We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #4 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights on 3 separate days. The place is nice and cosy. Room conditions are good and clean. We booked our Halong Bay and Sapa tour through them too. The staff there are friendly and nice. 2 occasions that are particularly memorable.First ocassion: on the day we were supposed to go to Sapa via overnight train, we checked out in the morning and the staff there actually provided us a room free-of-charge to bathe after a day of walking in Hanoi before the overnight train ride. Second occasion: the bellboy of the guesthouse followed us to the train station, help us get the train tickets and led us up to our cabin and when we returned from Sapa, he was also there to pick us up. Wonderful service by the guesthouse. I would especially like to thank Ms Kim and Ms Huyen for their wonderful service and friendly advice. Highly recommended to stay with them!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xiaochar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    320
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
197
675
165
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Hanoi Guesthouse is a slice of heaven in a chaotic city. We started the trip to Hanoi with a taxi driver trying to scam us, so I had a really bad taste of Hanoi. Then I arrived at the Hanoi Guesthouse, and the girls there took such good care of us. I instantly felt safe and comfortable. Throughout our stay, they went way above and beyond the call of duty to help us, and we'll never forget them. Not only did they book us great day trips, serve us wonderful food, and give us great recommendations for what to do in the city. They really made sure everything was taken care of. They even sent someone to follow us to the train station to make sure we got to the right train car. When my boyfriend lost his beloved journal in Ho Chi Minh, we called the Hanoi Guesthouse in Hanoi because we knew they'd help us. They did everything they could to try to track it down (unsuccessfully, but we really appreciated the effort, especially since we were long gone from Hanoi by then). They even still remembered our names. I can't say enough about the staff there. They were amazing and we'll always be grateful for their efforts to make us safe, comfortable, and happy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the building have the best wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nutmeg156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great trip and experience staying in Hanoi, mainly because of the service and assistance provided by the staffs. Location is superb and just located in the center of old quarter. The driver picked us from airport and dropped us just in front of the main entrance of the guesthouse. And the staffs immediately helped us to carry our luggages and welcomed us with smile and greetings. We really appreciate the free breakfasts (not included in the package) and refreshments provided by the guesthouse when we arrived. The room was nice and clean, well decorated with a big "welcome" pillow and rose petals. Just the washroom was too slippery. The guesthouse also helped to arrange our tour to Sa Pa and Ha Long. As we were rushing to Ha Long, the front desk staff even helped us to buy souvenirs with reasonable price. Hanoi Guesthouse Team, thanks for your effort! Highly recommended!!! Jyeying, Hundgene, Steven, Agnes & Sharon from Malaysia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JyeYing L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excellent value in terms of price, free breakfast and wifi, excellent cleanliness and decor in the rooms, fantastic location and very freidnly and attentive staff. Cannot recommend this place highly enough

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NjM1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Have had three visits to HN Guesthouse and would stay more if I was in Vietnam longer. The service and assistance given to my family by all the staff at this hotel was superb. Treated like kings and queens, nothing was too hard and they anticipated our needs. The hotel itself has some issues with aircon from time to time but you are well accommodated. The food is great for the included breakfast. The hotel booked our trips to Sapa and Ha long and they were good.

To the front desk girls Ms Nga, Ms Kim, Ms Khanh & Ms Huyen...keep doing what you do now and your hotel will always be full. Ms Nga - thanks for showing us the soup restaurant because we loved it!!!

Very Highly recommend this hotel.

Chris Mandy Keegan and Ciara.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have spent one month traveling Thailand and Vietnam in July and I must say Hanoi Guesthouse was one of the most greeting place where we have been. As our cab driver stopped jn front of the guesthouse, the 2 employees did greet us with the nicest smile, took our luggages, offered refreshments and took the time to talk to us. They were so friendly, cheerful, and in our 4 days there, they were just like friends we have known for a long time. They gave us the best advice on where to eat, what to visit, booked our trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. They are so nice and so friendly!!! The rooms are nice and clean and the breakfast is delicious. and this is prime location in the old quarter. We just loved the place! Highly recommended. We miss them so much. Mario and Danielle from Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario-danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in Hanoi guesthouse for 3 nights in mid-August. The room, a twin room, was spacious, clean and well maintained including air conditioning, cable tv, free water and lovely bathroom. The location is fantastic and is in walking distance of everything in Hanoi, including the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and West Lake. It is on a vibrant street with lots of restaurants and bars but still the room was silent at night.
The staff were very helpful, giving us maps and lots of recommendations on where to eat and how to visit. The room includes free breakfast which is satisfactory. Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors to move from maintenance and street level noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Property: Hanoi Guest House
Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing