We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Street Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hanoi
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
32
18
4
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
18
4
12
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 78 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Reasonable and fantastic stay at this hotel. Tour booking safety and good rate. We recommend and vote this hotel to be the 1#. Moreover, when we back from our trip in Ha long, we have stayed at its brother hotel – Hanoi Green street – we were all satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Old Street Hostel (now seemingly called Green Street Hostel) is a good enough place to stay if you want a cheap option with private rooms in the old quarter of Hanoi. The rooms are very basic with no frills. Breakfast is included in the room fee but it is very basic (white bread, greasy eggs, instant coffee). This is not a bad place. I would say it is probably average in its price range in Hanoi. I think I paid about $18 USD for a private room. As with most places in Vietnam (and southeast Asia in general), there was no shower or bath tub, just a shower head in the bathroom. The hostel did have free wifi as well as two computers for guests to use. The wifi is standard but, in my experience, not all hostels had computers for guests to use.

The hostel will book trips for you if you want. I didn't book anything through them because I had my own plans of things to do.

Overall, a decent option if you're traveling on a budget and want to avoid the "Spring Break" party atmosphere at some other hostels such as the Backpackers Hostel.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, make sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the street because the street is very busy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbunny_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

we stayed at this hotel after we checked other ones because of clean room and friendly staff. First step we came in the hotel, the receptionist welcomed us with her smile and she showed the nice room for me
During our staying, Staff were friendly and helpful, Ms Hong is new Owner who was helpful, nice smile and assisted us many useful local information and escorted Halong bay, Perfume Pagoda Trip for us, she also suggested us the cheapest way to the Central and the South of Vietnam. She reserved Hotel in Hue (Sports Hotel), Hoian (Hoang Trinh Hotel) and Nha Trang (oriole Hotel) for us, they offered free pick up at the bus and train Station to all hotels we stayed at.
Old Street Hotel was really accommodating in Hanoi

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberty2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Well locationed to get around Hanoi. Reasonable rates and very friendly helpful staff. All the best Dinh. Steven Hipwell, Lichfield, UK.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenhipwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights in total.

After looking at several hotels within the same price range, we find Old Street hotel of good value and one of the most well-kept in the area. The room is cleaned daily, breakfast is good, the staff are friendly and the location is fantastic.

We did get a few queries about our onward plans, but a certain aggressive staff left us alone after we made it very clear that we are making our own independent plans. It is true that easy profit is made from package tours and certain hotels can be very unscrupulous. However there is perhaps only one bad nut in this hotel, while the rest of the staff are very gracious and keen to please.

We had a good time staying here and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews