We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goos service, Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Ranked #74 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Goos service, Comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the two-bedroom apartment. The apartment is well furnished and confortable. Kitchen had everything we needed. There was even a washer-dryer combo and laundry detergent in the apartment which was very convenient indeed. Breakfast had plenty of options and was good. The hotel is attached to a small shopping area which has a nice cafe and also a small supermarket - very convenient. Location is good but the street is pretty noisy. Also, the soundproofing isn't that great so I would recommend to try and get an apartment on upper floors to reduce the noise. The staff was very helpful and helped organize our travels to Halong bay. They also helped organize a car with driver which we wanted to go around the city.
On the downside, the apartment was dated...especially bathrooms and kitchen. Also, there was a musty smell in one of the bedrooms. But overall, a good place for a comfortable stay while in Hanoi. Especially good for families with kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogo0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    243
    53
    7
    7
See reviews for
372
42
9
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were looking for an accommodation that had more space as we had our teenage son travelling with us. This seemed like the best choice available, ticking most of our requirements. We booked through Booking.com. after reading some reviews. It was a perfect choice. It is centrally located in the Hoan Kiem District.walking distance from the beautiful lake of the same name. Checkin was smooth and efficient, the staff most pleasant and ever helpful.

Our abode in Hanoi was an Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment.on the 11th Floor facing the Hai Ba Trung Road. The place was spacious with sitting, dining areas and a separate kitchen. Two full bathrooms ensuite with the double and single rooms with plenty of built-in wardrobes.The rooms were clean with crisp white sheets which is always welcoming. The kitchen had everything that one would need. There was a Citimart on the ground floor which was very convenient. Breakfast at the Jaspas restaurant was wholesome catering for both Western and Oriental guests.

We had a booking on the IndoChina Junk Cruise for 2 days 1 night in the Halong bay area so we left our big pieces of luggage with them for storage overnight and had no booking for one more night after our arrival. Booking.com was saying no rooms available during the time we required. They very kindly accommodated us and gave us the same room again, which was very helpful.

Providing maps, giving directions, recommending good restaurants, spas was done by the reception. They helped book a Half Day tour of the city for us too.

Loved our time there and would highly recommend to families with kids / teenage kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibigulDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi, Vietnam. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We decided on a serviced apartment instead of a hotel because we were travelling with teenagers and wanted the extra room. When we arrived, we were upgraded from a Deluxe to an Executive apartment (don't you just love an upgrade?). The apartment was spacious (two bathrooms, two bedrooms), clean and had fairly modern decor and facilities. It has a 24 hour desk and adjoins a small shopping mall in the adjacent Hanoi Towers which has a convenience store and cafes. There is also a swimming pool and gym - a must for the teenagers. It was handy to have the washer/dryer facilities since we were near the end of our trip and fast running out of the clean clothes. The on-site restaurant for breakfast was also very good with a wide selection of food. The staff were excellent - very helpful and attentive. I cannot recommend the Somerset Grand highly enough. We had a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: There is a lot of street noise so the higher up you go, the better. We were on the 10th floor and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Me and my family (husband, 22 and 11 years old children) stayed at Somerset Grand Hanoi on October 2013 for three days. Before coming to the Hotel I asked to pick up us from the airport. Rhea/Director of Sales & Marketing/SGH/Ascott/VN connected with me and helped us from that point to the end. Thank you indeed.
The apartment is really at the heart of the city and you may walk any place you want. They have many facilities that make you stay comfortable. The apartments have a full kitchen, including wash machine, for example. On the first floor, there is a supermarket and you can buy anything easily. Our trip was a long one and we were at Hanoi in the middle of it. We washed all our cloths, cooked something we missed and refreshed indeed. We stayed in different days, in different apartments. All have the same properties. One of our stay was an obligatory one. We constrained to cancel our Halong Bay Trip due to a storm and hardly find a Penthouse Suit for one night at Sommerset. The price was quiet high and unfortunately there was no other apartment in Somerset and even no room in Hanoi. The breakfasts were not included to the rate and that night I wrote to Rhea again that a sudden and disappointed situation it was and in the morning I was called that the breakfasts were complimentary included to the price. Additionally, WiFi is free and good working, breakfast, gym and swimming pool were also very well.
I may truly recommend Sommerset Grand Hanoi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolarkadasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. Thank you too for singling out Rhea, our Director for Sales & Markeyting for her earnest effort in ensuring your stay is a pleasant one. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Maybe I am being a little generous, as I stayed here after staying in only 3 star hotels all through Vietnam, but i cannot fault this hotel at all. We booked a one bedroom, but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom even though we didnt use the second room it was great having 2 bathrooms - especially since we both had a tummy bug and were still recovering! We had a full kitchen and the washing machine was very handy. There was a small shopping mall on the ground floor with a supermarket which was handy. It was very easy to get a taxi outside the hotel and it only cost about $2 to get to the Old Quarter so the location was not an issue at all. The pool was refreshing and there were also two small pools which would be great for people with children. Overall I would stay here again, very clean and pleasant! Oh, and the pillows were AMAZING :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

With a full kitchen - including washing machine - this was a perfect fit for our family. Easy check-in, friendly staff, with a safe that accommodates laptops! Plenty of room for us to relax - two bathrooms and plenty of closet space. Although not the most luxurious place we've rested our heads, this certainly fit our needs. Lap pool and tennis courts were nice also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheredia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We used a two bedroom apartment and found it clean and convenient with two bathrooms, a kitchen and washing machine. We got off the overnight train from Danang feeling tired, grumpy, dirty and unwell. Reception organised our room so that we only waited half an hour and were checked in by 8.30am. We stayed in for the day to recover and the size of the apartment meant we could relax and watch a DVD. When our son became more ill resulting in us taking him to the hospital for treatment, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They organised a taxi for us and management checked on his condition over the next few days even personally delivering a get well card and fruit platter!
Location is on the site of the demolished part of the 'Hanoi Hilton' so visiting the museum is right around the corner.
Train station and the lake are only two blocks away in opposite directions. Coffee shop and a fully stocked grocery mart downstairs which was very useful when holed up feeling unwell.
The breakfast buffet is the best we have seen in Vietnam - complete with Vegemite!
Very good value and we absolutely recommend this place!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#65 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
2.2 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#173 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#75 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#72 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#68 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#83 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Property: Somerset Grand Hanoi
Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#35 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing