We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best backpacker friendly place in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #3 of 576 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best backpacker friendly place in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

This place is amazing for backpackers and budget travellers alike. I visited with my girlfriend with plans to stay for a couple of nights but ended up spending an entire week. I cant remember what we paid but it was great value. We had a fridge in our room, air con, a fan too, a bathroom with HOT WATER! towels changed every day, beds made every day, even on the day we left. The best bit about the place is the staff. Mrs Moon, Tin and Ha are the three people we spoke to and all three were incredibly helpful. They assisted with booking trips, looking after our baggage, making us our breakfast (free and so nice!), calling us taxis so we didnt get conned on the street and even fielding phone calls from our parents! Tin especially was fantastic and helped us plan an entire itinerary for the week including Halong Bay trips, walking tours of Hanoi and trips to the Tam Coc Caves. You would be lucky to find anywhere else better than this at these prices in Hanoi.

  • Liked — Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff and the free internet and breakfast.
  • Disliked — Nothing - all great.
  • Tips/Secrets — Room 3 has a fan and air con - handy in the sticky rainy season.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Zicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    323
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
202
690
172
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

This guesthouse is a must! My boyfriend and I have just spent a week there and thouroughly enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend it. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are very friendly, helping you with any trips you may want to do, quoting good prices. The rooms are clean and well decorated and the pick-up service from the airport is also very useful. I would say ten out of ten!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Berecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2006

mrs moon is just as legendary as she sounded online. she handled all our bookings within the same day (basically in one afternoon), from flights to trains to junk boat to hotel recommendations.

The guesthouse comes with huge balcony that offers lovely view of the old quarters. and the unbeatable Pho Bo as breakfast... that's the best we had in Vietnam in two weeks of travel.

The room was so clean. And she even offered us a room to wash up before we boarded the train to Hue shortly after our return from Halong Bay.

All in all, excellent value and services!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2006

This clean welcoming guesthouse was excellent value for money, but the star attraction is Ms Moon, who greeted us warmly on our arrival, as though we were old friends. I had an itinerary mapped out; she took excellent notes and the following morning presented us with bus, train and air tickets for very reasonable prices. She also booked our car, driver and guide, together with our Halong bay overnight tour for far less than I had seen on the internet. The standard of the Halong Bay tour for 49.00 US was brilliant, and although cheaper tours are available, they come with dodgy food and cabins. Our tour with Ocean tours also included a morning's kayaking.
Breakfast is a delicious Pho or Baguette with tea or lemon juice, and the bathroom facilities are Western and clean. We had a balcony room which looked out on the passing parade in 'brass/copper' street, and although a little noisy, nothing like I had imagined. The mattresses are quite hard though. All up I would thoroughly recommend this guesthousefor those on a budget, and even for those who aren't. Stay here for the ambience and the staff. A word of caution. We utilised Telstra's reverse charge call system, but were double-charged as Vietnam charges 1.00US per minute, because you are supposed to book calls through the Post Office! We tried this but could not connect. Ms Moon graciously only charged us 20.00 0f the 35.00 owing. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank manyjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#4 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Property: Hanoi Guest House
Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 576 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing