We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for our family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Ranked #76 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great choice for our family”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just returned yesterday from a quick Easter weekend trip to Hanoi (we live in Seoul) and could not have been more pleased with our choice of the Somerset Grand Hanoi! Although these serviced apartments are obviously geared toward business travelers, they were perfect for our family (traveling with a teenager.) Our 2-bed/2 bath apartment had a fully equipped kitchen,including washer/dryer as well as separate dining and lounge areas (TV in the Master bedroom as well as the lounge - we didn't use, but would be ideal for families with differing tastes in TV). The building has a pool, gym, and restaurant on the 4th floor (we didn't use gym and pool, but stopped in to look at both - very nice.) The breakfast is typical of a business hotel in SE Asia - eggs made to order and a wide variety of other western and Asian breakfast options - my husband had pho for breakfast every morning while I ate my bacon and eggs. As others have mentioned, the hotel is built literally next to the Hoa Loa Prison (aka, 'Hanoi Hilton' ) and we could see down into the courtyard from our windows. Housekeeping was thorough and efficient, and reception was pleasant and eager to please, although English-speaking ability among the staff varied. We ordered room service one night and it was reasonably priced and actually very fast! Typically, there was always one staff member on duty at reception who spoke very good English, and others at the desk who weren't quite able to speak as well would have to refer more complex questions/issues to that staffer. English ability of other staff (busboys, doormen,housekeeping etc.) was widely variable, but enough for basic needs. Note: to the right and in back of of the front desk area, there are double glass doors with the words, 'Shopping Center' and this leads to an area with several stores (clothes, souvenirs, coffee, sweets) including a small grocery store (we were not aware of this the first night) that has pretty much anything you could want, including health and beauty products, fresh fruit, dairy products, and some frozen food,and, of course, drinking water. We arranged for an airport transfer in advance and our driver was waiting exactly where they said he would be. Our return trip was also scheduled in advance and problem-free. Staff were more than willing to do anything they could to help us, including arranging tours, calling taxis, and giving directions. The single possible 'drawback' to this hotel(and it really wasn't a drawback for us) would be the fact that it is not located directly in the Old Quarter, but is, instead, a 10-15 minute walk away. We did not find this to be a problem at all, and enjoyed our walks to and from the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake, as well as several excellent restaurants not too far from the hotel. We went everywhere on foot with no problem. The cost was extremely reasonable. We would highly recommend the Somerset Grand Hanoi, and plan to stay there again the next time we're in town!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room - interesting views and a little farther away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfed with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    260
    54
    9
    8
See reviews for
406
42
9
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed one week at the Somerset with friends in their hotel suite. Modern appointments, fully furnished with all the "mod cons" including washing machine. Air conditioning in every room to use as needed....really needed... But windows to open for the fresh air. Staff was friendly and came in daily for fresh towels and cleanup. Great swimming pool and fitness center. The Hanoi Tower was built where the old French prison stood and has 24 floors. A small area off a side street maintains the prison memorial to theFrench occupation and it's later use as the "Hanoi Hilton"! From the upper floors I am told the whole area of the city and more can be seen but with the humidity and constant fog I saw only to the Old Quarter and the West Lake. Saturday morning they offer a free shopping excursion and it was worth the time to see a new area and pick up some souvenirs. In all, outstanding staff and Hanoi friendly service. Smiles, welcoming comments, immediate support and a willingness to go further to please a client with a great restaurant and then accompanying you if you hate to eat alone! Thanks Somerset for a great and memorable visit especially given the hellish humidity!

Room Tip: Higher is always better and the elevators are fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and compliments about our services and facilities. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a two bedroom suite which was spacious and comfortable. This hotel felt more like apartments, but the staff at the desk spoke good English and helpfully drew a route on a walking map they gave us for our first evening out.

I was a mum traveling alone with 3 kids (17,16 and 11) and although Hanoi is bustling and the traffic is CRAZY we felt safe walking around both at night and during the day. We didn't resort to taxis at all bar getting to and from the airport.

The hotel is literally next door to the old prison, you could look down into the grounds from our room. From here we walked everywhere! Also has a handy supermarket downstairs for buying juice and snacks etc. Hanoi is a fabulous vibrant friendly city. Definitely recommend it!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkScoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing tor choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi.

We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review and your compliments about our service and facilities. We hope you will stay with us again.

From all of us at Somerset Grand Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of most attractions, restaurants, etc around the old quarters area. The service apartments are clean and well maintained. Also, the service of the staff is great and hospitable, while breakfast selection wise, there's no lack to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be-a-travel-junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us.

We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

From all of us at Somerset Grand Hanoi, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. Was a 15 minute casual walk to the old quarter. Breakfast selection was excellent and tasted great. Service was excellent however, we arrived late at night (2230) and the receptionist could have told us that we had half an hour to order room service to save us walking to a local place for food which was slightly a bit of a concern to eat. Could not fault any thing with this property, I only wish I had known about it before I booked other hotels throughout Vietnam. Dale, Andy and Liz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi, Vietnam. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service.

At the same time, I would like to apologize for not advising you the business hour of the restaurant and room service upon your arrival. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Pluses:
- Very central location, within walking distance to several good restaurants (Quan An Ngon, Maison Sen, Com Chay Nang Tam) and to Ho Hoan Kiem & the Old Quarter (~ 20 minutes for the latter). There are several very convenient shops right in the building: a small but well-stocked supermarket; a Highlands coffee shop; a fast-food place; etc.

- In contrast to booking multiple hotel rooms, our group of 6 adults stayed at their executive 3-bedroom/2 bathroom apartment and could avail ourselves to our own spacious living room with a dining area and a small but well-equipped and very functional kitchen. The daily housekeeping service (except on Sundays) was very much appreciated, and the washer/dryer (& complimentary laundry detergent) was also great for our week-long stay.

- Services: Breakfast at their restaurant Jaspa (included with our special winter promotion) was plentiful with a lot of variety, both cold and hot. Unfortunately, one of us did get sick one day from (we deduced) one of the breakfast items. With the exception of their one taskmaster day-manager, the staff in the dining room was otherwise uniformly warm, attentive, and helpful.

Minuses:
- For our one-week stay, bed linens really should have been changed at least once.
- The bath towels, while clean, were worn.
- The bathrooms, a bit dark and not well-ventilated, would benefit from some updating/renovation (newer tiles; better-fit shower curtains; more effective plumbing for better drainage & flushing; etc. would spruce things up nicely). At times, there was a funny, musty, even sewer-like smell in the bathrooms …
- The front desk was a mixed bag: while some were nice and helpful, others were a bit passive-aggressive. Like a prior poster had mentioned, we sensed that just beneath the polite veneer, there was a certain degree of hostility towards other Vietnamese (local and Vietnamese-Americans/”Viet Kieu”).
- They changed their password for their complimentary wifi periodically without telling us.

Conclusions: Worth it if you can get a good deal with a special promotion; 5* luxury, it is not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review.

I noticed that we failed to meet your expectations in certain aspects of your recent stay with us. After careful review of your concerns, I offer you my deepest apologies for having failed to give you the service all our residents expect.

Daily change of linen and towel is carried out in our serviced residence. We regret that worn out towels were used to set up in your aparrtment and the sheet was overlooked by the housekeeper. Following your feedback, we have reminded them to be more alert and careful.

Once again, we apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We would have loved to be able to address your concerns while you were here and had the chance to make your stay more pleasant. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

- most of the staffs were very helpful and friendly. But we had one encounter with one staff which had mislead us with some slightly wrong information.
- we stayed in two different units during our stay. Unfortunately We have left our holidays with quite a few bed bug bites. I've seen that there will be pest control done as When we are leaving. Hope that solves it.
- great location in the city. Very accessible to main areas like Hoan Kiem lake.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Somerset Grand Hanoi and your valuable feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that his/her concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making his/her stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of any bed bugs incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience. Please be rest assured that we have regular pest control treatment by Rentokil.

Please contact me at lew.yenping@the-ascott.com or enquiry.hanoi@the-ascott.com, so that we can take remedial action to ensure incident like this will not happen again.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.2 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#183 of 591 in Hanoi
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#74 of 591 in Hanoi
1,529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 591 in Hanoi
2,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#95 of 591 in Hanoi
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Property: Somerset Grand Hanoi
Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#35 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing