We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Ranked #85 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family of four really enjoyed our five night stay at the Somerset. The rooms offered more space than standard hotel rooms and we enjoyed being able to spread out. The breakfasts were good and offered enough variety to cater for most. The pool was big enough for a number of families to use concurrently and the gym also had a good range of equipment. Overall - the facilities, staff and location made our stay a very pleasant one. (Good restaurants near by we're also a bonus - try Namaste Indian)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Francine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Francine

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us at Somerset Grand Hanoi.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service, apartment, facilities as well as the strategic location.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lew Yen Ping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 726 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

my family and i just returned from 9days in vietnam. we stayed at SGH for a total of 3 days/3 nights. just fantastic. reasonable prices, wonderful service, included breakfast and great pools are exactly what you need if you have children esp ages 4-13. central location and right next to Hoa Loa Prison which is a must visit sight. staff are very kind, helpful, and professional. rooms are clean and very well equipped. the building appears to be largely an colleciton of suites for expats or workers temporarilly in hanoi, but they have a number of rooms open for days-weeks stay. there are hotels which are either less expensive or fancier, but the combination that Somerset is really ideal for families.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drglom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service, facilities and location.

As a serviced residence, we always consider the comfort of our residents of utmost importance. We pride ourselves to provide spacious and value for money accommodation for family as well as an ideal home for singles and longer stay residents.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lew Yen Ping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Somerset Grand is a set of apartments rather than a traditional hotel. However, apart from the well equipped kitchen, you can go to the restaurant and pay for the comprehensive breakfast.
Staff and service are excellent as well as the quality of the furnishings in the apartments.

Room Tip: A bit on the expensive side , but you get what you pay for - pool, excellent Gym with sauna etc wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pagoda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is great to have you stay with us at Somerset Grand Hanoi. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

In relation to your feedback on our rates. we appreciate you for taking the time to share your insights with us. Hospitality pricing in Hanoi, as in any other major city, is very much market-driven. It also has a direct relation to the various factors such as location, product, availability and demand within the given vicinity.
.
As always, it remains our firm commitment to provide our residents with a secure and pleasant stay experience with us, each and every time.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Somerset Grand Hanoi, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind regards,
Lew Yen Ping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We arrived early and got the room early, which was great after the long flight. The staff in the reception was extremely helpful in all matters. The pool is big and clean. The fitness area the same and open 24/7. Our room had a washing machine and laundry detergent. The location is good and not too noisy. The breakfast could have been better, not the same level as the rest of the hotel. The wi-fi worked very well. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lvg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Somerset Grand Hanoi and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.We sincerely appreciate your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay.

We are also very delighted you enjoyed the complimentary high speed internet access at Somerset Grand Hanoi. We have just recently upgraded our internet speed to one of the fastest in the city.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at Somerset Grand Hanoi.

Kind regards,
Lew Yen Ping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Somerset Grand. Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious and very modern. We found the buffet breakfast very nice with enough variety for the 3 of us. The staff at the Somerset were very friendly and helpful. There was a very large pool and modern gym in the building. On the bottom floor there was a small shopping centre with supermarket and coffee shop. The Old Quarter was an easy ten minute walk away along the banks of the lake. There were a number of nice restaurants close to the apartments. There were always taxis outside the so it was very easy getting around if you didn't want to walk. Our apartment faced a side street and we didn't hear any traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Flyinglarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our spacious apartment, service and facilities. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lew Yen Ping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights here and have to say very satisfied customers. Great value for a family of 4, fantastic facilities and excellent service from the staff. Rooms were large, spotlessly clean and best of all the beds and pillows were super comfortable (after a week of more local hotels this was welcome!). Staff are always willing to assist and especially impressed with the Doormen, who secure taxis, explain to the driver where you are going and give you a paper slip with the taxi number on - all in English for you and with a smile!

Location is good and you can walk to the major sites; or a taxi is usually less than USD3 to get there! Supermarket underneath offers you everything you need for the apartment which is very handy.

Facilities are great and we loved the large pool (and yes it was cold but that was great at 35 degrees outside during the day). There is a kids pool and the gym looked good as well. Breakfast was a good selection (vegemite for the Aussies so they know their market) but it could have been better with a bit more effort. All the usual for Western and Asian palates, but I would suggest pancakes or waffles to cater for the large number of kids staying there.

Cons were road noise even 21 stories up which shows you cannot escape this almost anywhere in the city! Lifts are also dreadfully slow which didn't bother us on holiday, but you wouldn't want to be in a rush!

Overall an excellent property which clearly has professionally trained staff all fluent in English. Fantastic value for families with the facilities of a 5-star hotel without paying over the top for more than one room. Washing machine was a greast asset and the internet was the fastest we experienced over 2 weeks in Vietnam.

Hint - we ate many times are La Place restaurant next to St Josephs Cathedral. 10 minute walk from the hotel and recommended in Lonely Planet - we were not disappointed. Western standards for the kids to keep them happy and great local food for the adults.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigandSculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Craig and Sculli,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service, location and facilities.

As a serviced residence, we always consider the comfort of our residents of utmost importance. All of our apartments are spacious with size ranging from 56 sqm to 150 sqm.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lew Yen Ping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here because we needed a place with two rooms.

What we liked were:
-Speedy internet connection
-Lovely rooms
-A huge variety of channels available
-Good array of breakfast menu/choices
-Top service at the concierge and reception
-Facilities such as washing room and kitchens essentials were top notch and complete.
-Location was good, not far from popular eateries and the Old Quarter. There was also a small mall below where you could buy groceries and have tea.
-Housekeeping did a good job.

What was average, and needed improvement:
-Breakfast variety could be bigger
-Pool was simple
-Hallway was warm


Overall, Somerset Grand Hanoi was enjoyable and a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room to ensure the noise from the nearby road is minimal. Also, there is a Spa loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyrildason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us.

We were delighted with your feedback regarding your recent stay and have shared your compliments with our team. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Somerset Grand Hanoi and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.

We are also pleased to inform you that Somerset Grand Hanoi boasts one of the fastest internet speed in Hanoi with over 75Mbps for our property. I am glad you have enjoyed the recently upgraded internet experience.

At the same time, we acknowledge your concerns regarding the quality of breakfast spread and regret that we were unable to meet your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the Jaspas Restaurant and we will work very closely with them to improve this for the dining enjoyment of our residents.

Once again, thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your preferred accommodation choices in Hanoi. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lew Yen Ping
Area Manager, Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#84 of 600 in Hanoi
1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#73 of 600 in Hanoi
1,929 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 600 in Hanoi
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#79 of 600 in Hanoi
1,621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 600 in Hanoi
2,299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#186 of 600 in Hanoi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#35 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $103 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing