We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Ranked #40 of 651 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Silver Moon, although the name has changed several times. The friendly staff seemed to recognise me as soon as I walked through the door. This time I had room 603 which might be the best room in the hotel. It has a nice view of the lake. Breakfast is no longer on the seventh floor with the lake view but across the road at the Artisan café, also owned by Ms Moon. Breakfast is quite ample, but not the buffet style of previous visits. The room itself is quiet and comfortable. There is no longer a computer in the room. Wifi is provided free but I found it very slow at certain times of the day. The hotel location is very good, on a quiet street with easy access to restaurants and the lake for an early morning walk. Staff were helpful and friendly with a good command of English. I stayed there five days, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for 603 for a view of the lake. Lower down the view is obscured by buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Mr. David,

Firstly on behalf of our hotel management I would love to thank you very much for your nice comment following your recent stay at the Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the services from our team as well as the enthusiastic staffs

You will be glad to know that we have already conveyed your compliments to all the staff which will definitely boost their morale and spur them to provide only the best to all our valued guests like your good self. Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincere yours,
Ms. Ngan - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 364 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Silver Moon Lakeside Hotel - A Family Hotel - A Home away from a home


On our arrival from the airport (pick up arranged by the hotel) we were ushered to the seventh floor for breakfast. They welcome us like long lost friends. There were a good selection of choices

This restaurant has a beautiful view of the Hoan kiem Lake. One could see lots of activities happening there.

This hotel is located just behind the hustle and bustle of Hang Gai - the famous silk road, a strategic location. This road is very quiet and minutes walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake and various attractions.

It has a elevator and the rooms are well equipped, safe in the wardrobe, mini refrigerator, fan aircon, electric kettle complete with hair dryer. Tea & coffee and toilerties are supplied every day. Rooms are well decorated completed with a rose each in the room and the bathroom as well. There is a shower cubicle which keeps the bathroom dry.

There are two PCs plus a printer at the lobby for guests to use. Their Wifi is super fast and one can access the internet anywhere inside the hotel.

There is a restuarant infront of this hotel which served a wide selection of food from local to western and hotel guests get a discount for dinning there.

The staff are incredibly kind and take care of our every step especially the tours. They are very attentive and accommodating. They are extremely service-minded, at the reception desk in the breakfast area and as well as the housekeepers. Some of the staff have been with them for more than 5 years, since "Golden Sun Hotel" days.

From the airport till our departure, they make sure that we are enjoying our holidays.

Stayed here twice and this little gem is highly recommended and we will stay here again if and when we come back to Hanoi.

This is one of Ms Moon's hotel in Hanoi and all of them are under her care and she make sure that the quality of the hotel is maintained.


My friend Leong comments

I'm really satisfied with the Hotel very convenient for food and shopping and with all friendly staff expecially front desk and great breakfast.

Definitely will recommend to all my friend and will comeback to stay again if happen to visit Hanoi.

My friend Wong's comments

My friends and I enjoyed the Hanoi/Halong Bay trip. Thank you.

The hotel service is excellent, all the assistants are helpful, friendy and smiling all the times.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front would have a balcony for you to sip and enjoy your veitnamese coffee. The room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doreencheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Doreen Cheong,



Thank you for your gracious and detailed comments toward the Silver Moon Lakeview hotel on Tripadvisor. That is a great chance of having you as our regular guest and your enjoying staying at our hotel as our goal for all our staff and our effort to keep it as your home whenever you staying with us. It makes me very delighted to know that you were happy with the hotel facilities; location and the efficient service from our team.



Please send our greetings and our best regards to your friends - Mrs. Leong and Mrs. Wong. We hope you are always doing well and we are looking forward to receiving you and your friends again at Silver Moon Lakeview hotel.


All the best for you.


Ms. Nancy - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent service and great location. You are right by the lake and Old Town but off the busy streets. There's not a lake view but we really enjoyed our stay and the hotel employees were great! There's a lot of places to choose from but we'd easily return here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lea_y_Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Todd,

How nice to read your soooo sweet review on the site of Tripadvisor! We - the staff of Silver Moon Lakeview hotel are very proud that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel last year. Also, we are so appreciate that you loved our service and our location.

It has been a pleasure having you with your partner as our resident and we are glad to have provided you with a memorable experience.

Should you come to Hanoi in the future, please consider returning stay at Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel. We do forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Your sincerely,

Ms. Nancy - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the silver moon for two nights before heading off to Halong Bay. The room was spacious, clean and had good air con. Shower was nice and hot and the mini bar was cold. Price was great at $25 a double.

Staff were very helpful, changing money, organising a scooter for us each day and booking taxi's etc.. they also told us where we could find each type of street food we were looking for. They booked halong bay and a train trip too. Nothing was a problem for them.

Breakfast was great, there were several options on the breakfast menu (Vietnamese and american style). You could choose whatever you wanted with fresh juice and coffee as well. The view from the breakfast room was excellent - over the lake.

There were a few very small negatives.....the sister hotel (Madame moon) was actually supposed to pick us up from the airport but there was no car waiting. A quick phone call and they had a guy there in about 10 minutes though....There are 4 hotels linked together in this little group I think.....

Also the Silver moon booked us a halong bay tour on the Margerite. The photos we were shown in the hotel did not reflect the boat we were put on....Now, this is not neccessarily silver moons fault. The photo book was outdated in the hotel as apparently all the boats in Halong bay are now painted a hideous white....not the old brown timber junk we were expecting.
Also, we actually saw 3 (yes 3) boats named the Margerite and only 1 of them was 4 star as it turns out and this was not our boat. We should have looked more closely into this situation.
I don't think the hotel knew the Halong Bay cruise boat company had these variations in their system.....

Saving grace for the silver moon is that the staff were great and when we arrived back in Hanoi after a days travelling from Halong Bay, they gave us a free room for the afternoon and evening for us to use til we caught our train out of town late that night. Very nice indeed.....
Thanks Silver Moon. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on the 7th floor. . If you stay on the 7th you stroll straight out of your room into br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Trevor,

Warmly greetings from Hanoi Silver Moon Lakeview hotel!!!

With our great thanks to you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor and we are proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to thank you for commenting favorably on our room and our staff. We are very glad that our team has been able to serve you so well. We are pleased as well to see that in general you were happy with the services that you received during your stay with us. Except for a few very small negative things that you mentioned in your comments. We are all appreciate that you just consider them as very small thing as it won't influence to your stay at our hotel.

Thank you once again for your heartfelt sharing on this site and we’re hoping to see you back to our hotel in your favorable time.

Yours affectionately,
Ms Nancy - Team managements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rose petals on the bed, the pictures tell it like it is for once. Thao was great, helped organise our tours to halong bay and tam coc. We arrived late in the evening and she took all the hassle out of everything. All we had to do was go to bed. Breakfast was the best we'd had in Vietnam. Wish we could have stayed longer. Nothing but praise for silver moon and staff.

Room Tip: Even room at front with balcony was quiet, on a quiet side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mareealys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Reviewer below has all the details correct. We just stayed there in April for our third time; although it had been two years since we were there, we were greeted by the same faces as if we were family. The location is very convenient for quick shopping forays, and food abounds in this area just off the city center.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room to get a lake view if wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnapHappy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Snap,

Greetings from Hanoi Silver Moon Lakeview hotel!

We would love to thank you so much for taking time to sharing your great experiences in our hotel. It's great to be your Home - sweet - Home in Hanoi. And we are much appreciate if we have more chances to welcome here.

We are so appreciate your compliment about our staff and our location. We do hope to have a chance to deliver this unique experience to make our valued guests always have a memorable experience and satisfaction during the time in Hanoi.

Look forward to have another time to see you here.

With our best regards,

Ms. Nancy - Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I could have easily stayed at this hotel for a month and been quite happy! It’s in a perfect location in the old quarter, just around the corner from Hoan Kiem Lake, and in close proximity to restaurants, shops, Silk St. . . . we even walked to the Hanoi Hilton from the hotel. We stayed here in March for 2 nights before going to Sapa and Halong Bay, then another 3 nights on our return. It was a great find for $35 incl tax. The rooms are very clean and spacious, bathrooms are in good condition with hot shower. For our last 3 nights after Sapa and Halong bay, we stayed in a room with a balcony, although not all rooms have them. Complimentary water, tea and coffee are in the rooms, also Wifi. The breakfast room is on the top floor with a beautiful view of the lake. Breakfast is included in the room price and ordered from a menu with both western and Asian options. When you sit you down, the server will bring you a fresh fruit plate and yogurt before you order. That, including your breakfast order, is almost too much food. You could order fresh squeezed juices which were great. And the staff was wonderful. They are so pleasant and helpful, especially Nagn (Nancy) at the front desk, who was so helpful when booking our side trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. As a bonus, I suspect because we booked through her, we received a free ride to the airport when we checked out. What was really impressive was our train trip to Sapa - the bellboy hopped on his moto and followed our taxi to the train station, then he walked us right up to our train car and helped us on the train! On our return trip from Sapa, the bellboy was waiting for us at the train station at 4:30 AM, grabbed our bags, found us a taxi and followed us back to the Silver Moon. The train station in Hanoi is very crowded and confusing, so we were grateful for the extra attention. The staff really made our stay a memorable experience in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelvixen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ha n, Front Office Manager at Artisan Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Travelvixen99,

On behalf of our hotel management, I am Ms. Nancy would love to say sincerely thank you so much for your stay at our hotel and your kindly words on Tripadvisor.com. It's valuable gift for us to try harder to make our guest's stay be as comfort as possible.

We are all very happy as you really enjoyed your stay with us in late Mar and early Apr. It's our pleasure to try our best to make your trip unforgettable. Thank you once again for your nice words regards to our location, our staff and especially our service.

Warmly welcome you back to Hanoi Silver Moon Lakeview in near future.

P/s: If there is a chance to visit Can, I definite ask for your help. It would be great if we have friends everywhere, right?

So take care yourself and have a nice day.

With our best regards,

Ms. Nancy - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Golden Lakeside Hotel
Golden Lakeside Hotel
#258 of 599 in Hanoi
11 reviews
0 mi away
Hanoi Morning Hotel
Hanoi Morning Hotel
#182 of 599 in Hanoi
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#52 of 599 in Hanoi
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#27 of 599 in Hanoi
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Lakeview Hotel

Address: 23 Hang Hanh St | Old quarter, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam (Formerly Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $33 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artisan Lakeview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan Lakeview Hotel is located on the quiet side of Hoan Kiem Lake in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, within immediate vicinity of all the services and the beautiful nature. We provide a pleasant accommodation, a wide range of exciting culinary experiences, and friendly service. This family-owned hotel is well known for its warm atmosphere. Welcome and enjoy a relaxing holiday.Our 15 well-equipped accommodations provide a comfortable setting for staying overnight. The rooms are cozily decorated and well lit, and sure to suit all preferences. Select the alternative that best suits you from double rooms to spacious family rooms and suites. In our pleasant lobby, you can read newspapers or talk with our front desk team to know more about Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Artisan Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Lakeview Hotel Hanoi
Golden Sun Hanoi
Hotel Golden Sun
Golden Sun Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing