We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, great breakfast, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #166 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely staff, great breakfast, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I were there for only 1 night, being picked up at Hanoi Airport by the hotels car transfer service. The room was lovely, big & very comfortable. The included buffet breakfast was the best one i has come across in 2 weeks in my trip! The staff were very sweet, helpful and English was ok. The location is great - nice and close to the action, but not right in the centre of it. I was able to watch the locals play badminton & do their aerobics in the park across the road in the evenings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi,
On behalf of Anise Hotel management and staffs, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your leisure trip in Hanoi, it was our pleasure of serving you and having your kindly positive comment in Tripadvisor.com. Your comments will be shared with our team members, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Anise Hotel Hanoi perfectly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Anise Hotel Hanoi in the near future.
With my best regards,
Phan Luong/Ms
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    223
    93
    10
    10
See reviews for
54
269
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived late after 3 flights from Scotland and were greeted by very friendly, welcoming staff who kindly offered us a room on the 9th floor as I had requested a quiet room.
The king size bed was very comfortable and the room had everything we needed.
Breakfast was good and overall we were very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and I think we were given room 911 which was very comfortable and well equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annepharm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi,
Thank you for staying with us during your leisure trip in Vietnam, it was our both pleasant and honor of serving and to having your very kind comment on Tripadvisor.com. We wish to welcoming you back to Anise Hotel Hanoi in the very near future.
With my best regards,

Phan Luong/Ms.
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

we stopped at the Anise hotel for 5 nights ( 5th - 10th November 2012 ) As we walked into the hotel for the 1st time the smiles and warm welcome we got from all of the staff, we knew it was going to be the best time ever ! They could not help us enough from advice on where to go and things to do in Hanoi as it was our 1st visit . The hotel was very clean , we had a room at the back and was impressed with the size and facilities and again the cleanliness ( A relaxing retreat after days/nights out in a very busy Hanoi ) The Hotel even sorted out our 2 day 1 night trip to Halong bay for a cruise and the price was hard to beat . The breakfast in the hotel was nice with a good choice of hot and cold food and the views whilst eating was impressive as the restaurant is at the top of the hotel with 360 degree views of Hanoi . The hotel is in the old Quarter and there is lots of places to eat and drink ( Beer street is only a 10 minute walk away and also has nice local food available too ) again it was the staff who told us how to get there . so if you want to go anywhere dont be afraid to ask as local knowledge can save you lots of time . Also the bar downstairs is a lovely place to sit relax with a cool drink and watch the fast pace of Hanoi outside go by . We will hopefully be coming back in 2013 and The Anise Hotel will be the place for us to stay again .

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi!
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Anise Hotel Hanoi. We highly appreciate and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be shared with our team members, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Anise Hotel Hanoi perfectly.
We wish to welcoming you and your wife back to Anise Hotel Hanoi in the very near future.
With my best regards,

Phan Luong/Ms
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Neither of us are good at sleeping on planes so to be able to fall into the luxury king size bed in our [complimentary upgrade] suite on the 10th floor of the Anise was pure bliss! Yes, you are serenaded morning, noon and night by scooter and car horns - the double glazing can deaden it but not remove it completely - but in that part of town I think it is the natural background sound.

The restaurant / cafe / bar is on the 11th floor and has big picture windows overlooking the city but unfortunately no roof terrace where you can sit outside.

Hotel location is on the top edge of the old quarter with the lake and the french quarter to the SSE. In distance terms all very accessible. Walking there - or should I say, crossing the roads - takes a little longer than you might expect! Not many times you get to a country / city and need a lesson on how to cross a road, but here...

Room Tip: We were in 10 01 - high enough for the honking of horns to be background noise. Another reviewer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SarahPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear our valued guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi!
I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of our management to thank you for choosing Anise Hotel Hanoi for your stay in Hanoi, Vietnam. Please be informed that we pay high attention to supply the best service to our guests and your comments are very valuable. Hoping that we will find the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With my best regards,

Phan Luong
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived in the late evening so didnt intend exploring when we got there,the room allocated was a twin "deluxe" with a small window not much of a view and compact i was disappointed to be honest as it was on the 10th floor we got woken at 6 by the restaurant noise which was on the 11th floor just above us as a result we complained about it and the nice receptionist apologised and upgraded us to a front facing room which she said was quiet
This room was much nicer,bigger and had a view of the park but i wondered due to other reviews if it would be quiet! it wasnt due to the early morning exercise music in the park at 6! as a result we had to use earplugs to get some sleep but the room was much nicer
the breakfast was nice with good views from the restaurant,we also had snacks downstairs in the bar which were also very good,we found the staff to be friendly and helpful,the traffic in Hanoi is crazy the hotel is 15 minutes from sword lake which we enjoyed going to but just getting there is daunting! the old quarter is very interesting just wondering around,but we ate mostly around the lake area where there was a good selection with good views overlooking the lake.
we did have one problem though we had booked transfers from the hotel and requested transfers both ways and thought the price quoted was for both ways as the hotel stated this was "all in " and they would add it to our bil!l on arrival at the airport after our stay we faced an angry taxi driver demanding to be paid he couldnt understand when we said he'd been paid by the hotel? luckily a passer by translated for us and rang the hotel who said we had just paid for one way! by chance we had enough dollars and dong to pay him and he was happy enough
with hindsight we did think $20 was good value but it was our first trip to hanoi! it was the "all in" bit that confused things so we think the hotel should make this clearer to avoid it happening again but it did cause us some unecessary stress!

Room Tip: resataurant noise can be heard on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaNottsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear our valued Guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi!
We would like to thank you both for your preference and sharing your experience related with our hotel, services and staff. We care all the comments received from our guests in order to supply the best services and facilities. Regarding to the taxi cost that you mentioned, I would like to explain that the airport pick up service cost was clearly typing USD20.00/way on the first email to you. Anyhow, we will focus on your kind comment to retrain the concerned staff.
Please accept our sincerly appologize for all related confusion and inconvenience caused to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With my best regards,

Phan Luong
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Anise hotel has a good location to stay in Hanoi if you have time to explore the old quarter. It's just about 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to Sword Lake - center of the city. The disadvantage of the hotel is they dont have a parking lot for motobike so when we hired a bike we find it difficult to find a place to leave a bike when we stayed overnight at Anise hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phuonglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear our valued guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Anise Hotel Hanoi. We appreciate and consider your comments. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We would like to share some information related with your comments. Please be informed that we have a room on the ground floor, just behind the coffee shop that is convenience to stored the motorbike and bicycle for our in-house guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anise Hotel Hanoi in the near future.
With my best regards,
Phan Luong
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from Vietnam on honeymoon and stayed here. It looks quite small from the outside but the rooms are spacious and modern - we loved the sparkly bath!! We had previously read reviews about the noise when staying at the front of the hotel however we had no issues at all and Hanoi is a noisey place after all. Breakfast was good and the service good - they looked after our bags during our trip to Halong Bay. When we returned we had a room with a balcony which was nice. We enjoyed the location as we ate in the Old Quarter each night however its about a 15 minute walk to the lake area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi!
I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your comments regarding to your stay in our hotel. Please be informed that your comments are really important for us and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We wish to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With our best regards
Phan Luong
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#45 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Belle Vie Hotel
La Belle Vie Hotel
#148 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Hanoi
Eco Hotel Hanoi
#191 of 579 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon View 2 Hotel
Moon View 2 Hotel
#239 of 579 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#223 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 22 Quan Thanh street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of 3* standard, located at the corner of Hanoi Old quarter, 10 minutes walk from the Hoan Kiem lake, overlooking Hang Dau Park. With 42 well appointed high standard rooms. All guest rooms provide international standards of comfort and amenities featuring Asian contemporary décor. All room have individually controlled air-conditioning, WIFI, Cable TV offering a wide range of channels and languages, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath and shaving outlet. The hotel with full services of Business centre, Concierge, Cashiering, Travel desk, Bar & Restaurant, Gymnasium, We ensure you the best comfortable and services while staying with us either on business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing