We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, and good service ”
Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #4 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Nice place, and good service ”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice, and well cleaned and maintained (serviced daily). Located in the bustling old quarter, this hotel is near a lot of interesting places and things for tourists. The receptionists were helpful in answering our many questions, and even gave us a helper to follow us and guide us to the train station when we went to leave, as train stations in foreign countries can be overwhelming sometimes.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paige_ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Paige,

Thank you do much for your wonderful comment for your recent stay in our Hanoi Guesthouse.

It is great pleasure to know how much you were satisfied with our hotel services such as excellent service, high standard room, good food and friend staff.

Indeed we try our utmost to satisfy all guests requests and even beyond their expectations. We would promise to put a lot of focus on improving services day by day to ensure our outstanding services keep providing to our Guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back our hotel.

Your sincerely,
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM

" A Home Away From Home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    325
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
214
717
180
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Spent three weeks in Vietnam and this was one of the best value hotels I came across. Excellent location in the old quarter, nice rooms for the price, great staff and service. Very recommended. PS be very wary of taxis in Hanoi as the drivers scam artists. Use reputable taxi companies only eg Mai Linh

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Mr Peter,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at our Hanoi Guesthouse!

We are so delighted to hear your recent positive experience. We ensure that our team will strive this sort of excellence with all our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Your sincerely
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM

" A Home Away From Home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My partner &I booked in to the Hanoi Guesthouse on-line but made no other arrangements until
we arrived. Our intention was to do a cruise on Ha Long Bay , visit Hue, Hoi An & Ho Chi Min City.
Fortunately for us( two 70 year olds ) the Hanoi guesthouse has a travellers guardian angel!
It,s a fairly formidable task to organise plane & rail tickets, hotel bookings along with vehicles to
Meet us at the various destinations ,in view of the language difficulties alone
Ms. Nga on reception came to our rescue and had everything arranged within a couple of hours,
a truly lovely young lady who went out of her way to be helpful throughout our stay. It would be
wrong of us not to mention Ms. Huen and the rest of the staff they all made us feel so welcome.

We really can,t thank them enough
Mike LeVine & Jean Barnett

Room Tip: Our room on the 6th floor was quiete,clean towels & linen daily and the guesthouse is located I...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Mike LeVine & Jean Barnett,

Thank you so much for your very detailed positive comment.

We would assure you that it makes us very pleasant to know you obviously enjoyed staying at Hanoi Guesthouse. We would promise to keep good work to deserve your such positive comment. We are really looking forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Your truly,
Hanoi Guesthouse Team.

" A Home Away From Home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Arriving here late in the day after a long drive back from Halong Bay, the last thing we wanted to hear was that there was an issue with the rooms. We had been given a twin room with two beds instead of a double. After expressing our disappointment they kindly gave us a cake offered to give us another room which they told us was more expensive than our balcony room that we had booked. When we get to the room the only reason we could think why this would be more expensive was because it had room for three people to sleep. The room was not good. It was directly above reception with a big window that looked directly into the entrance downstairs so we had to keep the curtain closed. When we turned the light off to sleep the bright light from reception was not blocked by the thin curtains so found it hard to sleep. We were woken up early from the loud talking down in reception and a loud water pipe. The staff discounted the room rate when we told them of the experience, which was nice of them.

The next day we were moved to the type of room that we had booked and it was much better. The balcony on level 7 had a great view and we enjoyed sitting up there with a drink. However, the room interiors are much less luxurious than the pictures on booking.com portray, but they are fine.

After this room mishap we found that while the female reception staff were polite they were very clearly disgruntled with us and they made us feel a bit uncomfortable. The male staff however were all very friendly, fun, and genuinely interested in talking to us. The breakfast was average. We had it the first day but chose to go elsewhere the other days as Hanoi has such amazing food we didn't want to waste a meal on something average!

Overall the hotel was in quite a good location, however, probably the most touristic street. The facilities are good enough. Overall a fine stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank AEM967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear our Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent stay at Hanoi Guesthouse.
It is regrettable that your stay at our Guesthouse was not as pleasant as most of our other Guests.
About the room type, due to your reservation from Booking.com was “Twin Room OR Double Room”, it was not clearly mentioned room type. We sent you an email to confirm your room type specifically but we were unfortunately not to receive you reply. Finally, our twin room had been kept to prevent any inconvenience to you. Once we had your order, we tried our best to make adjustment accordingly.
Secondly, we are sorry when your sleep was not guaranteed on the first night in this room. Ever since, we did not have any complaints about this room. It is also possible that by the time you were too tired after a long bus journey, you found it hard to sleep. Anyhow, we examined and repaired completely in a timely manner.
Our staff are known for their hospitality, friendly, polite and open-minded. It was considered as a brand of Hanoi Guesthouse’ s reputation. This is our golden key to our success so far, they were not allowed to be disgruntled. We are so sorry for your misunderstanding.
At our Hanoi Guesthouse, we serve full Continental breakfast with more than 16 different ordered foods and buffet juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruits. We confidently believe that our breakfast menu and quality are good among other accommodations at similar price. Anyway, we have complemented our breakfast menu to be more suitable each customer's taste.
Thank you for your valuable time to rate us. We hope you'll choose Hanoi Guesthouse the next time you're in Hanoi.
Warm regards
HANOI GUESTHOUSE
"A home away from home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My son and I stayed three nights recently and can't say enough about the hospitality and helpfulness of the staff. While you can expect the obligatory sales pitch for booking tours through them they never pushed that hard. What I got was answers to all my questions (in good English) and good humor. They were invaluable for finding me someone who would wash, dry and fold a load of clothes in three hours prior to my departing the city. The shower was excellent, the beds decent, location perfect, free internet in the lobby (it's available throughout the hotel but my little tablet had trouble latching on). The food was average though their Saturday night special for guests was quite good and enjoyable. Generally I preferred to eat out. There was a rat who occasionally enjoyed scurrying around in the ceiling rafters at night but when you see what the Old Quarter is like you wonder why there aren't more. The rooms themselves were very clean with absolutely no sign of rodents. TV reception was also good with many local and international channels. For the $25-$30/ night I spent I consider Hanoi Guesthouse to be a steal.

If I ever go back to Hanoi I will call them first.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a tub and shower but the potential for leaking water is good. We had a shower only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Richard,

I am extremely glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our Hanoi Guesthouse of your recent stay.

Thank you so much for highlighting the hotel staff and your valuable recommendation for the breakfast, Hotel room... It extremely will encourage us to maintain our efforts so the services we provide will meet your expectation thoroughly.

We look forward to warmly welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM
"A home away from home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My friend had stayed in Hanoi Guesthouse in 2012 so I thought in order to save my time looking for a hotel in Hanoi, I went for it. No regrets as the service, the rooms (we had booked 3 deluxe rooms), the breakfast offered and the location was just perfect for us! There were quite a few good restaurants just a stone throw away (like Yin and Yang, New Day) were really good. Walking around in old quarter is just so convenient. Our entire tour in Hanoi, Sapa and Halong Bay were booked through them and the price is reasonable. However, the tour in Sapa and cruise in Halong Bay were a little disappointed. The tour in Sapa always ended in half a day. I read a few reviews and the tour seems to have covered for 3/4 day. A little dispute in the train from Lao Cai to Hanoi but was resolved eventually. As for Halong Bay, we paid deluxe cruise but was not what we are expecting to be 'deluxe' and they offered a little discount. Overall, Hanoi Guesthouse is worth staying for their service and location. I have already recommend Hanoi Guesthouse to my friends and colleagues already.

Room Tip: Deluxe room category is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koh41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Koh,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your experience on Tripadvisor website. We are so glad to know that you had a great stay at our hotel. Your comments are very much valued and useful for us to improve our services.

We wish to see you back here again soon!


Your sincerely
HANOI GUESTHOUSE TEAM.

“A home away from home”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were very well taken care off by Hanoi Guesthouse and I need to specially thank the guy who sent us to the train station on 9/1 and also waited for us in train station on 12/1. He was really friendly! Overall, it was great and safe staying in Hanoi Guesthouse and I would definitely stay with them again when I return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clsw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoiGuesthouse8, Manager at Hanoi Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear our value guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable time to share such as the Excellent review of Our Guesthouse on the site of tripadvisor.com.

We are very delighted to know that our services met your expectation and you had a wonderful time in Hanoi with us. Please rest assured that your beautiful words had been shared for all of Hanoi Guesthouse team,especially to the security man. He was so happy to read that.

Thank you so much again for everything , we wish you all of the best in 2014 , and looking forward to have a chance to serve you again in the near future .

Your sincerely,
Hanoi Guesthouse team

" A Home Away From Home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Holiday Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Property: Hanoi Guest House
Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing