We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #4 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great price and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse and thought it was great. It is centrally located and the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts are great and you are not left hungry. The rooms are a little small but are extremely comfortable and are good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    320
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
197
675
165
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great just like in the other reviews. Nice little hotel in old quarter, has an in room safe, good shower, nice breakfast at a very good price. One of the better hotels in the old quarter. Would recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwitraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hanoi Guesthouse is certainly one of the best places to stay for a room under 30$ in Hanoi. Located in old Hanoi, it is a perfect place to stay.

Booking: We booked for Hanoi Guesthouse just a couple of days previous to our stay there, which is in peak season, and there was a misunderstanding between ourselves and the booking lady. Arriving there, and seeing the misunderstanding, the 2 nicest ladies at the reception desk went out of their way to solve this misunderstanding, while always making us feel welcomed. They even showed us to the breakfast restaurant while they were working out something for us. We were really treated as if we were in a 5 star hotel.

Rooms: The room we had was great and really comfortable, equipped with a good heater for the cold Hanoi nights. The room is also nicely isolated, but if you are a light sleeper, you might want to get a room that isn't street side, as the people in Hanoi do love to honk their way through traffic. Our room was cleaned nicely everyday, and the water in the shower was constant and heated properly. We used their laundry service, which was cheap and reliable.

Breakfast: The Breakfast is served from 7:00 am until 11:00 am. There is a lot of different dishes that you can order, and the size of the breakfast is great. You will not leave breakfast with an empty stomach at the Guesthouse that is for sure. The food they serve is extremely fresh.

Staff: As stated previously, and in numerous reviews, Hanoi Guesthouse staff is genuinely nice and welcoming. They will help you with anything you want, either to get a taxi, book some tours, plan some visiting and sightseeing. If you want to get a ride in a cyclo, be sure to ask Nga at the front desk during the day shift and she will call her uncle for you. You will then be sure that you will get where you want, no hassle. We booked our train to Sapa while we were back home, before booking the Hanoi Guesthouse, and even if we did not book the train tickets with them, they did send one staff member waiting for us at the train station, to make sure that we get on our proper train on time.
While you stay at the Guesthouse, or any hotel in Vietnam for that matter, and receive this kind of service and gesture, please be sure to contribute to their well being, as the minimum wage in Vietnam is ridiculously low, either by giving tips, bringing them food (we brought them some leftover pizza and spring-rolls) or even by buying them some warm gloves or tuque for the cold winters in Hanoi.

Location: Located in a not so crowded (for old Hanoi) street, the Guesthouse is close to a lot of things. 5 minutes walk from the water puppet and the shopping street, close to a lot of great restaurant and street food. Be sure to ask the reception for the city map, as it gets really confusing sometimes to walk around in those crowded streets. The map is well representative of the streets and also quite easy to read.

In conclusion, our stay at the Hanoi Guesthouse is definitely a highlight of our trip to Asia. Not only did we enjoy a comfortable room in a great location, but we can affirmatively say that we now have great friends in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the highest and not on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank martin1o9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

recentlly stayed at this small but charming guesthouse in Hanois old quarter nice clean rooms (ours had a balcony ) and a good breakfast was included great value for money but the major selling point has to be the super helpful staff who went out of there way to arrange everything for us from visas to day trips to train tickets onwards all without asking for money upfront .This even ran to them taking us to the stay and sending one of their staff with us to make sure we were settled on the right carriage in the train ...if only all hotel staff were this attentive !!! thankyou all you made our stay in Hanoi a great one

Room Tip: we had a balcony room which was nice to sit and watch the hustle and bustle of the old quarter from
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hedgehog999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly service, they book travel and tours for you. Breakfast was good, location was good. I would recommend this hotel as a reasonable stay in Hanoi. It's obviously not a luxury hotel where you would spend lots of time, but a good base for Hanoi tours.

Rooms are a little run down but acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111111_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A super guesthouse in the old quarter of Hanoi. They picked us up from the train station at 5am and even though check in wasn't until 12, they gave us coffee and breakfast. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and roomy. They allowed us to keep baggage their whilst we went and explored Sapa. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are a couple and stayed at Hanoi guesthouse in December for 3 nights. The hotel is highly recommended but book it in advance as it is generally fully booked (at least when we were there). Below the review in details by topic:

1 - LOCATION: Superb. You are right at the city center and close to attractions like the city lake, street shops, restaurants. At the street of the hotel there are good shops and street restaurants. TIP: As you leave the hotel, turn right. A couple of blocks away there are some good Vietnamese barbecue street restaurants that are clean and not expensive.

2 - ROOMS: We stayed at 2 rooms there - the 705 and 405. The 705 is superb - It has a balcony and nice view to the city. If you can ask for a room, ask for the 705. It should cost you between 30 to 40 dollars a night for 2 or 3 people. Both rooms we stayed had a private and clean toilet, aircon, a LED TV and complementary water. The room was quite comfortable and it is not noisy, even though you are right at the city center.

3 - Breakfast: Simple but nice. You can choose on a menu what you would like to choose. Choices are mainly pancakes, Pho (noodles), fried rice or omelets. The hotel gives you complementary fruits as well. You can only choose one option of food and one drink. My feedback to the hotel here is: There should be some flexibility on the drinks part. My wife for instance likes to have a coffee and also a juice or water. This would cost almost 0 to the hotel but it would make the breakfast much more enjoyable.

4 - Staff: Perhaps one of the best things of Hanoi Guesthouse. The staff is simply brilliant! They have given us maps and even a discount due to a problem we had with the hotel transfer at the airport. Special thanks to Khanh and Huyen for the help provided while we were there!

Summary is: Stay at this hotel without thinking! But plan and book it in advance so it is not fully booked. Very often, when we were at the reception, we saw people asking about rooms and the answer was always the same: "Sorry sir, we are fully booked".

Room Tip: See the review for special tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helviolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Property: Hanoi Guest House
Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing