We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You stay home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Classic Street Hotel
Ranked #144 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
“You stay home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

We find the hotel in lonely planet book. We did not require more as we staying home
Warmly wellcome, friendly staffs, good services,cleaness and quite room to rest after long travelling.

Classic,spacious room with an incredibly comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, fluffy ,nice amenities. Perfect. We stayed at deluxe room

The breakfast very nice with . chickend noodle soup tasted great
Which is one of the nicest I have ever had. It became my favorite .

Please take a chance with Classic street hotel.
.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_all_black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    114
    25
    5
    11
See reviews for
41
122
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We spent two nights at the classic street hotel. It's right in the heart of the old quarter, great location but do try to get a room that does not over look the street as the noise may be a little distracting! We had a luxury room, that was a good size and with all the usual, fridge, hair dyer, TV etc. However, the room was a little shabby with some rust in the bath, as an example.

The breakfast was ok, you could choose from noodle soup, omelette, or bread and jam all served in a small dining area in the bottom of the hotel.

Overall a good hotel for the money paid, helpful staff and slap bang in the middle of Hanoi. A lick of paint and some minor repairs would go a long way though.....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exhaustednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed for one night in The Classic Street Hotel in Hanoi. This hotel has a great location in a the old district of Hanoi, an easy 5 min walk to the lake with plenty of restaurants nearby. By no means is this a luxurious hotel, it is quite basic and could do with a bit of a refurbish, however if you are looking for a good value hotel that is clean, tidy and quiet this place is perfect.

There is no lift so ask for a lower floor if you can. Breakfast was basic but fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eye0ntheprize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
269 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Classic. We reserved via email from the US, and they were very helpful with communication! The rooms are OK- ours had a showerhead but no shower (you shower in the bathroom, like on a boat), but a lovely balcony and it was clean. The staff is very helpful and speaks pretty good English. For $35, you get free internet access, free breakfast, and a great location in the Old Quarter. Pickup from the airport is a sky-high $16 USD, but if you're arriving late (we arrived at 11pm) there's no other option.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

I have recently returned from a 2 and a half week holiday in Vietnam with my husband and another couple. The Classic Street Hotel in Hanoi was the first hotel we stayed in and we were very impressed!

As we were 2 couples travelling together we had two different rooms... ours was at the front of the hotel directly above reception facing the busy street below. The fittings in the room were a little old, but the room was clean and comfortable. There was some noise from the street, but we weren't bothered by it. Light sleepers might have a problem with it though. Our friends were at the back of the hotel on the fourth (or fifth?) floor. They had a lot of stairs to contend with, but had a clean, quiet, more modern room with a bath. For the money we were paying we all thought that the hotel represented good value.

The staff at the front desk were both friendly and professional. When we were thinking about booking flights to Danang online, the staff member at the front desk offered to book them for us, and actually got tickets for us at a cheaper rate than Vietnam Airlines was offering online.

The location of this hotel is hard to beat. The street is attractive and there are loads of great places to eat and drink nearby. There was a vendor who sold delicious pork skewers on the pavement right outside the hotel every evening and we ate excellent (and very cheap!) pho bo on the street too.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Free internet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mir_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

When we arrived at the CSH there was no room for us, despite the fact that I had reserved one by email. They looked at the print-out of the emails we had exchanged and claimed that I never received the final official reservation. This was bad enough but what followed was even worse. I asked if we could use their phone to reserve a room at another hotel where I had friends staying. They offered to make the call--and I soon learned why--they were trying to trick us and send us to a hotel of their own choice! When we arrived at the hotel for which we now had a reservation, this was NOT the one I had selected! All in all, this was about the worst way to arrive for the first time in Vietnam and Hanoi, when one does not speak the language and is totally jet-lagged.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank laluna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

Excellent, quick email communications prior to arrival - usually a couple of hours turnaround - we were worried about flooding in Hanoi at the time but we were kept well informed. Everything worked smoothly from airport pick up onwards. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially 'Cat'. Money exchanges were at honest rate and tour booking were a few % higher than outside but value for money comparisons between services were explained honestly. This place has a very good feel. Room was very comfortable and better than expected for the price ($US30). Location can be a bit manic but only a short walk to quieter places such as the lake. Could use another PC for the internet (only 2) but conections wre quite good and we rarely had to wait to use a PC. Although lobby fronts very literally onto the street there is an area of calm between the reception and the rooms which is quite settling (compared to some other more crazy budget hotels in Vietnam)

  • Liked — Very good service and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TrevorPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#116 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#36 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#177 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
An Nam Legend Hotel
An Nam Legend Hotel
#333 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Street Hotel

Property: Classic Street Hotel
Address: 41 Hang Be Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#55 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#76 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient streets of Hanoi are one of the world treasures. This is not only the place of 112 vestiges of history, religion and culture but also the place which has witnessed the changed of Hanoi people's life through the past thousands years. Our hotel - Classic Street Hotel is located in Hang Be Street, one of the ancient streets in Hanoi. With its truly traditional style, open and airy space, Classic Street Hotel makes deep impression in customers who have stayed here. From here, you can feel the most peace of Hanoi. It takes only 2 minutes to go for a walk to go to Hoan Kiem Lake, to Ngoc Son pagoda, The Huc Bridge. Right beside the hotel is Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre, tourism center, bank... You can walk through small streets shadowed by big trees, watch silk and souvenir shops on the 2 sides of the roads which joint Vietnam to other countries in the world. Esp. Here you can make friends with Vietnamese people who are very friendly and hospitable. Classic Street Hotel is surely your ideal hotel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Classic Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Street Hotel Hanoi
Classic Street Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing