We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy & simple.”
Review of Bao Khanh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bao Khanh Hotel
Ranked #397 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy & simple.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First up was the Bao Khanh Hotel, which is where I stayed with my Contiki Tour. I didn’t take any photos of the place, as to be honest it was pretty basic and not very special. The beds were fine, the rooms were clean (although rather small), the breakfast was nice and the location was good – but there was nothing extra or anything that made it stand out. Just a typical middle-of the range 3-star hotel. Would stay again, but no longer than 1 or 2 nights.

See full review: passportpacked.com

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passport_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
16
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed twice 2 years ago. I was there enroute though Hanoi and enjoyed the hotel.
The room price included breakfast buffet with all US and Vietnamese foods offered.
The roof top resturant has great veiws
Yes the hot water is spotty ,the internet access also not super.The travel desk was most helpful
Yes it is a bit older than some,but the location for me is key.
Adjacent to the Hoam Kien Lake( a great place to walk jog read think people watch) and Buddhist site,the Ledgends microbrew resturant ,the outside upper deck affords the best veiws
overlooking the infamous Hanoi traffic rotary,short walk in many old neighborhoods water puppets and the night market around the corner.
I left a large duffle there for 10 days in storage no charge untouched
You get what you pay for.If you can be comfy in a 3 star hotel this is OK for you
You can walk to the SOFEHOTEI from there I think the suites start at $1000 us a night
I would go back a good place to stay a few and go on .
RS

Room Tip: all elevator or stair access to the back I think is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location, Only 2 minutes walk to Hoan Kiem Lake; and 10 minutes walk to the famous Thang Long Water Puppet Theater. The hotel is located in the famous Old Quarters area. Very easy to do shopping and to get food. The room is clean and very comfortable. They have coffee/tea kettle in the room but unfortunately they forgot to put tea..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenbui237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I got this hotel because of its fairly prime location near the lake and the old district. In that it delivered but on little else. I’m not too picky when it comes to hotels but as I get older I do nevertheless get less tolerant. Fifteen years ago I might have thought this pretty good but not now. First off, the very first thing I noticed when I opened the door was a half-inch cockroach scurrying across the little fridge. So much for first impressions. He was no loner either. I saw at least 6-7 more and killed a few. There were also these small ants all over. In the room when I arrived I found a used toothpick on the bed table and used tissue on the floor by the window. As someone else has noted, the sounds of construction on a building next door (April 2012) was incessant up til about 9pm. But as I wasn’t in my room much during the day this was not too much of an inconvenience. The water pressure was good but the bathroom was quite small and circa 1980. Breakfast…I’ve had much better in Vietnam. It was greasy and looked tired. They should rename the internet, intermittent because that’s what it was, even though they supply the cable (also have wireless). The night before it was ok but the next morning it was slow to non-existent. But like I said, location is good and the place does have character. With the high ceilings and French windows it reminded me of a few over the hill Paris hotels I’ve stayed in. Try to get rooms facing Bao Khanh Street rather than the back where the construction noise is and where there’s no view. Bottom line: if you’re a stickler for cleanliness stay away. If you want location it delivers, but so do a lot of places that I imagine are much more hospitable and equally priced.

Room Tip: facing the street and high floor (above 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Straitgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Overall nice hotel. Our bathrooms sink was clogged, the hot water lasted 2 minutes and the heater didnt work. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19ashlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here one night pre and one night post our Halong Bay overnight cruise as part of our Contiki tour of Vietnam.

Our first room was very spacious with 2 queen size beds & small sitting area whereas our next room was a lot smaller and the door hit the bed if you opened it too far. The rooms were slightly dated, but still were clean & tidy. In both bathrooms there were small leaks so we learnt the hardway not to leave clothing on the floor!

Downstairs there was SNACK BAR which had free internet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The main advantage is really the location : you can walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake, the Old Streets, the Cathedral, plenty of restaurants and shops...

We had a Deluxe room (the best category) on the seventh floor, with view on the back of the building : it was quiet. On the other side of thebuilding (front side), you get a beautiful view of the lake and city center, but can be a bit noisy I suppose.

The room was large, with two double beds, which was very convenient for our family with two youg children.

The bathroom was a disapointment : small, smelly (humidity on the carpet in front), with a window who cannot close. I have to say that bathroom and windiws are the weak spot of most vietnamese hotels.

The front desk staff was very nice to us, competent, we could always find several people in the desk. The room cleaning was may be a bit fast (the beds were made, but the floor was not cleaned during our stay). It is mot a mini hotel, but a regular hotel (9 floors), so the staff is pro, whereas in mini hotels you often gets owner's cousins or neighbours who are not always qulified for the job.

There is a restaurant on the top, always opened even if there were very few customers. Breakfast is OK, and the restaurant is the usual "vietnamese food for foreigners", nothing special about it, not bad, it was convenient for us to eat there sometimes.

I think it is a good choice between the average cheap mini hotel (where the quality varies a lot) and the expensive big hotels. I have not seen the cheaper rooms (on the lower floors), but according to my experience in Vietnam, the cheapest rooms in most hotels have often a good reason to be cheap, the difference can be huge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Lakeside Hotel
Golden Lakeside Hotel
#294 of 588 in Hanoi
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
0.1 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#108 of 588 in Hanoi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lucky Hotel
Lucky Hotel
#240 of 588 in Hanoi
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#70 of 588 in Hanoi
1,125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#100 of 588 in Hanoi
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bao Khanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bao Khanh Hotel

Property: Bao Khanh Hotel
Address: # 22 Bao Khanh | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bao Khanh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approximately 600 hotels in Hanoi ,but just 65 three-star hotels located right within the Old quarter. Bao Khanh Hotel is lucky to be one of those, take avantage conveniently a minute’s walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. The hotel is just a 3-minute walk to St. Joseph's Cathedral, Ngoc Son Temple and Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre. The famous Dong Xuan Market is accessible with a 5-minute walk, while Noi Bai International Airport is 40-minute drive away.Its 51 superbly appointed rooms come in five categories: 5 Standard, 24 Superior and 7 Deluxe City View, 3 Deluxe Lake View, 12 Family room. Most rooms offer views of Hoan Kiem Lake and City life.All our rooms are upgraded and well-furnished rooms with a modern standard of amenities such as: air-conditioner, TV, IDD telephone, Free wifi, mini bar, automatic heater, hair dryer, bathrobe, health balance…Etc.Located on the 9th floor, 24/24 Bao Khanh Hotel Restaurant is an ideal place for European, Asian and Vietnamese specialties. Other hotel facilities include sauna and massage.This is perfect for the weary executive or tired visitor wanting to relax. Besides, its also has a conference rooms able to accommodate up to 25 persons. Be looked after by a dedicated and friendly team who will be delighted to make your stay in Hanoi, a truly unforgettable one and “ Stay with us, and feel like home…” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bao Khanh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing