We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #27 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Clean and tidy dorms with en suite. Free wifi, water and breakfast. Good location near plenty of restaurants. There was also a free walking tour of the city you could take every morning, however we never managed to do this. Not as good nightlife as the Downtown hostel, but there is usually a bar crawl that ends up there each night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieNelson_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    282
    142
    55
    36
See reviews for
5
130
258
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hostel was cheap and in a good, central location. Rooms were clean enough, however they switched off the A/C from 9-6 during the day, which is fine if you are out sightseeing. However we were just of an uncomfortable night bus journey and wanted a nap but with the room being warmer than it was outside this was impossible. After showering you were back to being a sweaty mess within 5 minutes. For this reason I wouldn't stay here again. Central Backpackers around the corner was much the same price with a/c during the day and much nicer dorm rooms.

The hostel was really busy with a good rooftop bar and pub crawls so if you're looking for something lively then its pretty good for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinsey2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loved this place! I will always stay here when coming back to Hanoi. The staff were so much help and lovely fun people. The free breakfast was gorgeous, free water and tea and coffee, which is such a help. The dorm rooms were surprisingly quiet considering the lively atmosphere downstairs and on the roof, and they were comfortable and clean. Really recommend this place especially for solo or small group travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in the hostel on Ma May (Downtown).
Great hostel, all you need from a backpackers hostel.
+ good location in heart of downtown
+ very sociable, the bar area is always busy, drinks and meal offers on, and entertainment.
+ plenty of showers/toilets on each floor (communal but clean and well maintained)
+ decent rooms - beds are quite close together, but plenty of storage.
+ good TV room on top floor
+ the trip to Sapa we booked with the hostel was amazing (little expensive though)
+ free breakfast - few options to choose from, and quite nice.
- computers are very old and slow
- trips are overpriced, look elsewhere in agencies near the hostel
- air con in rooms is a bit rubbish, quite stuffy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Original Backpacker hostel as the Downtown on Ma May was fully booked. The room we had stank of sewage and the hostel had run out of drinking water. There was only one toilet that we saw for the whole floor. The Downtown backpackers however is purpose built, new, very well run, and excels as a backpackers. The shower/toilet rooms on each floor are excellent and are well maintained. There's a large locker under each bed to lock things as large as backpacks away. Breakfast is included. The entrance area is always buzzing and it's a very sociable hostel with something happening every night, free drinks being handed out on some nights too. The last thing to mention is how excellent the reception staff were. Very attentive and willing to help despite being completely rushed off their feet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StroudandProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This one is the party place in Hanoi. For those that love australian party, is easy going, but if not, is ok as well because in the room you don´t realize about anything.
The common areas are good, with a lot of space. The breakfast is a little bit limited but ok. The rooms are clean and spacious and the WIfi good. The computers are really slow.
We found that the price of the tours to Halong Bay that they offer are U$20 overprice, so go to another agency, that you can find in the same street, Ma May.
We also took the free tour that they provide but seems to be a tour for promoting local stores (that probably have an agreement with the hostel) rather a historical o cultural tour. We found that this was a loss of time.

Room Tip: Stay in a bed far from the aircon, otherwise you will be freezing all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mecrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately this appears to be the place to stay in Hanoi (Ma May also). This gives the staff the advantage, consensus says they'll just tell you what you want to hear.

Rooms nothing to write home about, clean with A/C.

We booked Halong Bay and Sapa with the hostel from UK for ease. Lots of others were complaining about coat v value for HB. Our tour guide (from the company they give revenue to) made it an amazing trip. If you can leave it til Hanoi do so and shop around, tour shops on the street that Backpackers is on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 360 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 360 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 360 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#8 of 360 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing