We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean professional place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #26 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good clean professional place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great little hostel in good location. Clean facilities with lots of added bonuses. Great management and staff. Can get a nit boisterous at nights but other than that great. One down side was the Halong Bay trip organised with them, our bed was full of cockroaches...maybe we should have drank more?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoebic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    277
    140
    55
    36
See reviews for
5
128
255
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Here is my laundry list of reasons why you shouldn't stay here:
- arrived at 1am to airport where backpackers said they'd have a taxi waiting for us to take us to the hostel. No such taxi ever arrived. We hopped in a cab that took us to the hotel but overcharged us. The night staff at Backpackers pretended they couldn't understand us and would not let us check-in until we paid the cab driver the full amount he was demanding. As soon as we paid him all of a sudden the night staff speak english to us and ask if we have a reservation. SCAM #1
- Don't believe that they have air conditioning. It doesn't work!!!! I woke up sweating my butt off every morning.
- rooms smell like mold
- We rented towels. We gave them the towels back in a bag but my cousins sunglasses were inside. About one hour later we ask the same staff for the sunglasses back but they claim they have not seen them. They allow my cousin into the laundry room to take a look around. The room was large and the staff never mentioned there was a lost and found and instead stood in front of it. Luckily out of the corner of her eye, she saw her sunglasses in a pile of other 'lost' items. She quickly grabbed them and the staff just played dumb like they forgot there was a lost and found in the laundry room.
- I booked the Ha Long Bay tour. If you are 19 and just want to get plastered on a boat to stupid card games than this is the tour for you. Otherwise, avoid! There was bugs in the rooms and all over the boat. Also, they claim there is air conditioning but its just a box that blows hot air at you. Furthermore, we went kayaking and they made the mistake of doing it late in the day and it got dark and people actually got lost!!! if we hadn't started screaming for our tour guide we would have ended up stranded in the middle of the china sea. Poor organization on our tour guides part!
- In terms of organization, the worst was the SAPA tour. Our tour guide was great and SAPA was amazing but we had several close calls that could ruin a persons trip and their safety. When we arrived in SAPA there was people holding up signs and they spelled my cousins name horribly wrong. Luckily we saw other westerners and they were on the same tour so we stuck with them. if we had gone alone would would have been F$*&ED since the train drops you off in Lao Cai, an hour away from Sapa. Skip forward 24 hours - we have an amazing time in SAPA and are told that our train actually leaves at 6:30pm and we have to separate from the tour group to make the train. Our tour guide leaves us with a non-english speaking driver to take us to get our train tickets in Lao Cai. The driver dropped us off at a restaurant and took off without even asking if we got our train tickets back to hanoi. We go into the restaurant and a (insert swearword here) receptionist asks us to sit down and order food. we'd already ate and asked for our tickets or we were going to miss our train. she sneers at us and says she can't help us. she basically forced us to eat their crappy food to get our tickets. We called Hanoi backpackers and the staff simply said 'what do you want us to do about it'. We decide to eat some crappy food and be done with it. when we finally get our tickets we see that our train is in fact for 8pm, not 6:30. so the whole time we could have stayed with our tour group and avoided this whole mess. OH - and while this was happening, my cousin had food poisoning and was throwing up, and the staff at the restaurant saw and didn't care at all - and even had the audacity to ask if she wanted a menu. These women had no class, just wanted to squeeze any money out of you that they could. This experience tainted what would have been an amazing trip to SAPA. When we got back to Hanoi we told the owner of the hotel what happened. We asked to be reimbursed for the money we spent on the meal in Lao Cai. At first he said he was going to have to follow up with 'the other parties involved' but before we left he offered us 200,000VDN for the meal and said he'd follow up electronically for the rest. I still haven't received an email from him. Overall, I just thought it was unfair that we got shipped off away from the tour group early while they got to spend the rest of the day in the SAPA markets and yet we all have to pay the same amount for the tour. Anyone who has to leave the tour early due to an early train should pay less since Backpackers books the trains in advance - so they know upfront who is getting the short end of the stick. Please not that this isn't an isolated incident involving getting back from Sapa to Hanoi. Other people were scammed worse than us. I hope someone from Backpackers reads this and take this advice: you need to make sure that tour guides escort westerners to the door of the train because people will literally scam you as your boarding the train.

Wow - so that was a long review but i feel people should be warned about their tours. They just don't feel safe or properly organized. I recommend going to Ha Long Bay and Sapa but definitely plan in advance with a tour company that has lots of good reviews.

When I got back to Hanoi we'd booked one more night with backpackers and we ended up in the building beside the original backpackers, i think it's called harmony hostel but it's actually owned by Backpackers. the rooms are newer, nicer, quieter, cheaper and they have bathtubs to shower in (VS the open concept toilet + sink + shower). try to get a room there instead!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in their sister hostel, it's right beside the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_christine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the new hostel on Mamay and it was really clean and welcoming. The double rooms are well equipped with great bathrooms and the dorms were clean and comfy. The communal areas were great - if a bit noisy. The food was excellent although service at the bar was a bit slow and indifferent.
Unfortunately in the 6th floor dorm we had no running water for our stay - something to do with water pressure - and had to walk down to the 4th floor to shower. The wifi reception was intermittent on the 6th floor as well although good in the communal areas.
You can't beat the dorms for value for money but be wary of the water and if you don't like noise, stay away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I went to the Hanoi backpackers in january 2010 by myself.
I didnt know about the reputation, but it turned out to be a partysyle hostel! great atmosphere! good clean rooms, mixed dorms, great (but more expensive) offers to daytrips and stuff
they do know how to entertain you at night, and happy hour is amazing! also their bbq hamburgers on the rooftopbar is great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosfallout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

if you are not and you don't steer clear!

dorms are cheap and busy, the rooms are fairly quiet and people won't keep you awake - mainly becuase they will be partying in the bar (which is far enough away to be out of ear shot) all night.

it's the kind of bar where the bar tender stands on the table and pours spirits into the open mouths of the crowd of people below

i met some nice people but i felt old and a bit of a party pooper! (i'm over 25 but not that far over)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajones089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

stayed here for a night and did the ha long bay rock long rock hard tour with the hostel. The two night ha long bay tour was fantastic and a great way to meet like minded travelers up for the craic, however not worth the money unless you are ready to party as it is essentially a booze cruise. However this hostel managed to spoil the rest of our trip for us as we made the mistake of booking our 4 stop overnight bus with them and found ourselves booked with the worst bus company i have come across so far in my travels through asia. The hostel charges 42$ for a bus ticket and it quickly became apparant that the hostel pockets a large sum of that by using the cheapest bus company it can find. Very disappointing and once you have left Hanoi there is no one to go back and complain to when you find that the overnight sleeper bus you payed for is in fact a local seater bus for 12 hours through the day. The hostel itself is great fun, clean and comes with a free breakfast but just make sure you stay away from there bus tickets and stick with sinh tourist!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kitravel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed in 2 different dorm rooms at ma may, $6/night. Room was clean, shower wasn't working so i got moved to a different room. Really good realx area with pool tabel, darts, tv ,balcony, couches etc. Heaps of computers. Staff were friendly and very helpful - they even helped bandage one of my feet after I cut it up on rocks in Halong. The rooms are actually really quiet too. A lot of people seem to be writing that its hard to sleep here but its really not. I think the doors might even be noise insulated or something?

Good place if you are looking to party - just about everyone else staying there is. The Halong bay cruise out of here is incredibly expensive compared to others - but I would definitely recommend it. I did the three day one and you get to know your fellow cruisers suprising well. Probably not the best idea if you really want a good nights sleep there though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waxcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 341 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#6 of 341 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing