We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel in the heart of the old quarter”
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #161 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel in the heart of the old quarter”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you want budget in a great location with attention to detail and fantastic staff this is the place. We had booked a standard but after reading other Trip Advisor posts asked to upgrade to a superior room with a window, they gave us room 301 at the front with double glazing so we didn't hear the street noise and didn't charge us for the upgrade which was fabulous. The windows overlooks the park and its great for people watching. Breakfast was yummy especially the Hanoi Pho. We wanted to do a city tour and a day trip to the perfume Pagoda and the hotel organised it all with a great company. Wow what a find we will definitely recommend Anise to friends and stay there next time we are in Hanoi.

Room Tip: We had booked a standard but after reading other Trip Advisor posts asked to upgrade to a superior r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear our valued guest,
On behalf of Anise Hotel Management and staffs, I would like to thank you for choosing us and thanks for taking your time to share your comments regarding to your recent staying in our hotel. Please be informed that your comments are really important for us and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will find an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With my warm regards,
Phan Luong/Mrs
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    224
    95
    10
    10
See reviews for
56
271
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Room, bed, breakfast, staff were all good. Location a bit grungy, and no restaurants close. Didnt eat dinner at restaurant. A 15min walk to old quarter food St, Ma May. Look for Newday restaurant, the best and cheapest in Mamay St. Hotel arranged private Airport transfer for $18USD

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaPinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Anise Hotel Hanoi. We appreciate and consider your comments. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We would like to share some information related with your comments. Please be informed that there are many nice restaurants nearby the hotel, just around 5 minutes walk down from the hotel is the Season of Hanoi restaurant, it is very professional in Vietnamese food, with the same distant but walk through the street opposite to the hotel is the Quan Ngon restaurant where you could found it like a Vietnamese Food Market. Next time please ask our receptionist for recommendation and direction detail.
We wish to welcoming you back to Anise Hotel Hanoi in the near future
With my best regards,

Phan Luong
Hotel Manager
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

An extensive spread was provided at breakfast which could be enjoyed with grand views of the city from the 11th floor. The breakfast staff were highly attentive. My standard room was pretty standard; a view re-enforced by a sneak look into the delux room next door. The hotel has a small gym which I found useful. It also has a couple of computers for use free of charge that I found invaluable. The hotel is on a busy road but being on high floor will mean that you escape from the noise. It is about a 15/20 minute walk through the old quarter to the lake in the city centre. My word of caution would be in booking tours through the hotel - the reception staff are very good at "selling" the tours, but going directly to the office (APT Travel, 5 Hang Chieu Street) of the same tour company that they use saved me a third of the price that the hotel were going to charge. The tour company itself is very good with high quality tour buses (comfy seats and effective air conditioning), though the guides vary a little (I went on two tours one with a good guide and one where the guide did not say very much). The other caution is about currency, I had some money to pay when I left (for one of the tours and the taxi from the airport - $20) and even though I said I wanted to pay in Vietnam Dong, the receptionist charged my card with American Dollars.

So all in all, consider going for a double delux room, do not book tours through the hotel and careful about currency.

Room Tip: Have a look at the delux rooms, the standard room through expedia was just OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 934AJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear our valued guest,
Warmly regards from Anise Hotel Hanoi. We thank you very much for preferring Anise Hotel and sharing your experiences. We believe that the experiences of our guests reflect the quality of our services. Regarding to the currency charging from your credit card, I would like to explain that we could charge both Vietnam Dong or USD by the bank merchant machine, it is no difference between VND or USD cause the bank will apply the exchange rate at the charging time. There could be a misunderstanding of the receptonist that she took USD not VND as your order, please accept our sincere apologize for the inconvenience caused. We wish that we will have the honour of welcoming you again at Anise Hotel Hanoi.
Sincerely Yours,

Luong Thi Phan/Ms.
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very nice hotel, within walking range from the city center. Street is a bit busy, however, it had no influence to our sleep. Rooms are clean and nicely furbished, Restaurant is on the top floor, and provides not only great choice of food, but also a spectacular view of the city. If you want a modern staying in Hanoi, without any problems (staff is very helpful, speaks English very well) take it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexAndic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear our valued Guest,
It's always our pleasure to serve you at Anise Hotel Hanoi. I would like to thank you for taking time to share your staying experiences. Wishing that we will find an opportunity to welcoming you back to Anise Hotel Hanoi soon.
Best Regards

Luong Thi Phan/Ms
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for six days and were very happy with the hotel. The staff was especially helpful. The hotel is located within walking distance of old Hanoi, which made shopping and eating there very convenient. The hotel is located on a very busy street, something it shares with many, many hotels and businesses in Hanoi. However, the windows kept most of the noise out and we had little difficulty sleeping. I plan to return to Hanoi next year and will ask my travel agent to book us a room again at the Anise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcmaione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear our valued Guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi.
It was our pleasure and honor to welcome you at Anise Hotel, I would like to thank you for your choice and great comments. Wishing that we will welcome you again soon, please feel free to get in touch with us if you need any information related with our hotel or Hanoi.
Best regards,
Luong Thi Phan/Ms
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Anise is similar to a number of hotels we saw in Hanoi. Frontage on the street is at a premium in Hanoi and so The Anise is narrow, tall and goes back off the street, which could be important (see tip). We stayed in room 301, which was perfect for us. A good size with a nice bathroom, although for some reason the bath/shower is elevated off the floor. So unless you want to recreate a scene from The Life of Brian, you'll need to draw the blind at the window next to the bath, before you get in. I can also see getting in the bath/shower being difficult for those who are infirm as there was no hand rail to help you. That said our 3 days at the hotel were great as the location is good to see many of the attractions with Tran quoc, Ho Tay lake, The Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem lake and Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum all nearby. The bar is situated on the ground floor and has daily drink and food offers. It has air con and a flat screen TV. The barman was very helpful and managed to hook up his own laptop with the TV for us to watch the sport. Reception is on the first floor above the bar and is spotless, with very friendly staff. If you fancy a massage whilst in Hanoi, check out the spa recommended by the hotel (cards are at the side of reception), which is located around the corner from the hotel about a 5 minute walk. As a guest you get a discount and it a nice relaxing way to finish the day after a lot of walking. Breakfast is really good and of the buffet, help your self style. You can get pretty much anything and it certainly sets you up for the day. I suspect there are a number of hotels of a similar standard to The Anise, but I also suspect that there are many a lot worse. I can't say anything on the cost as we stayed here as part of a Tour, but having learned a little about Vietnam, I cannot imagine it being overly expensive.

Room Tip: If you like to have a lie in, then I'd definitely look to book a room to the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Major_Jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear our valued guest,
I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of our management to thank you for choosing Anise Hotel Hanoi for your stay in Hanoi, Vietnam, and sincerely thank you for sharing your experience related to our hotel facilities, services and staffs, it is very detail and valuable. Please be informed that our team pays high attention to supply the best service to our guests and your comments are very valuable. Wishing that we will find the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Luong Thi Phan/Ms
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerwys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellently placed in walking distance of the main sites. The deluxe rooms are much bigger and worth going for. Breakfast was ok and the dining room had good views - coffee not to our taste. Nice little bar under reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Samo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Sir, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anise Hotel & sharing your experiences at Tripadvisor.com. Our management is always paying high attention to the experiences of our guests in order to supply the best service. We hope to welcome you again at Anise Hotel.
Best Regards,
Luong Thi Phan/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
0.3 mi away
La Belle Vie Hotel
La Belle Vie Hotel
#140 of 586 in Hanoi
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#90 of 586 in Hanoi
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#283 of 586 in Hanoi
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#59 of 586 in Hanoi
1,863 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parkside Sunline Hotel
Parkside Sunline Hotel
#200 of 586 in Hanoi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 22 Quan Thanh street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of 3* standard, located at the corner of Hanoi Old quarter, 10 minutes walk from the Hoan Kiem lake, overlooking Hang Dau Park. With 42 well appointed high standard rooms. All guest rooms provide international standards of comfort and amenities featuring Asian contemporary décor. All room have individually controlled air-conditioning, WIFI, Cable TV offering a wide range of channels and languages, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath and shaving outlet. The hotel with full services of Business centre, Concierge, Cashiering, Travel desk, Bar & Restaurant, Gymnasium, We ensure you the best comfortable and services while staying with us either on business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing