We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi street food at its best”

Hanoi Street Food Tour
Ranked #21 of 258 Food & Drink in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hanoi street food tour is a leading local travel company located inside old quarter . Our company is not only organizing for street food walking tours ,but also organzing for sightseeing food eating by motorbike, cyclo tours,biking tours and organizing City sightseeing street food tours on the back of a scooters !
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Thanh, our guide, met us and immediately set us at ease as to what to expect. He was knowledgable, spoke very good English an tailored the tour to suit the groups needs. The food was excellent and in some cases quite unexpected, but all delicious. We also learnt heaps about Hanoi street culture as we wound through the markets, back streets and shops. We squatted on the footpath on little plastic stools, just like the locals and got stuck into duck's tongues, seafood, strange vegetables and flavours I had never experienced before.
I would recommend this evening tour for anyone interested in Hanoi street culture, Vietnamese food or just for a fun night out. Highly recommended. And Thanh made it even better.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank GrahameBertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mango"
in 467 reviews
"miss moon"
in 306 reviews
"street food tour"
in 570 reviews
"egg coffee"
in 500 reviews
"sticky rice"
in 268 reviews
"vietnamese food"
in 339 reviews
"old quarter"
in 731 reviews
"ms moon"
in 71 reviews
"come hungry"
in 99 reviews
"different places"
in 204 reviews
"first night"
in 195 reviews
"amazing food"
in 200 reviews
"empty stomach"
in 66 reviews
"great introduction"
in 102 reviews
"three hours"
in 110 reviews
"lovely guide"
in 87 reviews
"banh mi"
in 110 reviews
Filter

5,121 - 5,125 of 5,687 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

An excellent way to discover old Hanoi with food the linking theme. Make sure you try the egg coffee; sounds weird but is an amazing treat

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank PaminTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four if us spent 3 hours wandering around the old quarter going into food shops we'd never be game to normally try or find. It was a delight, as the guide explained the dishes and the correct pronunciation. The foods were varied, from pillow cakes to egg coffee and ginger flavoured cassava.
We covered quite a few kilometres which helped the appetite. We saw much of the old quarter with guide providing useful information. This tour was well worth the $15 (US) cost.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank Ican50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was a bit skeptical: it's a lot of money for Vietnam and the tour was lead by a westerner...but both my girlfriend and I thought that this was among the best experiences we had in Vietnam. Mark has a great personality and the tour was well thought out and extremely informative. This completely eliminated any intimidation you might have in trying Vietnamese street food and provides some information as to what the hell you've just eaten. My girlfriend is far from an adventurous eater and came away very pleasantly surprised. Mark was really good about accommodating our dietary concerns, communicating a small hiccup we had prior to the tour and emailing us quickly after the tour with respect to some questions we had that evening. I would unequivocally recommend this tour.

Pros:
1. Awesome email/communication before and after the tour
2. Mark - he's interesting, intelligent, and funny - just a great guide
3. The food
4. I was concerned about the authenticity of a Vietnamese food tour being done by a westerner. But, it actually added to the experience as Mark is able to bridge language/understanding gaps.

Cons:
1. The price, for Vietnam, is so expensive it made me rethink about booking it - but it's worth it.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank MissingCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Mark Lowerson's street food tour is essential for the real street food experience. For first time visitors to Hanoi, it is very difficult to know what "hole in the wall" and alleyway offers the best eats.
Mark is very knowledgeable, personable and enthusiastic. He'll take you places you probably cannot find on your own and the food and atmosphere (with actual Vietnamese, not tourists)is fantastic. We took the morning tour since we had only one day in the city and stopped at five unforgettable..I'm not sure you can them restaurants as we know them.
If we had an extra day we would have taken the all-day excursion, it was that great!

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Roy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanoi Street Food Tour also viewed

 

Been to Hanoi Street Food Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing