We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic French Interior, very beautiful indeed!”
Review of The Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tourist Hotel
Ranked #422 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed here for two nights. Although the interior looks old and the bathroom too. It's a beautiful hotel. The room costs $20.00 with free mini buffet breakfast for 2. The room has air condition, a mini ref, hot shower and cable tv.

The staff are helpful and they could arrange a trip to Halong Bay at a reasonable price. They also have their own coaster van to take you to the airport at a price of $12.00.

I highly recommend this hotel for travellers who would like to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cholon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2009

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past three years. We have done a number of tours with Vietnam Open Tour and they booked us in this hotel.
It is reputedly the highest building in the Old Quarter. Located a few hundred metres from the lake and attractions such as the Water Puppets. Local shopping and markets all around. No shortage of restaurants.
Rooms are fairly basic but always clean. Mini bar, cable TV. Free internet in the lobby. Lift/elevator available.
Good breakfast, have just changed to a buffet setup which is an improvement. Staff can book tours etc.
Take time to talk to the Canadian lady who has taken up residence, she was so impressed with the staff that she came back to stay.
All in all; Good location, nice staff, reasonable tariff.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joffa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

I came to Hanoi on a 6 day holiday and booked the Classic 2 Hotel on line. When I arrived at 10 am my room wasn't ready but I left my bag and walked around the Old Quarters for 1 hour and my room was ready at 11 am. I was very impressed with my room, it was huge and had a huge double bed and a huge bathroom. It was clean and a huge bonus was a computer in the room with 24/7 Internet access free of charge. Also free of charge was 4 pieces of fruit and a bag of chips daily. My room was on the third level and I found the stairs difficult (no lift) so I asked for a room on the first level which I got. Breakfast was included and the restaurant was small but nice and the breakfast was Ok. Breadroll, ham, tomatoe, different kinds of eggs could be ordered as well as coffee and tea. The staff were friendly and helpful and treated me to a New Years party in the lobby on the Lunar New year eve 26 January 2009. That the Classic 2 Hotel is right in the middle of The Old Quarters is very convenient. I also booked all my tours with the friendly staff at the hotel and I was very satisfied with the help and advice I received to make my tours pleasant and interesting. I was very happy with my stay at Classic 2 Hotel and I would stay there again. The price is reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tovevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I was pretty satisfied with this hotel. The room I got was clean and above average compared to the other places I stayed in Vietnam. Of course, the price was slightly higher ($20/single/night). But that cost was reflected by the complimentary fruits and chips, and computer in the room. The breakfast buffet was simple but still more than what I've been getting at other hostels. There werebaguettes, jam, butter, fruits, coffee, spring rolls, noodles, stir fried veges. You could also order eggs to your likeing (fried, omelette, scrambled).

The only complaint I had was that my room didn't have a window. Well, it did, but the window overlooked the wall of another building (you could literally touch the wall of the other building through the window). If sunlight in the morning is imperative to you (as it is for me), make sure you ask for a room in the upper floors!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gwynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Our room was not yet ready when we arrived, so we dropped our bags and they told us it would be cleaned. When we returned, there was a blood stain in the tub, and hair and dirt all over the shower curtain. And the floor in the room itself was still dirty.

The staff was only helpful to the point that they could profit from it. At first they tried to avoid giving us information about vans to the airport, so that we would buy a taxi radi from them. Later, when we had convinced them that we would not take a taxi, they gave us the wrong van timetable and my friend almost missed her flight.

And the breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank iamherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine_hotel_group, Manager at The Tourist Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2008

After the house-keeping clean a room, our front desk staff will check to make sure it is cleaned before let our customers check-in. I am surely say that our staff are very friendly and helpful and they have never had bad action as you said. Please check again if you have stayed in a right hotel because our hotel is quite popular in Hanoi so taxi driver usually bring you to another hotel but still tell you that is Classic hotel and that hotel staff even sometime make a copy name and stick on their hotel's door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

I stayed for five nights at the Classic 2 while travelling in and around the north of Vietnam. I booked a deluxe room which was huge and really beautifully decorated with high ceilings and heavy teak furniture. It also had a big balcony overlooking the admittedly noisy street. The staff at the hotel were really nice and always helpful. Anytime a problem did arise, (the cable tv went at one stage), they sent someone up immediately to fix the problem. Overall I found the hotel really good and much better than alot of the other hotels in the old quarter. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank travellingdali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stayed here for our time in Hanoi and were rapt with the place. The staff were very friendly and nice. Rooms were large and clean. The tour booking service in the foyer was spot on. They organised our Halong Bay and Tam Coc tours as well as transfers to Hue and accom in Hue.

Going back to Vietnam and staying there again.

Location in the Old Quarter was great. 50m to the Bier Hoi corner!

Stayed: December 2006
5  Thank HawksMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
4.9 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#221 of 607 in Hanoi
216 reviews
5.2 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#193 of 607 in Hanoi
225 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#212 of 607 in Hanoi
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#317 of 607 in Hanoi
195 reviews
5 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#155 of 607 in Hanoi
352 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel
#303 of 607 in Hanoi
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tourist Hotel

Address: 49 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hang Buom, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $14 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tourist Hotel, a new beautiful Oriental downtown hotel in Hanoi, blends oriental luxury accommodations with intuitive service. Discover the many fun touches setting us far, far apart from the other boutique hotels in the Old Quarter neighborhood of Hanoi. At the ideally location, nestled between the 36 Hanoi Old Street and the center of Hanoi Tourist attraction, the Marriotte hotel offers guests a true city experience without the hassle. Our guests can enjoy most of famous attractions just close by the hotel, such as: Hoan Kiem Lake (2 minute-walking); discover the Opera House, Water Puppet Theater, Ho Chi Minh Memorial Complex, the War Museum, and Temple of Literature; look for bargains at the Dong Xuan Market and experience shopping in the bustling atmosphere of the Old Quarter or spending the afternoon strolling along the shores of nearby lakes.The tourist hotel is Hanoi Old Quarter's luxury boutique hotel featuring 16 uniquely lavish designed with oriental stylish. Located in the heart of the Old Quarter, being close to all famous attractions and near to all travel hot spots, the tourist Hotel provides all the comforts of home whether you're traveling for business, for pleasure, or for both. The tourist offers guests a true outlet to relieve the stresses of life.Just let our engaging staff know what you'd like to do or see, eat or drink, what you need in your room for work or play, or how you'd like to spend your time in Hanoi-----, and we'll handle the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic 2 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing