We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bargain in Southeast Asia!”
Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #8 of 647 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently spent a month in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. We stayed in some excellent hotels. The Hanoi Guesthouse was our favorite. We initially spent five days there in September. We returned to Hanoi in October and intended to splurge at the wonderful Hotel Metropole which is old, beautiful and full of character. But the Hanoi Guesthouse was so terrific we had to come back. Here are some specifics:
1. SERVICE: Just Fabulous and it was what really made our stay so wonderful. The young ladies at the desk, Ms. Huyen, Ms. Nga, Ms Khanh and Ms. Phuong were very friendly and would do anything they could for you. This included asking how you were doing every day, schedule any trip you wanted (Hailong Bay, Sapa, City tour, Counry tour, restaurant, spa, taxi or cyclo) and generally being as friendly and helpful as any person could. Also, we were picked up at the airport, allowed to store bags and check out late. Anything they could possibly do they did.
2. LOCATION: The hotel is in the middle of the Old Quarter with all of it's energy, excitement and character. Hoan Kiem Lake is a 5 minute, if somewhat harrowing, walk. There are at least six restaurants within three minutes of the hotel. We walked everywhere and cannot think of a better location.
3. THE ROOM: We were on the third floor and had a balcony overlooking the very active street. The room was clean and large (we had lots of bags) with an equally spacious bathroom and closet. The King bed was very comfortable. The a/c was so wonderful to come back to when it was 92 degrees out with 100 per cent humidity. At night we closed off the balcony and did not hear any noise. We had free internet that worked fine. The price was $45 and we never found a better bargain.
4. THE BREAKFAST: It comes with the room. The had both Vietnamese and American style breakfasts. The young men in the very small kitchen do an excellent job. The pho was as good as we had in any restaurant. My wife loved the banana crepes and wants to try to duplicate them at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mouffetarde55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed at this Guesthouse for 1 night, clean and comfortable room with delicious breakfast, all staffs are very friendly, we have to thanks the front desk team Miss Huyen, Miss Nga, Miss Khanh & Miss Phuong for their services provided, especially Miss Huyen who arranged the whole tour package for us, and provide some extra service to us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

My experience with this guesthouse (which is more like a hotel) was fantastic before we even arrived.

We flew into Hanoi from Laos, so in order to make the visa process easier, I contacted this guesthouse a couple of days prior. The email was replied to within a couple of hours. Unfortunately they had no space for us, but they offered to pick us up from the airport anyway, bring us to the guesthouse and then find us accommodation of equal price and standards for the first night. We weren't sure at first as you hear all about the hotel scams in Vietnam, but we trusted our instinct and said yes, and how right we were.

The airport pick up was on time and hassle free. We were greeted with complimentary drinks at the hotel on arrival. We started to look at the Halong bay tours, and so the helpful staff talked through with us. We decided to book a two day one night cruise.

Once sorted we were ready to discuss which hotel to go to, but as we got up to go they started carrying our bags to the lift. They had decided to give us the Honeymoon suite for no extra cost to make our stay easier (as the Halong Bay trip was our third night). The room was beautiful, well decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower perfect. Breakfast was lovely too.

In summary the staff were kind, helpful and thoughtful, but not pushy in any way about booking tours etc. they also helped us book our overnight train, when we were picked up by the taxi on leaving, one of the male staff followed on his motorbike to show us on to the train and into our cabin! The rooms were great at a very reasonable price. Located in the centre of hectic old town, good restaurants a couple of buildings along.

We loved this guesthouse, would recommend it to anyone and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VickyS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here for the first 2 nights of our trip through Vietnam. We have had a trouble with our reservation so the first night we moved to another hotel but the staff was so kind and help us with everything. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The bathroom is big with a very nice shower. You can find a very useful complementary set . Breakfast is very good with a wide range of drinks and food...maybe don't choose the coffee...to me was undrinkable.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. The guesthouse is very well located a few minutes walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and Old Quarter.

Definitely the best choise for lowbbudget travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank natyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Could not recommend this place enough - we stayed here for 4 nights in a wonderful, clean, comfortable room that had character, but it's the staff that made this place one of the best we've experienced in all of South East Asia. They're super friendly, incredibly helpful, and go far above and beyond, surprising us daily with their generosity and helpfulness.

Breakfast is also included and is really good. They even packed a breakfast for us on the day we left for a 2 night trip around La Han Bay. During this time they kindly looked after our bags for us free of charge, and even let us a use a shower when we returned to pick them up before getting on a sleeper train. They had ordered the train tickets for us at cost price and had them delivered to the hotel, and insisted on having one of their staff follow our taxi and accompany us to the platform just to make sure that everything was in order - totally unnecessary but unbelievably kind!

I would very highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KssndrKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is my first time to Vietnam and I am very glad I made a right choice in choosing this hotel. Location is good and I am highly appreciative of the great service provided by the guesthouse staff. The staff have indeed make our trip in Hanoi much more memorable. I have also booked my 3 days Sapa tour and Halong Bay with them which all went smooth sailing. Overall, a splendid stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MoshiClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. We were initially booked in at the sister establishment Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, but our travel companion screwed up his booking (his fault, not theirs) so they offered to put us all up here instead.

The staff were quite pleasant and helpful. As compensation for the misunderstandings on check-in, they paid for the taxi ride between the hotels and put us in a deluxe suite. Also, they were able to arrange tickets to the water puppet show for us.

We've heard stories from local guides that some hotels in Hanoi get a bit annoyed if you don't book your Ha Long Bay tours through them (to the extent that people have been kicked out in the middle of the night) but that wasn't a problem here. They actually confirmed our bookings with the tour company we went with and held our luggage while we were in the Bay.

The room was quite spacious with a very comfortable bed and all the usual features - TV, wifi, airconditioning. The bathroom was probably the nicest we had in all of Vietnam, and wouldn't have looked too far out of place in a 4- or even 5-star hotel anywhere in the world.

Location-wise, the hotel is in a small-ish street in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and street food vendors within easy walking distance, and the sights are easy to get to. The Ho Chi Minh Museum and Mausoleum are about a 30-35 minutes' walk.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite was quite nice and wasn't much more expensive (around $5-6 more than a regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#12 of 600 in Hanoi
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi 3B Homestay
Hanoi 3B Homestay
#9 of 647 in Hanoi
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 647 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $28 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing