We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Grand Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Ranked #71 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family (2 grandparents, 3 kids, wife & I) took a trip to Hanoi and the Somerset Grand was perfect for us. We booked a 3 bedroom deluxe apartment that was spacious and well appointed. The kids really enjoyed having the space in the living and dining areas to lounge around in the apartment.

The location is great as it is in the centre of town and near great food as well as shopping. We enjoyed walking down to the Hoan Kim lake in the evening. The only downside to staying in town is that it can be quite noisy until quite late and if you're staying on a lower floor, the street noise can be quite irritating. We've stayed both on a low floor (7th) as well as a high floor (23rd).

If we're going back to Hanoi again as a family, we will definitely be staying at the Somerset Grand.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    230
    49
    7
    7
See reviews for
350
41
6
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If I could have designed the ideal hotel for my family (wife, two kids) to stay in- this would be it. The apt. is massive - two real bedrooms and two real bathrooms- no pull out couch needed and plenty of space even after the kids go to bed. Breakfast was very tasty with enough choices to please everyone- made to order eggs, breads, fruits and more. Pool was a nice place to take a break from the city. Wish we had the same in every destination.
The hotel is a short walk to the Old Quarter and Lake- but I won't call it an "easy" walk- any walk across the street in Hanoi is a little stressful if you're not experienced. As a alternative, we sometimes took a cab- it was just a few dollars to most central locations and cabs were always available in front of the hotel- the doorman can also help direct the cab if needed.
I considered staying in some of the well reviewed boutique hotels in the Old Quarter, but I was never really sure how much space we would have, and the prices for their "family suites" were not much less then what we ended up paying here. After walking through the Old Quarter, I felt even better about the choice. Hanoi is a pretty chaotic city, and this hotel was an oasis of calm even though its still close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leebids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 month on a work trip. This is definitely an extended stay hotel, not sure I would recommend for short travel trips. I had a 2 bedroom and 2 bath apartment with living room and kitchen. It was very expensive, but company paid. Everything was very clean and the maids came by almost every day to tidy up. They would also sometimes wash my dishes and helped me buy some fruit. I tipped the person well after my stay. The biggest annoyance was the washing machine. The hotel provided only enough detergent for 2 loads and then you had to go buy additional detergent. I couldn't even find it in the little grocery store located next door and when i did find it somewhere else, they were huge bags and I only needed a little bit for my brief stay. Wish the hotel wasn't so stingy or at least provide a way for me to buy a small amount. Another annoyance were the plugs. There was only 2 outlets to use, the other ones had a special "key" to be opened and it took the staff hours to send someone up to open it up for me. This happened a couple of times...i would think they could make this easier if this is for extended stay clients. My breakfast was not included in the expensive room rate, and the one time I tried out the buffet, i was shocked at the price. The food also limited and wasn't that great, so I found other options on the street for much tastier and cheaper. But the one most terrible thing about this hotel is the elevators. They are the slowest elevators I have every been in. There are 3 of them, yet it takes at least 5 minutes for anything to open. Plus there are many many floors, so it can take forever in the mornings and evenings when people are trying to leave and come back. Overall, I would only stay again if company was paying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Guest Service Manager at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that his/her concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making his/her stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

Please contact me at email andrew.mah@the-ascott.com should you be visiting us again so that we can take remedial action to ensure incident like this will not happen again.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

For our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children), the Somerset Grand was ideal. A spacious and pleasantly decorated 2 bedroom apartment, with a really great great restaurant with ample choices for breakfast and location in the heart of the city - within easy walking distance of most major attractions. Really comfortable beds and double-glazed windows made our retreat to our room after the hustle and bustle in the streets of Hanoi quite welcome. Staff service was excellent too. I would definitely stay here again if we were to return to the amazing city of Hanoi.

Room Tip: For a small family, I would highly recommend the 2 bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.
Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Grand Hanoi, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Warm regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartments for a long weekend and it did the job fine. The apartments have recently had a refurbishment so they are and nicely furnished. Bathrooms have not been refurbished however the fantastic shower pressure makes up for it....great shower!
It is on the edge of the old quarter so you can walk there easily enough, and it is easily accessible to other attractions...The Prison (right next door), Memorial museum, lakes, HCM museum etc... Hanoi centre is pretty small so easy to get around by taxi's which are cheap. I liked this location as it was NOT in the old quarter and so much quieter and got a good night’s sleep away from all the motorbikes and car horns!
It is a good serviced apartment, the staff are all pleasant with good English, it was value for money, it does what it is meant to do, just don't expect any sparkle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

First visit to Hanoi. Three of traveling together this hotel is perfect living room, dining table kitchen with washer/dryer unit. Two bed two bath. Has nice pool and gym. Restaurant on site offers wide selection of items. Good food at reasonable prices. Grocery store and other shops on site. Staff very friendly and polite
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodacious3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you to Somerset Grand Hanoi again.

Warm regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Somerset Grand Hanoi on multiple occacions and have always had an extremely pleasant stay. The poolarea/café is wonderful and the rooms large and luxurious with easy access to the rest of the city. A home away from home when I am in Hanoi!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTRAN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Grand Hanoi, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Warm regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
2.2 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#175 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#74 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#70 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#64 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Property: Somerset Grand Hanoi
Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#35 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing