We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and wonderful experience in Hanoi!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #11 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Friendly and wonderful experience in Hanoi!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place was amazing. One of the best places I've ever stayed in in all my travels in Asia. Little Hanoi Hostel was the first place I'd ever stayed at in Vietnam. My friend and I came for 5 days to visit Hanoi and we had the absolute best trip ever. When you travel to a new country that you haven't been to before it is wonderful and unexpectedly pleasant to have such a great stay at a youth hostel. The best part of our stay was the friendly and helpful staff. David treated us not just as guests but as friends who had come into town to visit. In the mornings we were treated to wonderful complimentary breakfasts and asked what we had planned to do for the day and helped in every way with planning out our daily itineraries and trip to Halong Bay! I came back to Hanoi for a second trip and again had the most wonderful time thanks to David and all the staff at Little Hanoi Hostel. I look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    164
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
166
171
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Dave and Lilly at reception were so helpful and gave us information on anything that we needed to know! Along with booking all of our trips in the local area. THANKYOU little Hanoi hostel!!!
Highly recommend the sapa north trip and the omelette that they serve for breakfast at the hostel

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bibi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

To keep it short: I was impressed. Not only is the at atmosphere at Little Hanoi authentic and inviting, the staff were amazingly helpful and always cheerful (especially given the fact that the weather was not perfect). Great help, if you are looking for things to do around or needed information concerning local fares and trips to Ha Long Bay, etc.
Top notch rooms for little money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Immediately welcomed with free beverages (coffee, tea or juice) and fruit! Amazing staff, David was the most welcoming man on our trip! Complimentary food in the morning, and David even cooked a meal for us one evening and was so incredibly friendly! Very knowledgeable staff shared quality local restaurants within walking distance, and provided excellent tour information for our trips to Halong Bay and Sapa.

Everyone travelling to Hanoi should stay here, its as much of a must-see destination as any of the landmarks to be found in Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

As we walked in to the Little Hanoi Hostel we were immediately welcomed with huge smiles and free beverages (coffee, tea or juice)! Proceeding to check into our room the staff couldn't be happier to see new travellers! Waking up to a complementary breakfast menu was amazing, quality food and once again very sociable! Very knowledgeable staff shared quality local restaurants within walking distance, and provided excellent tour information as well.

Overall I highly recommend this friendly place to stay, they welcome everyone with a warm hand and provide excellent service day in day out.

Room Tip: Never hand a bad stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenGardenits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the Little Hanoi Hostel for a couple of nights and had a great time.
The staff was extreemly friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was simple but good.
The place is walkable distance to anywhere u would wanna be in town. So overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Hanoi was my first stop when arriving in Vietnam and I spent my first week there, and stayed at Little Hanoi Hostel the whole time. I can not fault this hostel for any reason. the location is great, it is walking distance from all the main tourist sites, amazing restaurants, and of course the beautiful markets. The hostel itself is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, the water is hot, the bathroom is enormous compared to other places I stayed, the beds are comfortable, the air conditioning is outstanding and FREE!! and there is wifi from every level!

Although the hostel was great that is not the reason I would go back again and again! The pure reason I wouldn't suggest anywhere else to stay is because of the gorgeous staff!! I can not begin to describe how pleasant they made our trip to Hanoi! There were two receptionists that particularly made my trip, Dave and Lilly! Every day Dave would give us a map with new things to see/places to eat/drink and would explain clearly how to get there. He made booking buses, trains and yours easy as pie, we would tell him what we were interested in doing, he'd get his brochures out and suggest his preference(which was always the best) and it would be booked in minutes! He always greeted with a smile and was always happy and polite, genuinely! Not once was he rude or short or unclear!

Then there was Lilly, she was just as helpful. She also showed us amazing places to go that Dave missed. She always made sure that she'd helped us in the way we wanted and received her instructions clearly, which we always did. We were unlucky enough to be in Hanoi when the typhoon was meant to hit and that night we were meant to travel by bus but Lilly was genuinely concerned and advised us not to stay, the only trouble was we had no room. We didn't really want to move hostels and they didn't want to hassle us and move is either so Lilly did everything in her power to find us a room. There was three of us and all she could do was get us a twin single room but pulled some magic and made the two beds into a huge king size bed and we all slept comfortably and safely. She too was always smiling, was never rude despite the stress and the fact she was pregnant in Hanoi heat, and she always made us laugh with her jokes.

I plan to visit Hanoi again and you can bet your bottom dollar that this is where I'll be staying.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 367 in Hanoi
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#12 of 367 in Hanoi
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#10 of 367 in Hanoi
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Brother Inn & Travel
0.6 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#15 of 367 in Hanoi
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hanoi Hostel

Property: Little Hanoi Hostel
Address: 48 Hang Ga Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hanoi Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Hanoi HoStel is located in the old quarter of Hanoi.There are rooms from: Singles, Doubles, Twins, Triples and even a Dorm room with BUNK BEDS for the budget minded travellers. AlL rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with hot water 24 hours, cable TV, A/C, and modern bathtub bathrooms. Those are just the necessities - as a special extra: Free TEA, COFFEE, FRESH FRUIT and FLOWERS everyday. Fresh buffet breakfast will be your useful healthy option when staying here. Your sastisfaction is the first hostel service piority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing