We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I arrived the next day, and sure enough”
Review of Duc Thai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duc Thai Hotel
Ranked #292 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to go to Halong Bay for one night. We left our luggage with the hotel, just as I have done many times in my life. Just before leaving, I put my iphone in my bag. I arrived the next day, and sure enough, the iphone had disappeared. I usually hate blaming other people in these situations, but I am positive it was taken by someone on the staff. The lone bright spot of this hotel was that one of the bellboys seemed to feel really about about my phone, and offered to help find me a new one in Hanoi.

If you are looking for a shower with lots of warm water, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meloncararo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed in the hotel during Christmas and New Year Holiday and we were surprise with a little new year party in the midnight of the 31th Dec 2010. The staff there are very friendly and helpful, and also the tours were organized perfectly. Size of rooms are big enough for 3 people and very clean. The only downfall is the water pressure is too low to take shower sometimes.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokling_then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Conviniently located, our room was comfortable and roomy. All the staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpfull. We stayed for sixteen nights and felt like being at home. I will always stay in the Duc Thai when visiting Hanoi. can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrijuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed in the Duc Thai hotel as part of a wedding party for one week in early October.
Our group received excellent service from Tom and his staff.

The hotel is in a great location, and you can easily walk to key attractions in Hanoi. We organised two tours through the hotel, both enjoyable, particularly the one day trip to the Perfume Pagoda.

We can recommend this hotel for those wishing to stay in clean, centrally located premises without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I stayed in the hotel in July and August. I apreciate the stuff and Tom, all where kind, and ready to give advises, and arange diferent things, including visa extension. Prices i would say and arrangments are the best i saw, especial ratio: quality to price Rooms are big, and clean, breakfast is ok, there are computers with internet. i would say aranging anything by the hotel is safe, good, and trustworthy. In general I was happy and satisfied with my stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomaz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hotel is ok. Good location, and decent room, although have gotten much better rooms for cheaper across Vietnam. Internet did not work (neither wifi or broadband) in either of the two rooms we stayed in while at this hotel, had to go to the lobby. But my main problem with the hotel is with the 'travel agent'. We used the hotel to book a Halong Bay tour, and while they told us we were getting a great deal, we found out later that we paid nearly double what most other people paid for the same thing! Then when we returned from Halong Bay, we used them to book the train to Hue. It was $41/pp and he told us we were getting first class, and the fastest train to Hue. When we got the tickets, the price on the ticket was only $550,000VND, and it was on HN1. I looked this train up, and it was not the fastest train at all, but he told me that the website I was reading was "fake and not true". The train we got was certainly not first class, we had hard sleeper, and the bathrooms were disgusting. And the A/C only worked about half the time, making it ridiculously hot in the cabin. And the train took 16 hours to get to Hue! VERY dishonest booking agent at this hotel. Personally, I think you can find something better for the price, and hopefully a bit more honest employees as well.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfallon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoiducthaihotel, Manager at Duc Thai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for the review. Your review is big contrubution to us. However, you misunderstood everything about the train ticket!
+) Only 02 train ticket left when you booked the train ticket and the train office asked for the higher price! Our staff also asked you for agreement because he know that it was not normal price.
+) The train HN1 is only from Hanoi to Hue. Actually, It takes about 12 hours to get to Hue from Hanoi. However, it took 16 hours because of the flood in the Central of Vietnam at that time.

Hope this information can help all the valued guests!

Tom Ngo

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in total around a tour to halong bay. First impressions were superb, although we arrived at 6 am the owner gave us a fantastic welcome and the room was already prepared for us, a stark contrast to some other hotels we had stayed at! We paid 25 dollars a night for a double room that was very nice, spacious, and with a good air con system, as well as a desk and chair. However, the room did have no window, the tv had very poor reception on many channels, and the plug on the bath didn't quite fit properly so that water leaked out, albeit very slowly, when you had a bath! The price did include breakfast, which was good, although basic, as well as free internet. The staff were amazingly friendly throughout, and offerred to arrange a tour to halong bay for us. I have no doubt that the tour they offer is great, but we had already booked one through ocean tours. At some places, staff can become unfriendly when you decline tours, but not here, they continued to be extremely helpful and were not pushy at all. When we asked to stay an extra night, that was also not a problem. Overall, I think the hotel costs a little bit too much given we had a few problems with the tv/bathroom, but the staff are just brilliant and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pozzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 603 in Hanoi
2,393 reviews
2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Thai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Thai Hotel

Address: 95B Hang Ga str, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $37 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duc Thai Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very heart of Hanoi, Hanoi City Hostel is surrounded by stylish shops, restaurants and cafes, and is just a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake,Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Temple of Literature, night market,a beautiful architect the Opera House, and a fascinating slice of centuries-old life in Hanoi, the Old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Duc Thai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing