We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and cheap motel”
Review of The Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tourist Hotel
Ranked #449 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice clean and cheap motel”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Included breakfast with a few options to choose from. The staff were quite friendly and even upgraded us to a quieter room the second night. When booking ask to sleep facing off the street as it is busy and horns are going all night! Would stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank withers675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    9
    2
    11
See reviews for
7
25
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

this hotel is very good
pro
-valuable price
-good location
-friendly receptionist
-near market
-near a nice crossroad with cheap beers

con
-no elevator, use stair only

if i have a chance to go to Hanoi again, i'll choose Hanoi Marriotte Hotel first!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgwbsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed in a few hotels along this strip of the Old Quarter. Hanoi Marriotte Hotel is clean, quiet and the staff are lovely. They will do whatever possible to make you feel more comfortable at the hotel, and happily organise a good tour for you. I will definitely be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Me,my sister,her daughter and kids stayed at Marriotte Hotel,located at the old quater area when we went to visit Hanoi last Oct 2012.We stayed for a week.We enjoyed our stay there as we find all the staff were so warm,kind and so friendly.We stayed in a family room,clean with a balcony.Every morning we go to the balcony and wait for the fruit vendors to pass by:)Also this hotel is very near to all the souvenir shops...we would love to stay again in this hotel when we visit Hanoi again someday:):)

Room Tip: Choose a room with the balcony...you will enjoy it:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent hotel, I agree with the previous reviews. We stayed there for 2 nights. They offered to us a larger and quite luxurious room at a very discounted price. As in many other places in Vietnam, the quality of the accomodation is up to western standards, and in this case absolutely above western average. The personnel is very kind (in particular the guy at the reception, Luke, and the hotel manager) and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, served with great care. They were also very kind in helping us in getting in touch with somebody we needed to contact, and in the last day they offered to us to take a shower after we went around for the whole day leaving the baggage at the hotel. Really excellent hotel and service, congrats.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boninh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

An excellent hotel group in Hanoi. Lovely rooms. Great staff, very helpful and will do anything to make you happy! We would highly recommend. One of the best hotels we stayed in during our 3 week trip in Vietnam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VU H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

“Wonderful staffs makes an excellent stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2012
My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Classic 2 hotel,Now changed the new name "Marriotte Hotel" while we were in Hanoi. This boutique hotel is situated in the Old Quarter, which makes it really convenient. Rooms were very clean and self sufficient.

When we first got there, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel's staffs (who were hiding in our room with balloons decor and cake, and even upgraded us to a Honeymoon suite for a night when they got to know of our wedding anniversary. I must say that it was really sweet and so thoughtful of them to do this. The streets of Hanoi were always packed with scooters and it was always quite stressful crossing streets, but whenever we reached the hotel after a day, we always felt so happy. The staffs remember your name, every single one of them greeted you with a smile and you felt like you've come home. There are many hotels in Old Quarter, but Marriotte Hotel truly distinguishes themselves with their service.

Thanks to Kate - for helping us to book many many reservations even though we kept troubling her with many emails and which she so gladly assisted.

Thanks to Mary - For the recommendations on food and coffee. The pho at No. 49 is delicious!

Thanks to all the bell boys and front desk managers whom we did not get your names - You guys truly make our stay a very memorable one. Thanks to Mr Khanh Manager of hotel

Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#470 of 586 in Hanoi
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#193 of 586 in Hanoi
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Wings II Hotel
Golden Wings II Hotel
#479 of 586 in Hanoi
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#128 of 586 in Hanoi
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#180 of 586 in Hanoi
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#169 of 586 in Hanoi
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tourist Hotel

Property: The Tourist Hotel
Address: 49 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hang Buom, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#121 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tourist Hotel, a new beautiful Oriental downtown hotel in Hanoi, blends oriental luxury accommodations with intuitive service. Discover the many fun touches setting us far, far apart from the other boutique hotels in the Old Quarter neighborhood of Hanoi. At the ideally location, nestled between the 36 Hanoi Old Street and the center of Hanoi Tourist attraction, the Marriotte hotel offers guests a true city experience without the hassle. Our guests can enjoy most of famous attractions just close by the hotel, such as: Hoan Kiem Lake (2 minute-walking); discover the Opera House, Water Puppet Theater, Ho Chi Minh Memorial Complex, the War Museum, and Temple of Literature; look for bargains at the Dong Xuan Market and experience shopping in the bustling atmosphere of the Old Quarter or spending the afternoon strolling along the shores of nearby lakes.The tourist hotel is Hanoi Old Quarter's luxury boutique hotel featuring 16 uniquely lavish designed with oriental stylish. Located in the heart of the Old Quarter, being close to all famous attractions and near to all travel hot spots, the tourist Hotel provides all the comforts of home whether you're traveling for business, for pleasure, or for both. The tourist offers guests a true outlet to relieve the stresses of life.Just let our engaging staff know what you'd like to do or see, eat or drink, what you need in your room for work or play, or how you'd like to spend your time in Hanoi-----, and we'll handle the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic 2 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing