We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel at a great price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #11 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hostel at a great price!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed in their dorm for just a night!! Very clean and the hosts were very friendly and helped us cover as much as possible in Hanoi.. the free breakfast is an added bonus coz very few hostels in vietnam seem to offer one for free!! cheers!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshwinVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    165
    37
    12
    4
See reviews for
44
167
173
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've been travelling Southeast Asia for 2.5 months now and this was by far the best hostel I have stayed at. Dave and another woman were so welcoming when we first checked in. My friend and I stayed in a very spacious and clean twin bedroom, with an adjoining washroom. This was also very clean. Also, our floor was very quiet, unlike some other hostels I've stayed at. Dave was very knowledgeable about where to eat, drink, and shop, circling on a map multiple places we should visit. Prior to our stay, the staff helped arrange a tour in Halong Bay via Fantasea Cruises over e-mail. We were able to confirm our booking when we arrived and left the next day. The cruise turned out to be a wonderful experience, the staff on the boat being very friendly and knowledgeable. We also got to visit the caves and kayak on the water! When we returned to the hostel, Dave greeted us and continued to give us recommendations on nearby restaurants before our flight.

The staff and their attentiveness is what truly made this experience so great. Very friendly, efficient, and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I am coming back to Vietnam just so I can stay here again! David and Lilly were so amazing. Friendly, so helpful and always smiling. I cannot fault the hostel in any way. The only thing that disappointed me was that they didn't have enough room for my last night in Hanoi. But even then, Lilly sourced another room for me at another branch closer to the lake. Kim in this branch is lovely too, very sweet. All in all the best hostel I think I will ever stay in and, had I not already booked my train ticket, would probably stay here for the duration. Clean rooms, nice people and good location. Thanks again Little Hanoi Hostel! X

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had been recommended the hostel by a fellow traveller and it lived up to the positive expectations I was given: There is free fruit and drinks (coffee/tea) available all day and the staff are extremely friendly, using first names where possible. I can't fault there desire to make a customers stay welcome. However, even if you book ahead or in person you can't guarentee your room! People booked tours to Halong Bay and Sapa (excellently organised and very highly recommended) and booked nights/rooms in Little Hanoi for when they returned but because the weather had turned bad the owners couldn't turn away the people in the rooms that had been booked in advance because they felt bad that the weather was poor and wanted to let them stay another night - kind and caring, yes - but for the people who had already booked it was very annoying. We sat for a long time in reception whilst they transferred us to their other hotels - fine but annoying when we had booked and were expecting a room there. Sometimes you can be too nice and end up causing irritation to others. I also stayed in the dorm but the air con leaked all over the floor and so we couldn't have it on in the night and the room was unbareable - I sat out in reception half way through the night to get some air. It was awful. I am sure that if the air con worked it would have been absolutely fine and excellent value for money but it turned out to be my worst night spent in Vietnam, so check it is working before you stay! It is however very clean with good sized beds and very friendly staff. In spite of the negatives i experienced I would stay here again if in Hanoi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBex1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fab hostel- the pictures really don't do this place justice. Very clean and tidy and will do anything for their guests.

The staff were so friendly and helpful. They remeber your name and use it each time they see you so more like a hotel than a hostel. They will give you a map and help show you were to visit. We had a complimentary bottle of water when we left for the airport which was lovely.

David & Lilly on reception were fantastic and thanks for sorting out our cooking class, The night porter was cool too as he sat and watch the footy with me in reception. Internet is good in the hostel. Rooms are good with each bed gettig a reading light and clean towels was a luxury.

Thanks for a fab stay- missing your hostel and vietnam now back in the UK
Will be back in a few years to see you all

Room Tip: go and try the local Bai Hoi beers- an awesome experience. Great place to soak up the atmostphere an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveholton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Room was big, big bed, clean bathroom with hot shower, up a lot of stairs but thats vietnam!
Air con worked and it started dripping and was fixed immediately.
Welcome was enthusiastic, we were sat down to make the most of free fruit and tea and free water.
The staff made a real effort to say hello to everyone comig in and were really helpful booking tours.
I think there were just a lot of people around and the manager lady seemed to want to be involved with everyone so just felt a bit hectic which isnt what you want after battling those roads! Also we paid and left her to book our train tickets, having booked soft sleeper in the same cabin we ended up with hard sleeper in differet cabins which was a bit of a shock before a 16 hour journey when noone on the train spoke english, make sure you stay with the staff while they book and check exactly what youve got.
They were amazing when we came back from halong bay, though, let us have a shower before getting our train.
In a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenT12_3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this hostel late at night, stepping right off a domestic flight with no prior booking. "Courage" the host gave us a warm welcome and made sure we were satisfied for our entire 2 day stay there. The cable TV, great choice of breakfast and endless cup of Vietnamese coffee included in the room fee was a nice touch and made for an easy start to the day. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniels L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#59 of 588 in Hanoi
1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 371 in Hanoi
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#13 of 371 in Hanoi
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#10 of 371 in Hanoi
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Brother Inn & Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hanoi Hostel

Property: Little Hanoi Hostel
Address: 48 Hang Ga Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hanoi Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Hanoi HoStel is located in the old quarter of Hanoi.There are rooms from: Singles, Doubles, Twins, Triples and even a Dorm room with BUNK BEDS for the budget minded travellers. AlL rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with hot water 24 hours, cable TV, A/C, and modern bathtub bathrooms. Those are just the necessities - as a special extra: Free TEA, COFFEE, FRESH FRUIT and FLOWERS everyday. Fresh buffet breakfast will be your useful healthy option when staying here. Your sastisfaction is the first hostel service piority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing