We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experiences in Hanoi”
Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #9 of 671 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a wonderful experience with the Hanoi Guest House in Dec 2013. My family spent four nights here and stayed 2 deluxe rooms at 6th floor. The rooms were nice, very clean and Wi Fi well setting up at 6th & 8th floor. The Hanoi Guest House is in a strategic location. It’s near to many interesting places, and restaurants (New Day, Highway 4, Yin & Yang). Walking around in old quarter is just so convenient. Approximately 5-7 minutes walking distance to the Hoan Kiem Lake. Hanoi Guest House is worth to staying for their services and location. Besides, thanks to Ms Kim, Huyen, and Nga and also all the other staffs for their great services during our stayed in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Susan Tan,
Thank you so much for your very detailed positive comment.
We would assure you that it makes us very pleasant to know you obviously enjoyed staying at Hanoi Guesthouse. We would promise to keep good work to deserve your such positive comment.
We are really looking forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.
Your sincerely,
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM
" A Home Away From Home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Everyday and everyone was all smiles when attending to our needs. We feel right at home and quickly made friends. We could sense their sincerity in helping us though we spoke very little. The room was nice and was always clean. Our stay was memorable and the sights in Hanoi was truly awesome. Our last day was as early as 6.00 am taxi to the airport and we were surprised to see that they had packed us some breakfast! Very thoughtful indeed. Hope to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaJP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Maria,
We are so delighted to see you had such a wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your experience of our hotel. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Your sincerely,
HANOI GUESTHOUSE
"A Home Away From Home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

From before I ever set foot in Vietnam the folks at Hanoi Guesthouse had already booked train tickets to multiple places, a tour in Sa Pa, an overnight stay in Ha Long Bay and answer a ton of questions I had for them.

Everyone spoke great English and were extremely helpful. I couldn't believe how nice everyone was. I seriously don't have how I would have navigated the chaotic train stations if the guesthouse folks didn't meet us there and helped us ONTO the train itself and took us right into our cabin. They did this twice, as well as greeting us at the train station when we came back from Sa Pa. Oh, they also arranged for an airport pickup, which was nice since I got in around 11pm. Special thanks to Tuan, who always seemed to be there when I needed something.

There are also many great choices for the breakfast which is included in the room rate. Lots of great traditional Vietnamese dishes as well as western dishes. Rooms were clean and spacious. There's an elevator for those on the higher floors. The location is also good...close to everything in the Old City.

I really can't do them justice with one review. It was the best place we stayed at in Vietnam during our 10-city tour.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Young T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Young T,
We are so delighted to see you had such a wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your experience of our hotel. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Your sincerely
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM
"A home away from home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The amenities met the standard expected for this price, however as far as I'm concerned the service was five star!

The normal things like booking a tour, and taxis, scam warnings, restaurant and activity recommendations were done with great efficiency on arrival and with a very high level of spoken English.

But the hotel staff also booked multiple trains for my onward travel, even though it would be some time after I would finish my stay with them; exchanged US foreign currency after bank hours for some friends who were not staying at the hotel at a very reasonable rate; and sent a staff member out on the street with me to purchase a SIM card. Three of them also spent half an hour translating with the phone company for me trying to make it work as my HTC One needs specific mobile data settings (and, I think, would have spent longer if I didn't have to depart for my train!) Speaking of the train - they also gave me a roll of toilet paper as I walked out the door - very handy for a 14 hour journey as I wouldn't have thought of it myself!

I would not hesitate to stay at Hanoi Guest House again if I am ever back in Hanoi, and will always recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Echo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Echo,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write us an excellent review in the Tripadvisor.
We would assure you that it makes us very pleasant to know you obviously enjoyed staying at Hanoi Guesthouse. We would promise to keep good work to deserve your such positive comment.
We are really looking forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.
Your sincerely,
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM
" A Home Away From Home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Wir haben insgesamt 5 mal im Guesthouse übernachtet, in sehr sauberen und schönen Zimmern.
Die Touren in die Halong Bucht und nach SaPa wurden vom Team des guesthouses gebucht und Abreise und Ankunft jedesmal toll organisiert.
Ein besonderen Dank dem Team, als wir nach der Abreise unsere Pässe nach geschickt bekamen!
Sehr empfehlenswert es Hotel !!!!!!

We stayed a total of 5 times in the Guest House, in a very clean and nice rooms.
The tours to Halong Bay and across to SaPa were booked by the team of guest houses and departure and arrival organized every great.
A special thanks to the team when we got our passports after departure after sent!
Very recommendable hotel it!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dagmar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Dagmar,
Thank you so much for your valuable time to share such as the Excellent review of Our Guesthouse on the site of tripadvisor.com.
We are very delighted to know that our services met your expectation and you had a wonderful time in Hanoi with us.
Thank you so much again for everything , we wish you all of the best in 2014 , and looking forward to have a chance to serve you again in the near future .
Your sincerely,
Hanoi Guesthouse team
" A Home Away From Home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff - they really loved our kids. Very clean, comfortable rooms. Bananas and fruit juices available in lobby 24/7. Great location in the Old Quarter. Great value!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Mr Larry,
Thank you very much for your positive review for your recent stay in our Hanoi Guesthouse.
We are so pleasant to hear that our service are meeting your expectation and you had "wonderful experience" with us by " Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable rooms and great location". Your kids are really the cutest ones that we have known.Hopefully, we have another opportunity to see you again.
We look forward to warmly welcome you back soon!
Your sincerely,
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM
" A Home Away From Home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent one night here after being transferred by their sister hotel, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel when we returned from a Halong Bay trip (at no extra cost). This hotel is super! More luxurious that the other, especially the bathrooms. We stayed in 2 rooms on the 7th floor and I would recommend them as it was quiet. Great location with our favourite restaurant (New Day) across the road, and the best banana pancakes in Vietnam!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Aurie,

Thank you so much for your very detailed positive comment.

We would assure you that it makes us very pleasant to know you obviously enjoyed staying at Hanoi Guesthouse. We would promise to keep good work to deserve your such positive comment.

We are really looking forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Your sincerely,
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM
" A Home Away From Home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
0.2 mi away
Old Quarter View Hanoi Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 671 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $30 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing