We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - cheap room”
Review of Viet Fun Hotel

Viet Fun Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viet Fun Hotel
Ranked #376 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've stayed at Viet fun quite a few times, it's such a great location if you are a backpacker. Right next to the famous Hanio Backpackers but you don't have to stay in a dorm and its the same price if not cheaper. You are set right in the heart of the Old quarter and every time I have stayed - I have been given lovely, big rooms. (though a couple of my friends were put in a slightly less impressive room). They include breakfast in the price and the staff are really nice, there is also free internet. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone who's looking to be in a vibrant area, but is also looking for a private room for a cheap price (they even have one room which sleeps 5 - which was like having your own dorm but much nicer than being in a bunk bed). I wouldn't book trips from here though, they are more expensive than the surrounding travel agents.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lko88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Viet Fun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 69 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were blessed with all staff. The room which was enough for us, was very nice. Also their service were wonderful. They organised for us Halong 1 night on boat 1 night in bangalow and tickets to Thailand. Value money.
We are greatful of their support & cheeful spirit.
We had great time. Thank you to all the staff at Viet Fun we have enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in backside are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here for two nightsin October 2011 either side of a three-day trip to Halong Bay.

We were given a room for $10 (which later transpired to be 210,000 dong, 10,000 more than expected), which was tny. It was fine for us because it seemed to be the cheapest on the backpacker strip, but it was awkward with two of us living our of backpacks.

Hanoi Backpackers over the road is probably better and cheaper for single travellers.

Saying that I've had the best nights sleep of my entire trip at this hotel - I think a mixture of the duvet and cod air conditioning.

They do breakfast for an additional $2, but it's not worth it. There's a great Banh Mi stand at the bottom of the road that does salad/ cheese roll for 15,000 dong.

The staff seem very friendly to start with but then become very nonchalant after you check in. We had a night out one night and arrived back at the hotel at around 2am. The shutters were down and we had to wake up the guy to let us in. He was a bit miffed with us, especially when we had to get him to climb three flights of stairs to help us unlock our bedroom door which was jammed!

We didn't book a trip through them, which a lot of reviews say they are terrible at organising. They quoted us $16 for transport to the airport - we later found a bus for $2.

Instead we went to the Sinh Tourist (Originally called Sinh Cafe, but it changed its name after hundreds of fakes cropped up all over the city. It has a blue sign and is located north of the Lake) and booked the Elizabeth Sails cruise for $135 for two nights on the boat. We were thoroughly looked after.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckles_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

ended up staying here with a german girl i was travelling with when hanoi backpackers along the road was full.

for the same price as a dorm at the backpackers. we got our own room, with an en suite bathroom as well as a fridge and free breakfast. the room was nothing special but decent enough for two nights although quite small.

the staff were so nice and helpful. they booked out taxi to the airport for us. also every time we went out in the rain they insisted on giving us their umbrella! didn't book any tours through them so can't comment on what they were like.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kirsten87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed in Viet Fun just two nights. I checked in so early, but no problem. The location is logical. Staff were assiduous.
I vote in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mar_ppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at Viet Fun Hotel. We payed $20 for a good sized, clean room, however it was noisy late into the night due to the close proximity of a bar. The staff appeared friendly and helpful. However, we booked a 2 day, 1 night junk cruise to Halong Bay through the hotel, which ended up being a mistake. The staff showed us three cruises at prices ranging from $65 - $95 USD. We decided to splurge on the $95 trip for an extra special experience. The next morning, 5 minutes before the mini bus picked us up for Halong Bay, the hotel staff told us that we had been 'upgraded' and not to tell anyone on the boat. Upon arriving at Halong Bay, we realized that we had, in fact, been downgraded to one of the less expensice trips we had been shown by the hotel staff. We did end up having a good time at Halong Bay, but we spoke to the hotel staff upon our return to Hanoi, asking that my friend and I each be refunded the $20 price difference between the boat we paid for and the one we were placed on. The staff told us that they would not refund our money and that it was not their fault, but the boat company who had placed us on the wrong boat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed here for four nights before flying to Laos, paying $15 a night for a nice, light, big double room and a simple breakfast. TV, a/c, en suit are standard.

The two guys who run it are very friendly, happy and helpful and speak good English.

It's by no means five star but very clean and location is perfect, down the backpacker alley and close to all sights, bars and restaurants.

We had a lovely stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a budget but nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Especen Hotel
Especen Hotel
#210 of 596 in Hanoi
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#44 of 596 in Hanoi
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gem Boutique Hotel
Gem Boutique Hotel
#99 of 596 in Hanoi
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#40 of 596 in Hanoi
731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viet Fun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viet Fun Hotel

Address: 38 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $20 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing