning Star Hanoi
Hotel Morning Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing