We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #33 of 450 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to the Backpacker close to the lake and the old district, the staff is friendly, the location is good, the rooms are cleans and you have some lockers, a good way also for meet nice people. I'd realy enjoy my staying here! i recommand for the low budgets, that is a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexm-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 861 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This australian hostel in the center is a great place to meet new people and have a fun time in Hanoi. With or without friends doesn't matter, you'll make new friends anyway! It's located quite nice in the Old Quarter. You can walk to a lot of sightings in the city, and the street food you'll find on your way through the old quarter is amazing!

Furthermore, the hostel is clean, the showers are good, the wifi works and the breakfast is delicious in the morning.

The old lady in front in the hostel, who sells cheap beer is really funny and should grab a beer there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaOlNu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you happen to visit Hanoi as a backpacker this hostel is the best accomodation you can ask for!
We were travelling in a group of 10 friends and we were able to get a big dorm room just for us (5usd per night per person breakfast included).
The common areas were clean and the staff was friendly, although they've tried too much to convince us to buy their packaged tours.

There is a lot of life in this hostel with many events organized every night to entertain and (mostly) to encourage people to spend their money on the alcool served at the hostel's bar (very very expensive for the Vietnamese standards).

We were so happy with the experience that we've decided to keep going with the backpackers and while in Hue we've decided to stay for three nights in their local hostel: same great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioMilano76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the downtown hostel -very poor reception staff, took over 20 minutes to check us in, booked into a 6 bed dorm but got put in a 12. We checked in two different times (as we left for the castaway trip and came back) and had the same problem both times. Checking is at 1pm, when we checked in at gone 3pm the bed were still being made and one of the house keeping staff was having a lie down on one of the beds. The aircon is poor, keeps turning off and cannot be controlled in the room, you have to go to reception and ask them to turn it on, they come up with the remote, and then leave with the remote. Overall alright place but the staff are rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bsj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good location in the Old quarter, nice staff, breakfast included is nice to have. The dorms are OK but some are big so it can get messy and noisy sometimes. Each bed having a big locker for bags and a small one next to the bed + reading lamp was really appreciated. The free walking tour is really cool, especially because as I did you can ask the guide for recommendations on street food, which is nice to have when you don't know the place and want to eat local (and cheap!). You can meet fellow travellers easily there too.
They have a very nice lounge area as well as a lot of events at night, but as a consequence it can be a party place out of the "real Hanoi". They sell food but mostly not local and expensive compared to what you can find in Hanoi.
To sum it up: good place to stay but don't forget to get out of the hostel to enjoy Hanoi!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed in the Ma May hostel and as a backpacker I would never stay in anywhere else in Hanoi! Fantastic location in the middle of the Old Quarter, really social atmosphere but still able to get a great night sleep and really helpful staff! If you are thinking of going out to Ha Long Bay definitely go with them to Castaways - fantastic!
Thanks so much!
xx

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 743KATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Definitely the it spot to meet other backpackers and get your party on. Not the quiet, relaxing guest house, but if you're traveling solo, it's easy to make friends for beer pong (every Monday!) or just to sit and chat over some tasty western food.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#15 of 450 in Hanoi
1,178 reviews
0 mi away
Luxury Backpackers Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 450 in Hanoi
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Quarter View Hanoi Hostel
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 450 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing