We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value for money, and fantastic service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Star Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #304 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked the room at New Star Hotel by coincidence based on the great location in the old city and the good price. When arriving jetlagged we were warmly greeted by all the staff and were happy about the family room we received. We are travelling with our two children (11 and 13 years old) and they too were happy with both the room as well as the walking distance to the lake and the markets.

Normally, we like to plan our trips ourselves, but after consulting the Hotel manager, Mr Thomas Nguyen, we accepted his assistance in organising our Vietnam vacation. A choice we are very happy with! We planned the trip together with Thomas and he advised us - based on our requests - where to go and where to stay to get the most out of our trip. We visited Sapa, Halong Bay, Huê, Hoi An and will continue to the South. In between the different parts of the trip - we were allowed to use the hotel in Hanoi as our base to be able to freshen up and they kept our luggage for no charge.

The trip was completely adapted to our wishes and we got to borrow a mobile phone from the hotel in order to be able to stay in contact if we wished to change anything (stay longer, stay less in one place). When taking the train we were escorted by staff to the correct train. We were also picked up upon arrival by private drivers.

Mr Nguyen, Mr Wall - the sales manager and their staff are doing a great job. We can strongly recommend this hotel both to business and leisure travellers. We will for sure return to Hanoi and the New Start Hotel. All-in-all - a VIP treatment and great value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_Kj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 51 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel has a good location in the centre of Hanoi, and we appreciated the personal service regarding organizing tours for us. We were taken care of from the first to the last day. We can recommend the hotel and we also liked the buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: When making a booking, please inform about your plans, so you can get your tours organized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

All the staff was very polite and courteous. On the day my friend had his birthday they surprised us with a birthday song and a lovely cake.
When we got sick because of bad oysters we ate at a local restaurant they directly went to the pharmacy with us to get some medicine. 10 minutes later one of the staff members nocked on our door and brought us soup (all this on the house even if we didn't eat the oyster at their restaurant ). We felt very cared for!!
The staff speaks fluently English and even a bit of german.
The rooms were really spacious and really clean. Every day the disinfected the toilet und cleaned the whole room. We had a nice flat screen tv with programs in Russian, German, Chinese and English and an AC with heating function.
The food (included breakfast) was a nice buffet. They served pancakes, soup, bacon, eggs, salat, chicken, toast, fresh fruits etc.
The location is ideal for shopping and sight seeing as it is located directly in the core of the city.
We will definitely chose this hotel again when we travel to Hanoi again. Thank you for the nice and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorHein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewStarhotel H, Manager at New Star Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Mr Torsten Heinen,

Thank you very much for staying at New Star hotel. We wish all best to you.

We were so worry because of problem made by bad oyster what your girl friend ate from the street. We did all our might to help her and fortunately, she felt much better. During guest's stay, we always pay attention to the guest. The occasions such as birthday, wedding celebration...etc are important because we can share the joy. That is the way we are doing our business. Guest's satisfaction is our successful.
Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope to see you again in our hotel in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Thomas Nguyen
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. I booked in and was given a very warm welcome by the staff. The director (Thomas) sat with me and arranged a tour of the whole country including: Hanoi, Halong bay, Sapa, Perfume pagoda, Hue, Hoi An, Nha Trang, Siagon, finishing with a trip down the Mekong Delta to Cambodia.

I needed a coat as Halong Bay and Sapa are cold places, Thomas got one of his staff to take me to a market to stop me getting ripped off which helped very much. In addition when i asked if i could get pizza delivered to the hotel they called it for me, and went and picked it up.

All the staff bent over backwards to accommodate my needs and were friendly and welcoming through out. i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hanoi. They have even provided me with a free mobile phone in the view of helping with any problems I may experience through out my trip.

Although the room was good value, it was the excellent service from the staff which made it as good as it was. If you're looking for peace of mind when travelling south through Vietnam I would look no further than the New Star Inn Hanoi.

Very very happy!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Sphopk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We got a pretty good deal at new star we paid $14 per night including breakfast for a nice spacious double room with private bathroom which had a bath and hair dryer! Nice treat for a traveller. We negotiated for the price, they'd initially tried to charge us $25. The room also had tea and coffee facilities, fridge and cable tv. Breakfast was a mixture of Vietnamese and Western food, it was average, and it was a buffet so if you weren't down for breakfast early it has been there a while. The staff were extremely friendly, they approached you and shook your hand almost every time you entered or exited the building asking where you had been and where you were going, a little intense but it was nice to feel welcomed. One thing I didn't like was that the management were pushy with us to book with them for the Ha Long Bay trip, they tried to tell us other companies weren't safe and were proposing a much more expensive deal than we ended up paying with someone else, I didn't like feeling pressured to book with them or constantly asked when we would be doing Ha Long Bay.

Overall a good price for the quality of the really nice room.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewStarhotel H, Manager at New Star Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Sir,

Firstly, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We wish all best to you.
During your stay, we tried so much to make you feel happy, satisfy with our service. We always pay much attention to take care of guests, give better and honest service for the guest so sometimes it makes someone feels uncomfortable. Anyways, we are sorry for this. It was 1 good experience to us, we appreciate your comments about this. We will try more to make guest's stay or your future stay became perfectly.

Thank you once again for staying with us. I hope to see you at our hotel in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Thomas Nguyen
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

i'm really happy i stayed in New Star Hotel. Everything-service, rooms, location, cleanliness, etc.-is perfect. Because the hotel is located at Hang Thung street, it's perfect for exploring the vibrant Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Lake and St Joseph Catheral, etc.The rooms are not overstocked and has nice hot shower. Also, beds and towels are very clean and comfortable. Every staff expecially Thomas Nguyen and Mr. Wall is very kind and friendly, so i felt them as my 'REAL' friend:) i think the reason i love hanoi is that i had great time in New Star Hotel. Thank you sooooooo much XD

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank You Jung H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewStarhotel H, Manager at New Star Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Youjung Hong,

On behalf of New Star hotel, I want to thank you very much for staying at our hotel and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Please send my regard to every one in your family.
I'm very impressed about you and your family during your stay in Hanoi. All of us tried so lot to offer you a pleasant stay. We were successful. Guest's satisfaction is always our the most important target. Staying with us all guest will have fun, warmly service and the value of stay.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us. I hope to see you again in our hotel. We will surely keep in touch.

Best regards,

Thomas Nguyen,
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were check in at 24th.December, and the hotel offer a Christmas party with dinner, for free!!
And the hotel manager with Santaclaus costume entertained the chlidren. I would suggest this
hotel for family with children. We felt at home at this hotel, and the staff are very helpful and familiar. The hotel is near tradisional water puppetshow , shopping area, good restaurants and
a lake with garden for jogging or just walking. As we went back home, the manager help us book a taxi and accompanied us till outsides the hotel like an old friend. See you soon!!

Room Tip: They have triple room, quite large , enought for us parent with 2 young children. Choose rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewStarhotel H, Manager at New Star Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and using our service. Your presence in Christmas party is our great pleasure. We wish all best to you with healthy, successful and happiness. Also, we thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It would be big encourage for all our staff to do our job better.
During the stay, we always try to supply everything for guest's stay to be comfortable, convenient and fun. We do everything to make customer always remember us as a wonderful trip in Hanoi. Our target is reaching 100% guest's satisfaction. By the way, our hotel would be home away for all of guests. We will be a first choice whenever you come to Hanoi.
Once again, we thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We hope to see you once again in our hotel and hear from you again by your friend and your family coming to stay with us in nearest future.

Your sincerely,

Thomas Nguyen
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
1.4 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 600 in Hanoi
2,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Star Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Hotel Hanoi

Address: 35 22, Quan Thanh | Ba Dinh Dist, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Crystal Hotel Hanoi)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $30 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi New Star hotel is a NEW - 3 STAR HOTEL IN HANOI, Vietnam, perfectly situated in the heart of Hanoi's ancient streets, very close to Night market and Dong Xuan market. The famous Hoan Kiem Lake (Sword Restored Lake) is just a minute's walk away. The hotel is very convenient for guests with shopping and banking needs, and there are plenty of eating and entertainment around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your New Star Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing