We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Ranked #86 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a serviced-apartment type hotel.
Instead of a room, you get an apartment, with bedrooms, a living room, and a kitchen (sink, refrigerator, washing machine).
The rate is around (more or less) US$200/night. One apartment can easily accommodate 4 - 6 people.
The bedroom is equipped with 1 king size bed, and two smaller beds.
Hotel staffs are friendly and communicative. You can book the room online.

Free high speed internet WiFi is available inside the room and other area at this hotel.
The bathroom is clean, and has hot water. It also has a decent swimming pool, free of charge.

The breakfast is good although a little bit limited in food variation. It serves good western food anyway.

The location is superb, only a minute away from Hoa Lo Prison Museum and Women Museum. It is only 15 minutes walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, and two bus stops are located just in front of this hotel.

The hotel can also arrange some trip to touristic places in Vietnam. Although the package comes with a slightly higher price, but it is reliable.

Excellent pick for groups or family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lsaml K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable guests are satisfied with our product and service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 768 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in a 2 bedroom Appartment. Overall very nice, clean, functional, well decorated, and a very nice breakfast buffet. The service was good, with quite a friendly and helpful staff at reception. Location was ok, not too far from Hoa Kiem lake. Overall a great value, considering you basically get the same as a 4-5 star hotel suite for less than half the price.
On the minus side, I found the beds a little too firm to my taste.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Staff are always willing to help and we are always greeted warmly by the staff. Rooms are also quite comfortable. Just mind the color of the toilet floors... Breakfast is okay. But if you like the city view, choose this Apartment!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank googlercolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Mr. Colin,
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your preferred accommodation choices in Hanoi.

We were delighted with your feedback regarding your recent stay and have shared your compliments with our team. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Somerset Grand Hanoi and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
From all of us at Somerset Grand Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment being rented by a friend. The apartment was spacious with a living room, functional kitchen, comfortable 2 single beds in one room, and a queen bed in the center room and a masters bedroom. If you are thinking of a longer stay, they offer reduced rates with freebies such as meal coupons at the restaurant and some basic grocery items. The location is good - within walking distance of Hoan Kiem Lake, St. Joseph Cathedral and many shopping places. Staff are very friendly - they will get a taxi for you assist you if they see you carrying too much. In the building there is supermarket which is very convenient. It is also frequented by tourists because of a clothing shop which sells authentic North Face bags and jackets among other brands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESM26008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Grand Hanoi, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights and we wouldn't be happier with the hotel and its staff. The staff were friendly and helpful, willing to be flexible to accommodate our late check out. The apartment was spacious and clean, plenty of room for 4 adults. The internet access were solid throughout the building which was a pleasant surprise! The breakfast service and quality was fresh - the omelet cook had the biggest smile while carefully preparing our orders.

In terms of the location, it was in close proximity to the lake and major attractions so we walked everywhere and get to "experience" the crazy traffic Hanoi has to offer.

The only "complaint" or improvement suggestion I would make is about its pillows. They are rather flat and offer no neck support so standard height will be appreciate.

I will strong recommend this establishment to friends and will certainly stay again when come back to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenshopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

We are glad to hear your compliments. Your kind words will be shared with all staff concerned. Receiving such feedback from residents like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

On seperate note, we have also taken note of your comment on the pillow. Please note that we do supply firmer pillows on requests. We will ensure this will be effectively communicated to our guests.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights here then went back after our stay on Halong Bay for another night. The staff are great here and are more than happy to help with Taxis, advice etc.
They held our suitcases overnight while we were away at no extra charge and had them ready in our room on arrival.
We had 2 different rooms and both were fantastic. We travel with 3 children and they enjoyed their spacious bedrooms with TVs. The lounge, dining & kitchen were all of a high standard as well as our ensuite and main bathroom.
The restaurant & bar are great and seem to be open to late hours. There is a little supermarket downstairs which has a great range of food & amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which will be share with the team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure our residents bave a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We're staying in a 2-bedroom apartment because we received an upgrade. Despite all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we were very pleasantly surprised at the comfort of our abode. It is very spacious, bright, clean, well appointed and so pleasantly quiet. The wifi is strong and reliable, all equipment is in tip top working condition. The staff is friendly and helpful, and this place is really well located too. In addition to Somerset's own facilities there's a well stocked minimart in the building plus an international restaurant, a number of other retail stores and a good coffee shop.
We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Hanoi!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed our facilities and services. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#73 of 603 in Hanoi
2,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#82 of 603 in Hanoi
1,451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 603 in Hanoi
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 603 in Hanoi
2,393 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fraser Suites Hanoi
Fraser Suites Hanoi
#165 of 603 in Hanoi
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#76 of 603 in Hanoi
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#35 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $104 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing