We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay in Hanoi”
Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #4 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay in Hanoi”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. We were initially booked in at the sister establishment Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, but our travel companion screwed up his booking (his fault, not theirs) so they offered to put us all up here instead.

The staff were quite pleasant and helpful. As compensation for the misunderstandings on check-in, they paid for the taxi ride between the hotels and put us in a deluxe suite. Also, they were able to arrange tickets to the water puppet show for us.

We've heard stories from local guides that some hotels in Hanoi get a bit annoyed if you don't book your Ha Long Bay tours through them (to the extent that people have been kicked out in the middle of the night) but that wasn't a problem here. They actually confirmed our bookings with the tour company we went with and held our luggage while we were in the Bay.

The room was quite spacious with a very comfortable bed and all the usual features - TV, wifi, airconditioning. The bathroom was probably the nicest we had in all of Vietnam, and wouldn't have looked too far out of place in a 4- or even 5-star hotel anywhere in the world.

Location-wise, the hotel is in a small-ish street in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and street food vendors within easy walking distance, and the sights are easy to get to. The Ho Chi Minh Museum and Mausoleum are about a 30-35 minutes' walk.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite was quite nice and wasn't much more expensive (around $5-6 more than a regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    325
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
211
713
177
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived at Hanoi Guesthouse after an 18 hour flight. We booked the standard room without a window but found that it was perfect for what we needed. It is in a really good location in the old quarter, close to the lake and makes a good base whilst in Hanoi. Staff were very friendly and always very helpful and the breakfast was really tasty with lots of choice. The only negatives during the whole stay were that the air conditioning leaked occasionally and when we checked out we were charged for an extra night, this was resolved quickly once we pointed it out. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EWTP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am impressed by the excellent service at Hanoi Guesthouse. The room is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and spoke good english. They even provide money changing service at very good rates. The arrangement to go Sapa went thru' very well and the level of service provided was really good.

What else can i say? I am recommending to all my friends who intend to go to Hanoi. You may find a better price-service hotel in Hanoi, perphaps. But you really can't go wrong with Hanoi Guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ongcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights in October at Hanoi Guesthouse and this is our first time in Hanoi.
There's a complimentary welcoming breakfast served on the day we arrived here.
Room was very comfortable and clean and I feel that even better than some of the 3 stars hotel I ever stay before.
They even upgrade our rooms from standard to deluxe and triple room for our 3 nights stay here, we have never come accross such service in other countries.
The staff were very friendly and helpful when you have questions about transport, sightseeing,shopping or massage and even show us how to make vietnamese coffee.
Please be reminded that if you need a car pick up from the airport, and if you have big luggage with you, try to inform the staff in advance so that they can arrange the most suitable transport to fetch you at the airport.
I choose Hanoi Guesthouse as it was so highly recommended among tripadvisor member, and it didn't disappoint me and I will definitely come back on my next visit to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KimKim_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hanoi Guesthouse is a great place to stay in the Old Quarter of Hanoi.
The service is excellent - very friendly staff that really cares about you and gets to know your name if you stay for a little while. Also, if you arrive early you get offered breakfast (free of charge) and can even check in early if a room is available.

The hotel just needs to improve a little bit with its air conditioners, which may drip at times -- we had to change rooms because of this. Also, the TVs don't have perfect reception, so it is sometimes not very easy to watch TV.

Also, the hotel does overcharge when selling train tickets to its guests: We were charged $7 commission on a $30 ticket, and $5 commission on a $2 ticket!

Room Tip: There is poor wifi reception on the 7th and 8th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 502Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently completed my first trip to VIetnam and the first place we landed was Hanoi Guesthouse Hanoi. Im a slightly nervous traveller so was a little wary of this bustleing Asian city but I neededn't have worried. Everyone at Hanoi Guesthouse (think small hotel rather than guesthouse) took such excellent care of us, i always felt looked after. We stayed for 3 nights in a lovely, quite roomy room with a balcony from which you could read and observe the livliness of the old quarter. The bathroom was lovely and clean with excellent hot water and the beds were very comfortable. The excellent air conditioning was a repreive from the humidity. They arranged pick-up and drop back to the airport, arranged train tickets and tours. Even after we had checked out when we stopped back in Hanoi breifly one morning they picked us up from the train and let us have a shower and free internet and breakfast. Ive never had such friendly lovely service anywhere. The breakfast had a good range of vietnamese and western dishes and the location of the guesthouse was unbeatable amongst the restaurants, bars and 5 min walk to the lake.
Highly recommend this place. Please note there is another place with the same name but different address. You want the one in Ma May st. Would absolutely go here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room was great to see everything and double glazing meant it wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and they helped us before and after the Overnight train to Sapa which was a very nice touch. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were great, not massive but perfect. Location can not be beaten. Breakfast selection and meals were exceptional! Very Impressive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nsanderson1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#7 of 586 in Hanoi
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Property: Hanoi Guest House
Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing