We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Hanoi Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$43
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$313
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
460
169
39
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
169
39
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong baydorm roomold quarterfree coffee and teaair conbooking toursnight buscat baairport pickupa great staystayed here for nightsrooms are cleankimtripslakebackpackersmap
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 685 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights and found the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, all be it a little small. The only negative was the recpetion shut really early (11pm ish) This meant that the commal bit was then also closed (which is a shame as 4 of us were travelling together and had to squash in a room) The breakfasts were nice and cooked fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulito86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the second time we stayed at Little Hanoi after visiting Vietnam 18-months earlier.

On our first visit, the hotel was not so full so we were treated to a little more attention and friendliness from the staff to such an extent that we were certain that this was going to be the place that we'd always stay at in the future.

This time around, after making an online booking some 3-months in advance for a twin room, we were given a triple. The morning after we'd arrived, we were asked (make that ordered) to move to a smaller room which was closer to the noisy reception area as they "had a lot of triple bookings now". We had to pack up all of our stuff and carry our packs ourselves down one set of stairs and then up the other ones to the new room.

To add insult to injury, my wife got bitten extremely badly by bed bugs in the new room. In the morning, we told them what had happened and were assured that they would spray & disinfect the room & linen. Upon arriving back in the afternoon, we could not notice or smell any major difference in the beds or the room making us question whether the fumigation actually took place.

During the next night, my wife was bitten again quite badly. We told them a second time of the issue as we went out to the pharmacy to get some creams & ointments to stop all of the itching & weeping skin that my wife had on her arms & chest. These were not little nips either, they were huge welts in large patches that were unsightly and obviously extremely painful. They really didn't seem to interested in the problem preferring to focus more on getting the next group of travellers booked in and keeping the cash register ticking over.

We do not believe that anything was done about the bed bug problem even after complaining twice so this had a very bad effect on our thoughts on this hotel overall.

The other thing was that it appeared that the clientele they were targetting was different this time around with a heavier emphasis on younger backpacker types which obviously may have contributed to the bed bug issue. We were by far the oldest people in the place which was not the case on our original visit. Younger travellers may like this place a lot but we were really dissappointed with it in the end and just cannot recommend it for any good reason.

The complimentary breakfast is as plain as day (if I ever see another baguette & fried egg again it'll be too soon), the noise at night made it difficult to sleep (most of the noise came from the night staff playing cards & smoking) and the general attention to minor detail had slipped quite dramatically.

We also had the problem of them making an error in the costs (I paid everything up front on arrival) and they rang us in the room quite late which woke us up the night before we had to be up at dawn to get to the airport for a very early flight to insist that we come down and pay the extra amount.

This place was the friendliest and best place to stay in Hanoi once upon a time, sadly, from our perspective, they have dropping the ball just too far for us and not only will we never stay there again, we just cannot recommend it with any conviction or honesty.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tam T, Manager at Little Hanoi Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

It is wrong situation. We do not want to guesse why the guest wrote like that, just see we have many customers daily, no one have to be suffered from that. Just stop doing not right things. We only know to serve our guest by our heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here when we first arrived in Vietnam and were so pleasantly suprised when we were greeted with such warm and friendly staff.
Unfortunately my fiance was quite sick with tonsilitis for 3 days so we were confined to our room while I nursed him back to health! The lady at reception (I can't remember her name but we'll never forget her) took us to the nearest pharmacy and translated our problem to them so we could by some medicine. Also they asked me every day if he was ok and gave advise and concern. Nice touch when in a strange new City!
All the staff speak perfect English and are very honest and helpful when advising tours...not pushy at all and respect your budget and wishes.
The food here is very good! We ate there every night as my fiance Ryan wasn't up for any Asian food while he was unwell. Great western food and Vietnamesse too!
We arranged a 2 day and 1 night boat trip to Halong Bay which was great. Although I would advise you to take your own drinks including water, beer, soft drinks! As NO drinks are free OR CHEAP on the boat! A small water is normally 5,000-10,000 Dong and on the boat they are double the price. Even the tea and coffee at breakfast isn't free and the readily top your cup up without telling you then charge you for it later. We relayed this info back to the lady and she wasn't aware at all and promised to warn future travellers, infact she was quite annoyed and shocked by it!
The hostel safely stored the bulk of our luggage while we were away on the trip which made life alot easier as we only needed to take 1 small over night bag with us.
We can't fault this hostel!
Choose this hostel or Little Hanoi 2 as we also stayed there - see review.
Loved it!!!!!
Otherwise it was fun and well worth seeing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0byn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Love Little Hanoi Hotel and will be recommending this to friends! Stayed a few nights here and booked my tours to Sapa and Halong Bay with them. The staff are super helpful and nothing is too much of a problem. You get fresh fruit in your room and tea and coffee in reception at any time. There is wi-fi and computers in reception which is also great. Breakfast is pretty standard, but if you have absolutely any questions the staff are willing to help.

Rooms are really clean with air con and fan, fridge and modern fittings. No window's but it doesn't seem to matter.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

It was my first bed in vietnam and i really enjoyed. They are nice people in a crazy city

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Borshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews