We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #28 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently moved to Hanoi and I heard this was the place to be. I ended up staying in both Hanoi backpackers- and they are very, very different. The newer one is party central, whereas the older one definitely has a more laid back vibe. the rooms were ok- not anything special- but for south east asia they were more than passable.

Overall not a bad experience- just don't book your tours with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    284
    143
    55
    36
See reviews for
5
131
260
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the standpoint of the owner, this place is a tight ship. For the guest, it's a hassle a minute. Towels are available only as an add-on if you stay in the dorm, and it's certainly a reasonable price at the equivalent of U.S. 50 cents... oh wait, so sorry, "we don't have any more. Come back at 10pm please". What?! Air conditioning is conveniently located in all rooms...and kept off until 7pm, so if you've just arrived from a long day of travel and need to be in the room for a while in the late afternoon, hope you like sweating.

I believe that the owner does very well here, with two similar hostels in other towns, but unless you are in the private rooms, get ready for a truly second-class experience.

Room Tip: Private rooms are the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great value for money, great location, good food and drinks, lots of activitys... like the snake village experience and bar crawl.... just be careful... the bus tickets and halong bay tour are over priced!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was a nice hostel, with friendly staff. But I don't recomend anyone to book bus to china at the hostel. Or don't book anything because the prices for Halong Bay is really overpriced. Just go over the street and you will see Anna's Booking Office. She was extemely helpful, friendly and had good prices. At the hostel they didn't told us that we had to be at the busstation 30min before the departure, and also we thought it was a pick up from the hostel, at the time the bus actually departed. And when we realized it, we needed to take a taxi as soon as possible. I asked the staff if they could show us on the map where it was, and then I asked someone else if she could write the exact address. When I showed the address to Anna (who helped us to find a taxi) it showed that it was the wrong address. So I recomend everyone to book all tours at Anna's Booking Office. Otherwise the hostel was good, nice fruit plate for breakfast. Also I recomend you to do the walking tour, not very interesting but it was a nice way see the surroundings!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliaaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

There are 3 different locations for this hostel and a friend and I stayed at the downtown hostel. This place is honestly one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in and for just short of £6, it is amazing value for money. Breakfast was included in the price with a great choice of eggs and toast, pancakes and syrup and fruit and yoghurt with coffee. The dorm rooms had air conditioning and were amazingly clean and comfortable, as were the bathrooms. When you enter the hostel, there is a large communal area with a bar/restaurant and computers. This had a fantastic friendly feel to it, super fun and was a great place to meet other travellers.


The food was a little pricey but totally worth it if you were ever craving western food. However, if you wanted local cuisine then there were plenty of Vietnamese street restaurants and cafes on the doorstep. I would totally recommend the street BBQ restaurant that was close by as it was one of the best meals I have had in Vietnam. On leaving the hostel, turn left and just after a minute it will be on your left hand side. The meal is called bo nuong and I think the restaurant was called Xuan Xuan. On the menu, the beef is 200,000 for 2 but you can negotiate 100,000 for 2. Delicious!

The hostel offer halong bay tours which we didn't do through them as they were a bit more expensive than what you can find in the tour shops that are everywhere on the streets of hanoi. However, we did hear great reviews about them, especially the castaway tour if you are looking for a more fun, booze cruise feel to your Halong bay trip.

Most of the photos above don't seem to be of the downtown location and judging from the photos then it looks a lot better than the other locations. I don't have anything bad to say about this hostel and would totally recommend it to anyone staying in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the newer hostel 'Ma May' - the location was absolutely perfect. We went on the free waking tour ran by the hostel which was very informative and a great way to see Hanoi.

Great place to meet other people - bar downstairs is great (but a bit overpriced). All the other guys who are staying at the original hostel are brought over to this hostel in the evenings and after drinks at the bar, it's time to head on out on a bar crawl - our best night in Vietnam!

We spoke to a few of the staff on the front desk who were happy to give us recommendations etc - they were friendly enough.

Breakfast I would say is the worst thing, you can wait absolutely ages (especially if there is a trip to Halong bay that morning) and the choice is very poor.

Couldn't fault our pick up from the airport, a guy was there waiting for us when we got off the plane and he dropped us right outside the hostel.

I wouldn't hesitate recommending a stay at this hostel, it seemed the best place in town if you're up for partying and meeting new people!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you like to meet new friends, this is the place to be. This place is always hustling with backpackers and it's great to chat up. The beds are clean and there are clean towels & Hair dryer for rent. It has themed nights thus if you are a party animal and loves to drink, this is the place to be. I checked in on Jug Night and we got a free jug of beer by ordering a pizza. The place was quite noisy in the middle of the night but I am not sure if this happens to other nights as well. We only stayed a night and booked a tour to Sapa via this hostel. They have a storage space for backpacks and a comfortable lounge area where you can chill. My friend and I only stayed for a night here but it was a good place for us to relax/rearrange our bags whilst waiting for transfers to Sapa or the Airport. Overall, it was a good hostel experience. Clean bathrooms, free water refill, free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#12 of 367 in Hanoi
1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 367 in Hanoi
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 367 in Hanoi
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing