We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery II Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$140
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$56
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$206
$189
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$65
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$52
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
$76
$50
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$57
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$135
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
56
38
12
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
38
12
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterwill stay there againrecommend staying hereenjoyed my staythe hotel managerhoan kiem laketourssapadormitoryairportfridgemattressvietnamstreetmapdong
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 121 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Owners always giving good advice. An ideal location close to all the restaurants etc ... Clean rooms with all the comforts that we're entitled to expect from much more expensive hotels. Why pay more elsewhere when you can get the same service with friendly staff ?
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas_P40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Do_Hanoi_Star, Manager at Discovery II Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Mr. Nicolas,

On behalf of our hotel I do want to say thank you so much for your kind to stay in my hotel and use our service. Much happier to see your such a nice review about my hotel.

Thank to your kind we will keep trying our best to offer better and better service.

Hope to have a chance to see you again.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

the staff here were extremely helpful and cheerful. good location.
and none of that forcing tours and extras down your throat. but there were plenty of tours and guidance on offer if you wanted it.
i booked my Halong bay tour through them and it was perfect.
rooms were comfortable, big tv and heaps of hot water.
if im back in Hanoi i would not hesitate comin back and chillin with the staff here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knobby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We weren't even planning to stay at this hotel - just went in to book bus tickets, but the staff were so helpful and so friendly - letting us leave our bags and have showers, showing us sights to see in Ha Noi, really cannot recommend their hotel more. On our return from Ha Long Bay we stayed here because of the friendly reception the first time and we were not disappointed. $15 for a clean and well furnished room in the centre of the Old Quarter, can't do much better than that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em_Power10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

the hanoi star hotel is within the old quarter section of hanoi, so it is convieniently positioned to the many shops, restaurants, markets, bars, etc. (a 5 minute walk to hoen kiem lake, too). safe, clean, and attractive hotel. family, single or group rooms from $20- $40. elevator. cozy lobby area (with wi-fi). friendly, helpful english speaking management and staff. tour guide and reservation service. as a frequent visitor to hanoi, i personally appreciate knowing of this hotel, and the wonderful staff. thank you.

Room Tip: just tell the staff your needs and they will make certain of your satisfaction.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hanoi Stars for one night. We had a huge room with a balcony just for the two of us, against a very fair price. The room itself had everything we needed: aircon, television and even a fridge. Further, the shower was very good!

About the staff; we were very lucky that Quynh was on duty. She is one of the most helpful and friedliest people we met on our three-month trip throughout South East Asia! We asked her over a hundred questions which she all answered with the same level of interest, sincerety and kindness. Hence, we definitely recommend other travellers to staying here (especially if you're full of questions about Hanoi and Vietnam)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joel2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews