We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to expore Hanoi”
Review of Bao Khanh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bao Khanh Hotel
Ranked #404 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good base to expore Hanoi”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here one night pre and one night post our Halong Bay overnight cruise as part of our Contiki tour of Vietnam.

Our first room was very spacious with 2 queen size beds & small sitting area whereas our next room was a lot smaller and the door hit the bed if you opened it too far. The rooms were slightly dated, but still were clean & tidy. In both bathrooms there were small leaks so we learnt the hardway not to leave clothing on the floor!

Downstairs there was SNACK BAR which had free internet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
16
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The main advantage is really the location : you can walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake, the Old Streets, the Cathedral, plenty of restaurants and shops...

We had a Deluxe room (the best category) on the seventh floor, with view on the back of the building : it was quiet. On the other side of thebuilding (front side), you get a beautiful view of the lake and city center, but can be a bit noisy I suppose.

The room was large, with two double beds, which was very convenient for our family with two youg children.

The bathroom was a disapointment : small, smelly (humidity on the carpet in front), with a window who cannot close. I have to say that bathroom and windiws are the weak spot of most vietnamese hotels.

The front desk staff was very nice to us, competent, we could always find several people in the desk. The room cleaning was may be a bit fast (the beds were made, but the floor was not cleaned during our stay). It is mot a mini hotel, but a regular hotel (9 floors), so the staff is pro, whereas in mini hotels you often gets owner's cousins or neighbours who are not always qulified for the job.

There is a restaurant on the top, always opened even if there were very few customers. Breakfast is OK, and the restaurant is the usual "vietnamese food for foreigners", nothing special about it, not bad, it was convenient for us to eat there sometimes.

I think it is a good choice between the average cheap mini hotel (where the quality varies a lot) and the expensive big hotels. I have not seen the cheaper rooms (on the lower floors), but according to my experience in Vietnam, the cheapest rooms in most hotels have often a good reason to be cheap, the difference can be huge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were on the small side, but for $40USD a night, we were really impressed, and didnt spend much time in our room anyway. The rooms had everything you could need and expect from a hotel charging twice the price, including free wifi.
The location was perfect, a short walk to the lake, and to the night street market. Was also right next door to the Kangaroo Cafe who we booked a few tours with, so it was really convenient.
I think this hotel represents great value for money and is a great place to base yourself if you are doing lots of exploring and only using your hotel room to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teambennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Bao Khanh is close to the lake, part of the old town and conveniently placed for restaurants and a supermarket. The staff could not do enough for us and our tours booked through the hotel were all that was promised. Taxis and luggage storage available when needed as well as lots of advice. Breakfast was not as good as some cheaper hotels in places in Vietnam but did have a Vietnamese flavour. Bathrooms were excellent and the bigger rooms were better. we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

My friend stayed here 6 nights and loved it. Location was fabulous- close to banks, loads of eating places particularly in nearby street. Also close to lake and winding streets of old quarter.Our room was huge- included 2 double beds and a 5 seater couch. Ensuite and shower was good size and clean. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. We booked Halong bay trip through hotel - great experience. I also had glasses made in nearby "optical" street. No problems with quality of glasses. Prescription sun glasses with great frames for $60US.The only down side was the breakfast. I think the menu and presentation could be improved but maybe we were spoilt in other hotels.Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan3tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This is not a three star hotel. Small rooms are extremely overpriced. Larger rooms are OK but not really worth the price. The best thing with Bao Khanh is its perfekt location with St. Joseph's Cathedral and Hoan Kiem Lake just a couple of streets away and the old quarter within walking distance. Breakfast is good, especially if you like the vietnamese variety with crispy fried prawns, meat and/or spicy soup. Even better is the panoramic/lake view from the 9th floor (restaurant and small terrace). Front rooms have balcony -only up to 5th floor- but Bao Khanh street is very noisy. Nice back street (Hang Hanh Str.) with many food/cafe/bars and Nha Tho Str. (a block away, towards the Cathedral) for more european touch and taste.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Only 2 minutes walk to Hoan Kiem Lake; and 10 minutes walk to the famous Thang Long Water Puppet Theater. The hotel is located in the famous Old Quarters area.
Very easy to do shopping and to get food.
The room is clean and very comfortable. They have coffee/tea kettle in the room but unfortunately they forgot to put tea spoon in the room.
Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel even small but managed professionally.
Breakfast changed everyday, food served hot, unfortunately no cheese available.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moccapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Lakeside Hotel
Golden Lakeside Hotel
#391 of 591 in Hanoi
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gondola Hotel
Gondola Hotel
#95 of 591 in Hanoi
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#72 of 591 in Hanoi
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
0.3 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#111 of 591 in Hanoi
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#108 of 591 in Hanoi
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bao Khanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bao Khanh Hotel

Property: Bao Khanh Hotel
Address: # 22 Bao Khanh | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #404 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bao Khanh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approximately 600 hotels in Hanoi ,but just 65 three-star hotels located right within the Old quarter. Bao Khanh Hotel is lucky to be one of those, take avantage conveniently a minute’s walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. The hotel is just a 3-minute walk to St. Joseph's Cathedral, Ngoc Son Temple and Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre. The famous Dong Xuan Market is accessible with a 5-minute walk, while Noi Bai International Airport is 40-minute drive away.Its 51 superbly appointed rooms come in five categories: 5 Standard, 24 Superior and 7 Deluxe City View, 3 Deluxe Lake View, 12 Family room. Most rooms offer views of Hoan Kiem Lake and City life.All our rooms are upgraded and well-furnished rooms with a modern standard of amenities such as: air-conditioner, TV, IDD telephone, Free wifi, mini bar, automatic heater, hair dryer, bathrobe, health balance…Etc.Located on the 9th floor, 24/24 Bao Khanh Hotel Restaurant is an ideal place for European, Asian and Vietnamese specialties. Other hotel facilities include sauna and massage.This is perfect for the weary executive or tired visitor wanting to relax. Besides, its also has a conference rooms able to accommodate up to 25 persons. Be looked after by a dedicated and friendly team who will be delighted to make your stay in Hanoi, a truly unforgettable one and “ Stay with us, and feel like home…” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bao Khanh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing