We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bit of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Ranked #219 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice bit of luxury”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room (Augustine) was nice, but some sneaky previous guest used the razor and shaving cream from the complimentary toiletries and then left the half used shaving cream in the pack - housekeeping did not check it. Rooms have thin walls so you hear people in the hall talking. When booking a tour I specifically asked that the tour company drop me back at the hotel, the hotel staff member said he would ensure that. I also asked for the optional water puppet show at the end of the tour. I got the water puppet show but the tour company did not pick me up after it and they only told me when dropping me off. I ended up walking back, but I should have been told this earlier by the hotel. Also I had to pay for the tour in cash only. On the good side, staff were courteous but some had limited English. I read on another website about how great the Pho soup was at the hotel restaurant - I can 100% agree. It was so good I had it two nights in a row; it was a good price and good serving portion. And service was fast. Other good points: close to the church and lots of shops and I felt safe walking around.

Room Tip: If traveling solo ask hotel to send a car service to and from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
11
35
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed in St Joseph Double Room from 7 to 10 Sept.

Likes:
1) Bright, clean and airy room.

2) Double glazed windows cut out most street noises.

Dislikes:
1) Upon check-in, we asked for breakfast to be served in room the next morning at 10am as we wanted to sleep late. The restaurant staff repeated our instruction and indicated that he understood perfectly. But breakfast never turn up. We went to the restaurant, and was offered a less than convincing explanation by another staff.

2) Asked for late check-out. Again the staff said ok and understood our requests (even asked for our room number). When we returned after lunch on the last day, the key card did not work because it had expired. Went to reception and find it very irritating that the staff reminded us that check out is 12pm and asked again what time we will be leaving.

3) Shower water drips onto the floor due to bathtub glass door's design.

4) Recessed area around the tub gathers water (again poor design).

5) Shower area felt a bit dark even though all lights were on.

6) Few hotels supply daily complimentary fruits, but this hotel does which was good. However the fruits quality are questionable. For instance the banana were rotting in some parts. Why can't more care be put into selecting the fruits? Learn from Fullerton South Hotel in Taiwan, the fruits they supply are impressively flawless.

It is of little use if the staffs appear outwardly to be friendly but could not coordinate and carry out simple requests. This really killed the goodwill that I felt towards the property. A previous review by another traveler who shared bad experience about asking the hotel to arrange pickup to the airport indicates that the staff problem might not be a one off. Shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpmugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel‌ for several trips that I have made to Hanoi. I like most is the cleaness and nearby to many‌ places. I would‌ recommend‌ it for those who like boutique hotel to stay for your visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soklay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Church is small boutique located perfectly near good restaurant, nice coffee shop, ATM, galleries and small nice shops in the heart of old quarter Hanoi. We found this hotel last year when we walk around Chatedral Area. The old hotel just been renovated nicely. We actually like the interior, however there are some problem on air conditioning in the afternoon around 3-5pm and a leaking water from the shower made all the bathroom floor wet, every time we finish shower.

We choose our hotel in the higher floor (6 Floor) with street view. There is no noise from the street, but if you are a light sleeper be ready on the noise from other room

Not only centrally located and nicely designed, the staff in this hotel are actually friendly.
But sometimes, they just don't understand what you want because of their limitation in English. This made our last hour in this hotel become a disaster. My partner booked a 7 seaters for our transfer to airport around 3am to catch up early flight and reconfirm a night before.

We are so nervous, because the taxi is not there.
There are only two person available in the lobby and both have no initiative to prepare the back up transportation. The reception keep on asked us to wait for 5 minutes. After 45 minutes of waiting, I start to loose patient and push the male reception to call for 24 hours taxi. Then the 4 seaters taxi arrives. As we predicted, this type of taxi is not enough as we have many big luggages.

Finally, after another moment of waiting, we got our 7 seaters taxi.
It was a scary ride to the airport, as the taxi has to reach airport in 30 minutes to catch up the flight under big rain in Hanoi in the middle of the dark morning.
We can not imagine if we just sit and wait for the reception to arrange the taxi.

Too bad that this nice hotel can not arrange the transportation for their guest..

Room Tip: Higher Floor with Street View Street View are hot in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timjahja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Church has threee properties around the central Hanoi area at Hang Gai, Hang Ca and Nha Tho. I stayed in Hang Gai which is in the middle of the French Quarter and all the action. Shops, restaurants, coffee and walks around the market and lake are right on the doorstep. The Hotel is clean and stylish, the breakfast great and varied and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but modern with everything you need for comfort. I stayed her many times in 2011 and 2012 and never had a bad experience. There are many other boutique hotels in the area which I did not sample because I was so happy with this one. Highly recommend for short term visits to Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dude6988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a very small boutique hotel in a central area in Hanoi. There were 3 rooms on each floor and although my room on the 7th floor overlooked the street, there was no street noise to be heard. In fact the only noise to be heard was the closing of each guest's room door. Although the room is small it is beautifully decorated and lacks for nothing. It even includes a set of bathroom scales for the guest. The mattress is firm and the doona and pillows are soft and fluffy. The only negative I could comment on was the mirror on the bathroom door which opened inwards towards the toilet.. Most people probably would not like to have a mirror facing them when using the toilet.The staff are lovely, always smiling and very efficient. the buffet breakfast is adequate although a little more fresh fruit would be great. Love this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a great pity that the food served in the restaurant was so dismal compared with the polite staff. There was only one other table tonight. Why did it take nearly an hour to present our meals? One friend's chicken was cooked to perfection, but included limp brown lettuce, my "Sweet and sour prawns (a pitiful six small prawns) came with the same wilted mushy lettuce! But my other friend was served raw chicken in a BBQ sauce which we returned to the kitchen. It was more than 40 minutes before we decided to leave, still hungry. We could hear the 4 people at the other table complaining about the slow service. Even if the kitchen had to go out and buy more chicken, I have no idea why it took so long. But she did get served rice with her piece of BBQ chicken. My prawns in a bright yellow sauce- no rice. I most certainly would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank KnowledgeHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hkh hospitality e, Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comment about our restaurant. Concurrently, we're really sorry for the bad experiences you've gone through. There's no rescues could be accepted for this case. This's definitely the lesson for us to train our staffs to do better. We do hope that you feel much better now.

Once again, thank you for your stop off at our La Petite Eglise Restaurant. Please noted that it's an honor for us to welcome you back to our hotel one more time in the near future.

Best regards,

Pauline Thanh Do
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Trong
0.2 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai
0.2 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#339 of 586 in Hanoi
24 reviews
4.0 mi away
Luxeden Hotel
Luxeden Hotel
#240 of 586 in Hanoi
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#221 of 586 in Hanoi
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho

Property: Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Address: No. 9 Nha Tho Str., Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Church Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centre of Catholicism in Hanoi is the beautifully dilapidated neo-Gothic, St Joseph’s Cathedral. Built in the early days of the colony at the expense of a revered pagoda that was demolished in the name of France's mission civilisatrice, St Joseph’s opened its doors to worshippers in 1886. Many of the buildings in and around the area were built in the service of the cathedral in the late 19th century. Built as Presbytery House, the hotel was one of Old Quarter’s first edifications of the Cathedral – converted into a hotel in 2002 set the standard for hotels that followed. Ten years later, after undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation, this is Old Quarter’s newest boutique hotel. The original Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho is a sanctuary of sumptuous dining, and self-indulgent relaxation, on the heart of the Old Quarter.Eco-friendly Operations - Green initiatives have been implemented throughout the hotel including a key card activated energy systems in rooms. Church Boutique Hotel 's Corporate Responsibility is minimize waste and use eco-friendly products is our commitment to promoting our strong position in protecting the environment. A great effort has been put in place to avoid wasting our valuable resources by implementing energy efficiency lighting system throughout the hotel, linen and water conservation scheme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing